We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #20 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Excellent service from arrival, dinning reservations, sites to see, check-in and out. room cleanliness and needs. Great location with in walking distance of everything. Second stay within four months and won't be the last.

Room Tip: Stay on atrium side of hotel on street sides. Rooms are brighter and more floors, making it quitter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn.. It is most rewarding to hear from our repeat guest and know that we are your first choice when visiting the Charleston area. We certainly appreciate your patronage.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

992 - 998 of 1,675 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Before we even got there, I had called numerous times to the point that my wife said that I was a pest, but you would never guess that by the patience supplied by the front desk (Aaron & Andre). When we arrived the staff could not be more helpful in finding us dinner reservations, attractions, and directions. Even the valets were wonderful. Nothing was an effort for them which helped to make our vacation extremely enjoyable. Our room was charming and immaculate, thanks to the cleaning staff. The location of the inn is perfect. We found that we could walk to some great restaurants like Hanks, FIG, and Halls. We also were there for the Wine & Food Festival and Aaron & Andre always had a cab waiting, if we did not want to make the walk. A truly great experience. Thank you, Andrew Pinckney and you wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you so much for the kind words of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. It is most rewarding to know that our staff provided such fine guest service to make for a most comfortable stay. We hope that you have found a new "home away from home" at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I don't like to brag, but I have the BEST boyfriend in the world. For my birthday, he took me into downtown Charleston for a little weekend getaway, and he chose the most charming, boutique inn right in the heart of the historic district. The lobby was elegant, but welcoming, and full of information about tours and restaurants. Jeff checked us in at the front desk and told us all about the property and surrounding areas. He was very cordial and helpful.
All of our favorite places to eat in Charleston are within 5 to 10 minutes walking distance from this inn (East Bay's Restaurant Row). We had a blast out and about downtown and even got a free dolphin show in the evening over at Waterfront Park. It was nice to just be able to walk back to the Andrew Pinckney and sit on the rooftop terrace and relax. The breakfast they serve in the morning is more than just "continental," by my standards, but that's what they call it. It was the perfect and most convenient start to our day, and the lobby always had fresh tea and coffee available.
Andre was there for most of our stay and every time we walked in he greeted us and asked about our day. He also gave us several wonderful suggestions, such as the dolphin viewing from the pier, and was very attentive to our questions and needs. He went out of his way to help us select tours and restaurants and made all of the reservations for us. The whole staff at the Andrew Pinckney Inn was wonderful and I can't wait to go back there when we have a chance to take another "staycation!"

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christiec03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

We are so delighted to know how much you enjoyed your romantic getaway at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. Thank you so much for the gracious comments of our guest service. As you mentioned our location is ideal to many fine restaurants and great shopping just footsteps away from the Market. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments for other potential guest to view.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I've never been to Charleston before so on our way to Hilton Head Island, we made a detour. We love Charleston! The Inn is located right downtown and is a short walking distance to just about everything. You can see the market from the front lobby. The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. They had recommendations for restaurants that were a great pick! The free breakfast was good but a tad heavy on the carbs so we ended up going out for breakfast on the second morning. The breakfast area was the social hub! We met some really nice fellow travellers. The rooms are not huge but are clean and comfortable. Our girls stayed in their own room with two double beds in comfort. Our queen rm was 'cozy' and two floors up from them. They have inside rooms without outside windows that are even cozier so ask for a room with a street window. There wasn't a fridge in either room. Tea, coffee, cold lemonade, cookies and biscotti are plentiful in the main lobby. We were in the annex across and I would have appreciated hot water for my tea in the same building. Overall, the experience was great. We would come back. Thank you Drew and Sandy for making us feel at home!! Check to see if there are on-line specials before booking.

Room Tip: Don't get an inside room in the annex building. They are tiny and without an outside window. Che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay It is a pleasure to know how much you enjoyed our Rooftop Breakfast each morning and our fine location in the historic district. We certainly hope that you will return in the near future. Thanks again for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The location was good. My husband and I were placed in a double queen room that was on the 3rd floor of the annex, across the street from the main desk and other rooms. The hotel was booked for the week-end and there were no kings available. Although nicely appointed, our room was very tight quarters, and there was a fair amount of street noise. The complimentary breakfast that was advertised as being 'deluxe' was very mediocre, with hard cooked eggs, biscuits and gravy, and the usual tasteless grocery store muffins and croissants served in every other 2 to 3 star hotel (Days Inn) across the country. The fresh fruit was the only thing that was deluxe. This very old and fairly nice hotel definitely has some issues with major adjacent construction, which is THE view from the well-advertised and promoted top floor breakfast room. We awoke to jack hammers the second morning. None of it was worth the price we paid, so although we'd booked for four days, we checked out after two nights and moved elsewhere. Parking was an additional $20 per day, which we could have avoided, but the valets were very nice and attentive.

Room Tip: Annex rooms were all noisy - those facing the street as well as those facing the adjacent constructi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your sincere comments of your recent stay. We apologize for the noise that you encountered during your stay from the City Parking lot project across the street. Obviously we have no control over their project but it should be completed in the next few weeks with an aesthetically pleasing tree lined area for parking spaces. I am sure you noticed the many construction projects in all of the historic downtown Charleston area as it is experiencing dynamic growth. We hope that you will give us the opportunity in the future to not only meet but exceed your expectations in every facet.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for a girls get away weekend. The staff was terrific and made many great suggestions on where to eat and what to see. Rooms were large and well maintained. The stay included complimentary breakfast...however, you don't want your room near the breakfast room.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not near the breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donutsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn for your special "Girl's Getaway Weekend". As you mentioned our location is most ideal for shopping, dining and much more. We appreciate your kind words of our service and charming accommodations. Please keep us in mind when visiting Charleston in the future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We arrived in Charleston with no reservation and a tour guide suggested we try this hotel. It was perfect. The rooms were compact and were exactly what we needed. Guest services manager, Sandy Pelham was most accomodating and agreed to show us a room. This hotel is so conveniently located to great restaurants and tours. The rooms were clean and the hotel fairly quiet. I didnt want to leave and wish we had another night. The rates were so good. We did get two rooms and were there during the early part of the week. I will definitely stay here on my next visit to Charleston.

Room Tip: Let the front desk know if you need a room away from the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frances40Honolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We take great pride in our guest service and it is most rewarding to hear such comments as yours of our staff's efforts. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,931 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 62 in Charleston
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,489 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 62 in Charleston
3,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £113 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic district and recently restored, the Andrew Pinckney Inn is at the center of everything Charleston has to offer. With our ideal downtown location, find yourself just steps away from the lively atmosphere of renowned restaurants and shops that surround Charleston’s historic City Market. For over 200 years, the Charleston City Market has been a retreat for both locals and visitors to find unique treasures delivered by over 100 vendors. And with a mild year-round climate, Charleston, SC is best enjoyed outdoors. Spend the day exploring our charming city, or soak in the warm sunshine on our rooftop terrace which boasts stunning views of the Charleston skyline and vibrant harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing