We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Lovely Rooms, Excellent Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
oakland county michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Location, Lovely Rooms, Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for a girls get away weekend. The staff was terrific and made many great suggestions on where to eat and what to see. Rooms were large and well maintained. The stay included complimentary breakfast...however, you don't want your room near the breakfast room.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not near the breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donutsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn for your special "Girl's Getaway Weekend". As you mentioned our location is most ideal for shopping, dining and much more. We appreciate your kind words of our service and charming accommodations. Please keep us in mind when visiting Charleston in the future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    898
    373
    132
    54
    34
See reviews for
261
811
42
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We arrived in Charleston with no reservation and a tour guide suggested we try this hotel. It was perfect. The rooms were compact and were exactly what we needed. Guest services manager, Sandy Pelham was most accomodating and agreed to show us a room. This hotel is so conveniently located to great restaurants and tours. The rooms were clean and the hotel fairly quiet. I didnt want to leave and wish we had another night. The rates were so good. We did get two rooms and were there during the early part of the week. I will definitely stay here on my next visit to Charleston.

Room Tip: Let the front desk know if you need a room away from the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frances40Honolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We take great pride in our guest service and it is most rewarding to hear such comments as yours of our staff's efforts. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

From the beginning of the stay to the end, Sandy and entire staff of the Pinckney made our stay so enjoyable. I would recommend this hotel and will stay there again on my next visit to Chaleston. The location was fantastic. breakfast was great, fresh fruit and hot flakey biscuits is a great way to start the day!

Room Tip: did not use room service as hotel had lemonade and coffee/tea and warm cookies available. Did not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post the wonderful comments of your recent stay. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the wonderful breakfast served on our Rooftop Terrace each morning. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Nice hotel, in a great downtown location. Easily within walking distance to everything you will want to see in the historic district. The rooms are very nice, very clean, & comfortable. The breakfast on the rooftop terrace is generic low quality continental food, but sitting up top watching the morning start is beautiful.

We were put into the second building across the street from the lobby, & I was a little dismayed to realize that the doors are not locked at night. There is a key card lock on the door, but it was never locked. Being as that there is no lobby or staff in this building, and encountering some of the more colorful people on the streets late at night, I was not terribly pleased with this.

To advertise concierge service is false. My biggest complaint with this hotel was the lack of service we received. This was my first visit to Charleston, and in any new city, I always look to the hotel staff for ideas where to start. We asked about restaurants in the area, and were told there were lots, it depends what you want, and there is a binder of menus on the table. We asked who Andrew Pinckney was, and we were told he was a South Carolina Politician. There is zero information about the property in the rooms, the staff doesn't know or doesn't care. 3 days there, I can't tell you anything about the building, how old it was, what it was used for over the years, or anything about its name sake. We ended up getting some tips where to start & what to see from the Valet/Bellman, and from the concierge at the Hilton up the street.

While touring the city we found a play house that we wanted to visit that evening. The sign on the window stated that there was a show in progress, and to phone for reservations. Upon phoning we got a recording telling us to book online. The website did not show the dates in question. We were booked into 2 tours that afternoon, so called the "concierge" to have him secure tickets for us, and he promptly told us that he could do no different than us, and that we should just keep calling until they answered the phone. Laugh!! In every other hotel, the concierge trips over himself to secure whatever reservation you can dream up, and here we were told to do it ourselves!

It is a nice property, but in Charleston it is one of a hundred nice properties in a small area. Next time, I will certainly look at some of the others.....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJ9933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn on your recent visit to Charleston. As you mentioned our location is ideal for various adventures in the historic district and our accommodations quaint and charming. We greatly apologize for what appears to have been poor communication on behalf of our staff in handling your request for the purchase of theatre tickets. We take great pride in providing some of the finest guest service in Charleston and as you can see from previous postings we have a history of consistently delivering personal and excellent service for all our guest. We hope that you give us the opportunity in the future to not only meet but exceed your expectations in every facet.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Very nice hotel in a great location for exploring Charleston by foot. It's an historic building but it has the feel of a real hotel. The staff were very friendly and great with restaurant reservations. There's an outdoor patio for taking your breakfast, but it was raining and cold when we were there so we couldn't take advantage of it. The staff was kind enough to find us another room at the same rate when our bus out of town was unexpectedly cancelled. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post the kind words of your recent stay for other potential guest to view. As you mentioned our location is ideal for shopping, dining and lots of sight seeing in our historic district. Thank you again for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I stayed at the Andrew Pinckney with a friend for a long weekend "girls getaway". Great location, comfortable rooms, historic building combined with a great breakfast and friendly staff. A wonderful choice for a relaxing time in Charleston.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmichomicide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn for your special "girls getaway" weekend. We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay from the guest service provided to the comfortable room and amenities offered to you. Please keep us in mind when traveling to Charleston again in the future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

its my third visit......sandy was really helpful better than so called concierges in four seasons and other posh hotels i go to (am in the buisness) great location and the rooms are very homely the place has really got character

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lalinea1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We take great pride in the guest service that we provide and greatly appreciate your most kind words for Sandy our Guest Service Manager and his staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
The Restoration
#9 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Property: Andrew Pinckney Inn
Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing