We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded High Expectations!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #20 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

As many previous reviews had indicated, the best place to stay in the Charleston historic area is certainly the Andrew Pickney Inn. We booked the recently renovated St Phillip suite; it was comfortable, spacious, and included a large soaking tub. All the best restauarnats and major historic sights were a walk (or pleasant and reasonably priced pedi-cab ride) away. The rooftop breakfasts were highlighted by a daily special casserole; Sandy, a very friendly and informative front office manager, should be credited for his French toast casserole masterpiece. Limited direct parking is easily accommodated by the commercial lot directly across the street with essentially the same daily charge. We'll go back!! (Only caution: avoid the summer heat & humidity.)

Room Tip: Ask for the St. Phillip suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTourist30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,413 - 1,419 of 1,674 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2011

The Andrew Pinckney Inn offered a wonderful price and fantastic service for our one night stay in Charleston, SC. Upon checking in, Ed saw that we were traveling with two children under the age of 3 and immediately upgraded us to a larger room at no charge. The hotel was charming and historic, within walking distance of all must-see attractions in Charleston. Upon checking out, Sandy greeted our toddler as if he were a member of his family and very kind. Overall the staff were very personable, helpful, and catered to our family. We can't wait to visit again.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
Thank jasstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We were greeted by Kristin & Edward who were extremely helpful, courteous and gracious. The breakfast hostess, Cynthia was wonderful & delightful.Our maid, Leouilda gave us great service.Sandy who was at the front desk when we checked out was outstanding, helpful and informational. Our stay at the ANDREW PINCKNEY INN was of the highest caliber. The best ever. We will not only stay there again.We will recommend them to everyone we speak to. Again THANK YOU ALL FOR MAKING OUR STAY A PLEASANT ONE.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank govacationtomvsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Nice hotel in the heart of historic Charleston. Very comfortable bed and ambiance. Only complaint is the small bathroom. Would come back & recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

The Andrew Pinckney Inn is ideally located in the heart of the historic district of Charleston, a block away from the hustle and bustle of the old market. It is a charming, antebellum, authentic building complex, with individually decorated rooms, and a lovely roof-top for taking breakfast, which overlooks the city.

Unlike some of the other nice inns, this one is in a perfect spot! It is like going back in time to a small village, but in a second, you are in the heart of everything and there's plenty here to interest just about anybody.

Most of all, what makes this inn so nice are the people who are there. The desk staff is helpful day and night. The gentleman in charge, Sandy, can advise on sights and points of interest. The rest of the staff is completent and friendly too. A special "shout out" to Cynthia who rules the roof at breakfast time. We had some terrific conversations.

As a "jaded" New Yorker, if this is an example of "Southern Hospitality and Gentility," I'm all for it!
Would go back without hesitation, and this, after visiting all the rest of the inns I would have stayed at.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandi60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

While we will be back to charleston, it's unlikely I can say the same for the Pinckney Inn. We were checked in by a rather unfriendly attendant who made it seem as if it were a bother that we had arrived. The descriptions on the website describe a charming inn, yet the pinckney is more upscale motel than quaint inn. The rooms were bland and the bathroom tiny. What wasn't tinny was the noise the bathroom fan made which was switched on with the light so it couldn't be turned off and was more jet engine than fan. For the money I would have much rather stayed elsewhere making this a poor value. The onsite parking is not large enough for all guests so be prepared to walk to the parking deck up the road. The good part is the pinckney's location, it's definitely situated well. But then again so are many other places.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank namo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2011

We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments and share your feedback. We value our guest’s comments and often implement new procedures and continue to make enhancements on the property based upon those comments. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations when visiting Charleston again in the future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

The bed was very comfortable & the room very clean. I had no complaints, I had the townhouse terrace with a private patio. Felt like my own private home. This hotel is close to every thing from resturants, tours,shopping. I enjoyed the continental breakfast, a different entree every day. Staff were very helpful on every thing.

Room Tip: Get the townhouse terrace, private patio,
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank DentalDiva67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2011

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay in our comfortable Townhouse Suite featuring private terrace. As you mentioned, we offer one of the finest ways to begin you day in Charleston with the tasty breakfast on our Rooftop Terrace. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,930 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 62 in Charleston
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,489 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 62 in Charleston
3,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £113 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic district and recently restored, the Andrew Pinckney Inn is at the center of everything Charleston has to offer. With our ideal downtown location, find yourself just steps away from the lively atmosphere of renowned restaurants and shops that surround Charleston’s historic City Market. For over 200 years, the Charleston City Market has been a retreat for both locals and visitors to find unique treasures delivered by over 100 vendors. And with a mild year-round climate, Charleston, SC is best enjoyed outdoors. Spend the day exploring our charming city, or soak in the warm sunshine on our rooftop terrace which boasts stunning views of the Charleston skyline and vibrant harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing