We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #20 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this Inn. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. Our room was not huge, but it was fine for us. We stayed in the building across the street from check-in, right down the hall from the morning breakfast, which was yummy! The only "bad" thing about our room is that it was an interior room, and didn't have a window. Not a deal breaker! The Inn's location is IDEAL. My husband is slightly handicapped, and can't walk a ton, but we were able to walk to Market street AND over to King street for shopping there as well. Really, for the price and location, this should be your first pick!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAMHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments for other potential guest to view. We appreciate your kind words of our staff's service and our superb location in the historic district.
Please keep us in mind when visiting Charleston again in the future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,606)
There are newer reviews for Andrew Pinckney Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

941 - 947 of 1,607 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

This was the first time my wife and I stayed at the inn but it will not be the last. Immediately upon entering the townhouse, we felt right at home. It was beautifully decorated with plush towels, bathrobes, and a most comfortable bed. What a treat it was to sit on the rooftop while enjoying a superb breakfast. The inn is located in the heart of Charleston, but you get that "old time feel" of being off the main roads. It is a very short walking distance to The Market as well as other shops and restaurants. I want to thank Sandy for making this an exceptional stay.
Jim and Kathy McCabe
West Columbia, South Carolina

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathymccabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn for your special romantic getaway. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments for other potential guest to view. It is so rewarding to hear from our guest how much they enjoyed their stay and look forward to returning.
We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed in a room with a KIng bed and it had plenty of space. The rooms with the queen beds are much smaller so if you want more room spend the money. In most other cities a room of this quality would be much more and the breakfast is included. We saw lots of reviews talking about the breakfast not sure why it's just a standard continental breakfast fresh fruit, cereal, the only hot food was biscuits and gravy if you like that. It is on the 4th floor outside so if the weather is nice that is a plus. THe staff was amazing, very helpful and you can walk to everything it is right in the center of town. If you are used to 3+ or 4 star you will be fine here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 208 it was great.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KMLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post the wonderful comments of your recent stay. As you mentioned the amenities and services offered along with the wonderful location makes for a fantastic value in the heart of the historic district of Charleston. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Let's just start off by saying WOW!

The room was classically beautiful, the breakfast delicious, and the service impeccable. This inn is so close to everything, yet it is so amazingly quiet. Such a beautiful place!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ripcurled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post the wonderful comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. It is most rewarding to know how much you enjoyed our historic inn and the guest service provided by our entire staff. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Room 206 was tiny (had to move sideways to get into bed), without a window to the outside, no ventilation other than very cold ac, no accessible outlets other than one in the bathroom. Unless you pay a lot of money for a king or suite, BEWARE, this was the worst hotel room I've stayed in in a long time.

Stayed: December 2013
4  Thank SueDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

We appreciate your comments on your recent booking and stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. Please keep in mind that the Andrew Pinckney Inn is housed in a historic building with various room sizes, floor plans with both interior and exterior views. Your last minute reservation was booked at 50% discount that included all the amenities of a continental breakfast, complimentary Wi-Fi and valet parking and in walking distance to the finest restaurants and shopping in the historic district all for under $100. Considering pricing of the downtown Charleston market on a high occupancy night for the entire market this would be considered a real value of deal. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to make you a very happy guest in the future when visiting the Charleston area.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had a very small room, bathroom was not restocked with things as tissues when we emptied the box. A window was broken and had not been fixed in our room.

The breakfast was excellent and breakfast staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Please keep in mind we do have a wide variety of rooms varying in size and shapes due to the historic nature of the building. We hope that you will be back to visit again soon and check out another one of our various room types.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I have to admit, we scored a win with this quaint little motel with the feel of a historic bed and breakfast. The room was very small but tastefully decorated and comfortable. If you are looking for tons of modern conveniences then this is possibly not the place for you but it far makes up with authentic southern charm and being centrally located making everything downtown easily reached on foot. The worst part of the visit was the delivery trucks going up and down the street at night and interrupting sleep more than once. They recovered nicely however with a more than adequate breakfast on the veranda upstairs overlooking the beautiful city. Be warned however, that the only parking available is valet at a cost of $20. daily and this is not included in the cost of the room. Overall very impressed and knowing what I do now, I would still consider stopping here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancesNRobertS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We are delighted to know that you found our Inn to be quaint and charming. As you mentioned the breakfast located on the Rooftop Terrace can be a real delight no matter the time of the year with the wonderful views of the historic downtown market and waterfront..

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,877 reviews
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,212 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,773 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £145 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing