We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #19 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for a girls weekend and there staff was so helpful. They helped us plan out our weekend with recommendations on activities and food. The rooms are very nice as is enjoying the rooftop breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraR65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn for your "Girls Getaway Weekend" We appreciate the kind words of the service offered by our concierge staff planning most of your activities during your stay. We certainly hope that you choose us again for a special getaway.

Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

960 - 966 of 1,690 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

You couldn't ask for a better location. You can easily walk to all restaurants and attractions in the area. The service is great here. I had help several times in selecting restaurants and getting reservations. The free breakfast on the roof top patio was good and very relaxing there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

We appreciate the kind words of our guest service and our fine location in the historic district. We take great pride in providing some of the finest guest service you will find in Charleston.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Location, location , location! This hotel was virtually within walking distance to every attraction and resturaunts. Parking is at a premium so it was nice to park the car and walk or ride the free trolley system.The bed was comfortable and the service was top notch. Every request we has was taken care of promptly. The staff always greeted us and went the extra mile. For example, when I left a dessert in the car, or requested items for the room staff were quick to please and cheerful. This hotel also has a breakfast on the terrace included in the room rates. Every day they presented a hot dish, usually egg based, cereal, fresh sliced fruits, assorted breads,and yogurt. A wine and cheese reception is held late afternoon. Also after pounding the pavement all day there were cookies, cool water and lemonade at reception. You can see the market from the front door and are within a 5 minute walk to the water front. We enjoyed our stay and will be back! This smaller hotel proved to be an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Select upper interior rooms if you are bothered by street sounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Splasher59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us. As you mentioned our location is ideal for shopping, dinning, touring and for strolling the beautiful historic streets of Charleston. Please keep us in mind when traveling to Charleston in the future.

Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed only one night in June and we liked it. It is in a really good location, you don't need a car to get around. The Inn is charming and it has nice friendly staff. The king room was big, with a small sitting area, nice bathroom with a separate sink area with a large mirror great for getting ready before leaving your room. The room and the bathroom were very clean.
The breakfast area on the 4th floor has a terrace and its really nice to have your breakfast and coffee outside and enjoy the nice Charleston weather. The breakfast is the same as in most of the hotels - bagels and carbs and instant oatmeal.
There is a really good restaurant close to the Inn - 82 Queen, so if you ever stay here I highly recommend ( see my review of this restaurant )
Overall good stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mima4nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We are glad to hear how much you enjoyed your king room accommodations and the Rooftop Terrace with its morning breakfast and afternoon wine & cheese reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel has a fantastic location in central downtown Charleston. The staff are very helpful, especially Andre, who arranged tours for us and gave us directions. The cookies and chilled drinks were a nice touch. This is an old building with wooden floors, so sound-proofing is limited, on our first day we were woken up early when our upstairs neighbours left. The wine and cheese was excellent and a great opportunity to meet the other guests. Breakfast was also very good with a wide selection. My only comment is the location for the wine and cheese and breakfast whilst lovely on the roof terrace didn't have enough space for all the guests. The room was very clean and a good size. Our room overlooked the road. The road noise was limited, although as stated above limited sound-proofing did mean high levels of noise. I would definitely stay here next time I visit Charleston.

Room Tip: Higher rooms may result in less noise from neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post the kind words of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We were excited to read your comments of our recently added seasonal afternoon wine and cheese reception. As you mentioned our Rooftop Terrace is a real jewel In the heart of the historic district.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were there from June 16th through June 20th and the internet service was a challenge. A few times we went to the front desk for assistance about lack of internet connectivity. The employees in the hotel lobby were very stoic in their demeanor. I wasn't impressed with their hospitality. The maid and the valet were the only ones who showed warmth. Everyone else employed there seemed to have a chip on their shoulder. The hotel itself is situated in the heart of Charleston and within walking distance of everything. I enjoyed our room but service is lacking. We went to breakfast at 9:45 and the breakfast continues until 10:30, but when we arrived the egg dish was empty (both trays) and the fruit was minimal. Maybe they need a female employee working alongside the male employees, which could bring some compassion towards the guests. P.S. A smile goes a long way and I saw very few smiles in the lobby. Should have elevators in both buildings, not just one. B Dodson

Room Tip: I enjoyed our suite and its décor. Very beautiful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannelorebonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

It is very disappointing to hear that you were not most pleased with your recent stay. We certainly apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the wireless internet as you mentioned there were a few issues that were the result of our cable provider and failure of equipment due to a storm the day of your arrival that was not discovered to the following day. Obviously we had the equipment replaced immediately upon the discovery of its failure. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Inn is small, quaint and charming and has a good location, service was good, not great compared to similar properties in the area. Room was small but well appointed with the exception of the TV. First night was great, second night was very noisy, particularly in the early morning hours. Would have liked to have had an in room safe typically found at similar properties. Overall visit was good

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuriousTraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thanks for the kind words of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. It is great to know that you found the inn to be quaint and charming and our staff most accommodating.

Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,972 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
3,030 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,503 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £149 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic district and recently restored, the Andrew Pinckney Inn is at the center of everything Charleston has to offer. With our ideal downtown location, find yourself just steps away from the lively atmosphere of renowned restaurants and shops that surround Charleston’s historic City Market. For over 200 years, the Charleston City Market has been a retreat for both locals and visitors to find unique treasures delivered by over 100 vendors. And with a mild year-round climate, Charleston, SC is best enjoyed outdoors. Spend the day exploring our charming city, or soak in the warm sunshine on our rooftop terrace which boasts stunning views of the Charleston skyline and vibrant harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing