We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Francis Marion Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Harbourview Inn(Charleston)
US$375
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,719)
Filter reviews
1,719 results
Traveller rating
1,033
431
159
60
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,033
431
159
60
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop breakfastgreat locationtownhouse suitecookieswine and cheesewithin walking distancehistoric districtvalet parkingbreakfast is servedfourth floorrooftop deckchurch streetmain buildingstreet noisemorning breakfastboutique hotelyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
1,606 - 1,611 of 1,719 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2009

The building is very well located in the historic part of downtown Charleston. Our room was clean, however a word of caution: do not get room 302. It is directly under the area for serving breakfast, thus we heard lots of noise associated with preperation carts & guests moving about really early in the morning.

Also, the hotel had contractors doing interior painting (looked like every piece of trim). While I understand this needs to happen, some better planning on the hotel's part could have easily avoided blocking the stairs & elevator, and painting throughout every floor at the same time. They could have easily painted one floor at a time & not booked guests on that floor until it was finished & inhabitable. We had to open our window while it was unseasonablly cold to get rid of the paint fumes.

Our room was small, clean & affordable for the area.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YpsiJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

My husband and I just returned from a 3 Night stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. Overall, we felt the hotel was okay for the price. We stayed in the Church Street building (Queen Value room); many reviews indicate the main building rooms may be a bit more updated.

The positives:
- The location was great. Only one block from Market Street and close to almost everything.
- The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. Checking in was easy and the front desk gave a very thorough introduction on the hotel.

The negatives:
- The room smelled musty and seemed a little dingy. Windows did not open so there was limited air circulation. While some room updates had been done, such as the bathroom vanity, other areas looked somewhat worn, such as the shower.
- The breakfast options were very limited, even for a Continental breakfast. We went to this once and then opted to go to restaurants in the area during the rest of our trip.
- Parking was very limited at the hotel so most people have to park in the nearby BofA Parking Garage ($14/day). The location of this was Garage was convenient; we were just not expecting to have to pay for parking.

Overall, the hotel and our stay were fine. Though we did not have any really bad experiences, if we go back to Charleston, we would likely stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

The Andrew Pinckney is magnificent and the location in Charleston couldn't be more perfect. It is in walking distance (even in heels) to all the Market and Battery and of course restaurants and nightlife. On-site parking is incredibly convenient and a rare find in Charleston!

We stayed in the newly remodeled rooms. Being there for work, there was plenty of space to spread out suits and laptops and enough space to comfortably work without having an "office."
The bed is probably the most comfortable "hotel" bed I've ever slept on. It was hard to make myself get up! The walk-in shower was a plus .. and it doesn't hurt that the sink was gorgeous.

As far as service .. top notch. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful without being bothersome. I would HIGHLY recommend staying at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. I loved that it didn't feel like a hotel ... feels more like a condo in beautiful downtown Charleston (with maid service)!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CarolinaSCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

Our stay in this hotel was almost perfect. The location is excellent (easy walking distance to everything). The room was large and beautifully decorated. The amenities were very nice. The housekeeping staff is friendly and helpful. I would stay in Andrew Pinkney again. In rating this property, however, my only low mark is for the continental breakfast, which was surprisingly mediocre. The breakfast area is located on the rooftop with a wonderful view of Charleston. I recommend that you purchased bagels and scones at one of the nearby coffee shops and enjoyed them on the rooftop.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cienpasos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

While planning a New Years Eve getaway, I found a rate on the hotel website but waited a few days to book. In that time the rates went up. I called the hotel directly and they were so friendly. They actually honored the earlier rate! While driving to the hotel, I called the concierge and they made dinner reservations for us - before we even checked in! Always helpful with directions, suggestions on activities and places to go. We parked our car and walked everywhere - it was a wonderful location! Very cute room - even boasting a nice flat screen TV. The rooms are a little small - I was glad that our friends decided to get separate rooms and not share a double room. The bathroom is small, but I found everything so quaint. If I had to mention one thing - the walls were very thin. We heard hallway & street noise, but nothing that bothered us. Beautiful stay, beautiful hotel. We loved it & would recommend to others!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmefcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews