We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a deal!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #20 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This place offers a quiet respite in a perfect location with a fabulous free hot breakfast served at their rooftop cafe. .it is one block from the fabulous Cru Cafe.
This is a beautiful and safe neighborhood chock full of walkable shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinkney Inn. As you mentioned there are several aspecsts of the Inn that contribute to it being a great value whether it be location, service or complimentary amenities such as the breakfast served on our Rooftop Terrace each morning.

We hope that you choose to stay with us again when visiting Charleston.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,607)
There are newer reviews for Andrew Pinckney Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,114 - 1,120 of 1,607 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2013

This inn is so quaint and lovely, yet right in the middle of Charleston. It's a great little retreat, but still keeps you in walking distance to everything. The staff was super friendly. The room was spacious and pretty. Breakfast was great...just a little too cold to sit outside on the terrace when we were there. (The building is older and the walls can be thin so be aware if noise bothers you. i could not hear other guests, but I could hear people in the hallway.)

Room Tip: if street noise could bother you, ask for a room on an upper floor because you can hear the cars due...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KtotheRisten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thank you for the wonderful comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We are delighted to know that you especially enjoyed the Rooftop Terrace with its beautiful views of downtown Charleston. There is a wonderful sitting area in the Atrium available for those chilly mornings to enjoy your breakfast but fortunately there are few chilly starts to the mornings in Charleston. We hope to see you again when traveling to Charleston.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I just completed my 3rd stay to the Andrew Pinckney. I visit Charleston once a year for work and the Andrew Pinckney is my hotel of choice as it is clean, unique, in a great location, always has excellent customer service, serves a great breakfast and is very reasonably priced. This trip for me however was a girls trip. Sandy Pehlam is the manager of the hotel and went above and beyond to make sure that our stay was the best experience. You can tell his love for Charleston and his guests experience through his endless smiles and his excitement on hearing our reviews on his recommendations. He set us up for lunches and dinners, recommended great shopping areas, happy hour spots and tours. He was truly a delight to work with and really helped make our experience that much better. Sandy thanks for everything!! Jen and Carla

Room Tip: Room 220 was very cool as it is the old carriage house. There is also an earthquake rod going throu...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

It is most rewarding to know that the Andrew Pinckney Inn is your first choice of stay when visiting Charleston. We appreciate the kind words of our accommodations, amenities and esepcially our fine guest service led by Sandy and his Guest Service Agents. There are no finer compliments than to know that our guest realize how much we value their patronage.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Our Room was comfortable, crispy- clean! We enjoyed a hot Breakfast on the Roof-Top Terrace. You can see the Historic Market from up there, wich is just minutes away. The friendly Staff gave us pointers on what too see and where to dine. The great Shops and Famous Restaurants are all within Walking Distance. There are inexspensive Horse and Buggy Tours around the corner from the Hotel . The Tour Guides are informative and funny while taking you through Historic Charleston. What a viberant , charming City!

Room Tip: We always choose Rooms on the upper floor. It is quieter! We had a great view of Downtown.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. As you mentioned the inn is conveniently located in the heart of the historic district with shopping, dinning and tours of interest such as the carriage rides. Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My husband and I were in Charleston for the marathon... we had never been to Charleston before and fell in love. The Andrew Pinckney made it special. It's small, quaint, charming and suited us to a tee. It is close enough to everything so walking is easy and yet not in the thick of it with too much street noise. When we stayed they were renovating the building across the street so the breakfast buffet was not functioning... didn't matter... a charming lady brought us whatever we wanted right to our door. Like free room service. We would definitely stay here again... and btw... we travel with a military band around 100 days a year... suffice it to say, we know hotels :)

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank bebegarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thank you so much for the beautiful review of your recent stay with us at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. As you mentioned, we were in the process of renovating our Church Street Building during your stay but we are days away from unvailing our sparkling new renovated bathrooms and other wonderfull enhancements to our guest rooms. We hope that you will return soon to experience the charm of Charleston and the Andrew Pinckney Inn.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Our first trip back to Charleston in many years and the staff at Andrew Pinckney truly helped make our long weekend memorable. They were generous with their time and effort to make it so. The town house was spacious and very comfortably decorated. We loved the little details included in our special package as well. From the very clean rooms, to friendly and conversational staff to the location--a block from the market--this is the perfect Charleston Inn. We will definitely be back and stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyndicadyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post the kind words of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. It is most rewarding to know that you found our staff to be warm, friendly and attentive to the details of your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This is our second stay and the Andrew Pinckney and once again WONDERFUL! Come down to do some Christmas shopping and it's the perfect location as it is close to everything! Sandy once again was great with suggestions and ideas and of course his delicious hot breakfast! Ed at the front desk was fun and interesting and full of info about all the new restaurants opening. Valet, maids and breakfast lady were all part to making our stay the best!
Keep up the good work Andrew Pinckney Inn!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshvilleMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Wow, thank you for the kind words of our staff's service from the welcoming Valet, to our Guest Service Agents providing you with ideas and suggestions for your dinning and shopping during your Christmas Holidays in Charleston. We hope that you return soon to experience the continued enhancements on the property before next Christmas once again.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,879 reviews
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,214 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,774 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £145 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing