We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$358
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Francis Marion Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Harbourview Inn(Charleston)
US$394
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,720)
Filter reviews
1,720 results
Traveller rating
1,034
431
159
60
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,034
431
159
60
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop breakfastgreat locationtownhouse suitecookieswine and cheesewithin walking distancehistoric districtvalet parkingbreakfast is servedfourth floorrooftop deckchurch streetmain buildingstreet noisemorning breakfastboutique hotelyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
969 - 974 of 1,720 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had only one night in Charleston and lucked out in getting a room at this charming and well-situated boutique hotel. It is reminiscent of our favorite European pensions. Sandy and Aaron couldn't have been more attentive and personable during their respective shifts. We indulged in both the afternoon wine and snacks and the wonderful expanded continental breakfast which are offered to guests on their roof patio. While our room was not large, it was very comfortable, with a good mattress and bedding and a well-appointed bathroom The Inn's location is convenient for walking to almost anywhere in the historical center of the peninsula so that we were able to leave our car with the valet and not need it again until we checked out.

We highly recommend the Andrew Pinckney Inn!
Janice and David K
Palm Springs, CA

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Janice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed our breakfast and wine reception served on our Rooftop Terrace. Thanks again for the kind words especially of the fine guest service delivered by our staff. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was a warm, friendly, "boutique" hotel right off Market Street in old Charleston. It was easy to walk to shopping, the French Quarter, and to a variety of dining establishments. The hotel staff were very pleasant and the room was clean and neat. The beds were quite comfortable. Loved sitting out on the 4th floor balcony for breakfast and wine and cheese in the afternoon.

Room Tip: We were in 309 with two doubles. Quiet room, no view, but we only were in the room at night to sleep. Did not notice any street noise.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tmscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Andrew Pinckney Inn for other potential guest to view. It is great to know how much you enjoyed our historic city and our fine location just footsteps away from the City Market and French Quarter with its many fine shops and art galleries. Also,glad to hear how much you enjoyed the breakfast and afternoon wine reception featured on our Rooftop Terrace with its wonderful views of the historic district.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel really exceeded my expectations. It was well priced. The service was attentive and personal (they recommended and scheduled an off-property, same day massage for me that was superb). To me, you just can't ask for a better location than the Andrew Pinckney Inn in Charleston - two blocks off the main market, right on the edge of Ansonborough, it manages to be right in the middle of everything, but maintain a slightly off the beaten path feel. My only gripe was that the outdoor rooftop patio was non-smoking (a policy the staff fully enforced). I smoke cigars occasionally and it was really regrettable to have such a nice outdoor space where I couldn't enjoy my evening stogie.

Room Tip: I booked last minute so I don't have any problems with getting a less than perfect room, but you want to avoid the rooms on the third floor under the rooftop dining area. Otherwise, you are awoken very early by the staff cleaning and moving furniture getting ready for breakfast.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. It is most rewarding to know that we not only met but exceeded your expectations. As you mentioned we are centrally located in the historic district with great views from our Rooftop Terrace of the Market and nearby Harbor. Thanks again for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Andrew Pinckney Inn was better than anything I could have ever expected. We stayed in room 101 across the street from the main lobby. It was a large king room with high ceilings, old hardwood floors, a chandelier and plantation shutters. We also had the flower boxes outside the windows since our room faced the street, which was a pleasant touch. The bathroom was on the small side but the overall size of the room more than made up for it.

Aaron at the front desk went out of his way to make sure that we were enjoying our stay in the hotel and the city in general. There was a mix up with some champagne we ordered and he was extremely responsive to the situation and we ended up with a second bottle of bubbles. The older gentleman with the black rimmed glasses in the lobby was also very nice and made some amazing restaurant recommendations. Finally, the young African-American valet was very attentive and we never had to wait more than a minute for our car to be pulled out. He also helped us load our luggage into our car when we left.

On Sunday morning during our stay there was a problem with the wifi. I called the front desk to inform them of the issue. Later that evening we went to get some coffee from the lobby and the wifi was still not working. We asked the gentleman behind the desk if there was a known problem with the internet connection. He said that there had been some reports of it being out. We asked if anyone was working on the problem and if there was an estimate of when the service would be back up. He gave a very curt reply that he could call Comcast but that he wasn't working on it, to which I thought they should have called Comcast 8 hours ago. The wifi was back up a few hours later. We weren't there for the wifi but it does help save on our data plans. This was the only slightly unpleasant experience we had, but Aaron more than made up for this other gentleman's shortcomings.

Overall, we would definitely stay at the Inn again and it is our top choice for lodging in Charleston.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

WOW! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments for other potential guest to view on Tripadvisor. We certainly appreciate the kind words of the exceptional guest service delivered by our entire staff. Once again thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn for such a special occasion in your lives. We look forward to seeing you again for any occasion or getaway.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful stay in Charleston at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. This was our first visit and from the moment Sandy Pelham, Guest Services Manager, greeted us we knew we were in great hands! Upon checking in, we were upgraded to a duplex apartment that was spacious, clean and beautiful. Sandy made great recommendations of where to walk, shop, eat and drink and each suggestion was spot on. One of the highlights was a walking tour with Tommy Dew that was fantastic. Thanks to Sandy, our stay in Charleston was one of the best weekends away! We've already recommended the inn to friends traveling there next month!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn on your recent visit to Charleston. It is so rewarding to read comments such as yours of the fine guest service delivered by our staff especially that of our Guest Service Manager, Sandy Pelham which leads by example. We certainly hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews