We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat Charleston!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #20 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't beat Charleston!”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Andrew Pinckney Inn last Labor Day weekend after reading some positive press in our local newspaper. We ended up staying four nights on the third floor of the older building. We really enjoyed the overall experience due to the breakfast, location and service. Barry...who we learned was the General Manager...provided us with the best advice throughout our stay. His recommendations were spot on for a younger couple who enjoys fitting in as much as possible during a vacation. I would highly recommend this place, talking to Barry and loosening your belt a couple of notches to enjoy the homemade biscuits and gravy every morning!!!

Room Tip: I asked for a special room since we were celebrating a special occasion and we ended up in a room un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    395
    142
    54
    36
See reviews for
291
854
46
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights, friendly staff and good location, only problem i had was i gave my girlfriend a dress as a suprise and the hotel iron scorched and ruined it, also suggest the hotel finds another taxi company, $40 to the Airport ?.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank graham o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Having been to Charleston before; I wanted a hotel near the market so we would not need a car. This hotel/inn is two blocks from the market and is within walking distance of most of the Charleston attractions and restaurants. Very clean rooms with a touch of the Old South in the dark furnishings. The maids were wonderful. The two complaints I have are the breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. The fruit isn't fresh (canned) and everything was dry...UGH. I took my showers at night but every AM when my room mate would try to shower, the water was barely lukewarm. We told the desk about it but they acted like we didn't know how to use the faucets. Otherwise I would give it 5 stars.

Room Tip: The second floor is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ardenbgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We just returned from a three night stay in Charleston at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. I was impressed. The Inn is a block off the Market; a great location within walking distance of most of the sights of downtown Charleston, but just far enough away from the frenetic atmosphere of the market.

We got a king room (traditional, to use the hotel's parlance). The room was elegant and clean. It was a little bit on the small side, but just fine for my wife and I. The bathroom was also small, but acceptable for the two of us. The rooms look like they have been renovated fairly recently (wing chairs, faux rice beds, etc.). We had a minor problem with the room (slow draining sink) which was quickly addressed by the staff. The bed was comfortable, and the room was quiet. We were on the third floor facing Pinckney Street. Note that some rooms are "atrium rooms" which do not have a window to the outside. I would avoid those. We saw some rooms which opened onto a breakfast area on the second floor that would not be desirable.

The hotel includes breakfast. It is very basic, but served our needs and saved us a few bucks. Best of all, you take breakfast on the 4th floor of the hotel on a balcony overlooking the city. When the weather is nice, this is a wonderful way to start the day. We ate fairly early (arount 8:00 a.m.) and never had a problem getting a table. However, latecomers did.

The hotel included free wi-fi (every hotel should these days, but many charge $10.00 and up). We got free passes to a nice health club nearby. We also got free parking through Trip Advisor (normally $14.00 per day).

We paid $116.00 per night. At that rate, the Andrew Pinckney is a great deal. However, we stayed during the week, the week before Labor Day. The desk clerk said it was low season, so you may pay a bit more.

Speaking of the staff, they were great. The breakfast attendants were friendly. Front desk staff made a reservation at Magnolia's for us, and the building engineer chatted us up.

Charleston can be an expensive city. The Andrew Pinckney delivers a great experience with a touch of elegance and some valuable freebies. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: avoid interior "atrium" rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stropertre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Located near many restaurants and attractions. This hotel has 2 buildings. The photo in their website is the main, while it has another acrossed the street that is adjacent to a seafood resturant. Our room was the 4th floor of the building acrossed the street. The room was beautifully furnished with enough chairs for a family of 4 to enjoy. Each evening when we return to the hotel, we smelled the barns of the horse drawn carriages 2 blocks away as we approach the hotel and the adjacent seafood restaurant in our room. The staff and location were great, but the smell is over bearing.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyCManalapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2011

A friend and I went down to Charleston for a long weekend. Here are top 5reasons the Andrew Pinckney Inn is great besides being a great deal. 1. The Inn is at location near attractions and activities - we walked a ton, but never felt it was too far. 2. Breakfast on the terrace - delightful location and variety of offerings. 3. We were there when hurricane Irene passed by - the Inn provided umbrellas for use while we were there. 4. The concierge service was extremely helpful on a number of occasions - especially when they led us to the state park beach on Kiawah! 5. Parking was easy and reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WALKERTOWN
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Great place to stay and convenient to all downtown Charleston has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phlatulator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,735 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,900 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Property: Andrew Pinckney Inn
Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing