We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Historic Inn, Wonderful staff, elegant rooms, great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #20 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Quiet, lovely and roomy Inn was a favorite of our family as we travel across America for 90 days of summer seeking historical sights, historical inns, and secret camping areas as well as top notch recreation.
We are most satisfied with all the Inn had to offer! Definitely recommend this one!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divasunvalley_Idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2009

Thanks for sharing your comments with other potential future guest of the Andrew Pinckney Inn. It was great to hear that we were a select part of your Summer Travels throughout the country.

Our location and staff make it easy for our guest to enjoy their stay in Charleston. We hope that you will pass this way again in the future and choose to stay with us at the Andrew PInckney Inn.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew PInckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,607)
There are newer reviews for Andrew Pinckney Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,477 - 1,483 of 1,607 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2009

The location was terrific-we were able to walk to all we wanted to see - to the Battery up Bay by the harbor to the Aquarium over to Marion Square and down King for shopping; we didn't have to resort to our car in the 4 days we were there. There were excellent restaurants within only a few blocks and we could return to the oasis of very nice room at any time we wanted to escape from the summer heat and humidity. The staff was gracious in every way, even arranging to ship something left behind upon our departure. The rooftop area with its continental breakfast was a plus and the cookies almost always available in the lobby were a nice touch.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgiaTraveler30062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2009

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments about our wonderful hotel and staff. It is our goal to not only meet but exceed our guest's expectations.

Our location makes it seamless to arrange for historic tours to pick you up while waiting comfortable in our lobby as our conceirge assists you with dinner plans, shopping & other fun activities during your stay.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

The staff was nice and helpful. One concierge gave us a great recommendation for dinner (Hank's) just a block away. The next night, the other concierge recommended a "locals" place for dinner and it was good but not nearly as good as Hank's. In general, we love love love the inn's location to the historic district of Charleston.

To us, the hotel room was more than acceptable. Our priorities are a comfortable bed and a clean room and the Inn passed with flying colors on both items.

The continental breakfast was nice and rather typical. We enjoyed the outdoor seating although we heard a number of complaints from other guests that there was only outdoor seating (it was cold for May SC standards). They didn't realize there are tables down on the second floor.

One minor mix-up at the front desk was the attendant didn't know how the parking garage next door worked. Instead of giving us a validated ticket, he gave us cash and didn't give us our ticket back so we couldn't exit the garage. An inconvenience but not a tragedy.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psualum98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

I think this inn is good for a first timer for the city. Very good location and the whole staff , from the reception to the house-keeping people, are friendly and helpful.
The room was OK. I was very surprised there was no ventilation in the bathroom and you cannot open the windows. You also hear the noise both outside and inside of the building.
Complimentary breakfast was included but I ended up bringing in my own breakfast. For that purpose, the fridge in the room came very handy.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariko I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2009

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. As you mentioned we are in a great location surrounded by restaurants, shopping and touring convenience. We pride ourselves on providing outstanding guest service as you experienced.

Please remember that we are in a downtown urban environment and you will experience a minimal amount of noise from the surroundings. We do have a variety of rooms and some are more isolated from the urban noises. Please let us know when booking again in the future and we will do all to accommodate with one of those rooms if available.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

It was wonderful and everyone was so nice. Our room was lovely. Two special things: I mentioned to Sandy (office worker) that we were celebrating my mothers 84th birthday - within 1 hour, my mom received a lovely gift bag from the General Manager, filled with goodies from the Charleston area. One day I asked Sandy if he would recommend a dry cleaner close by, since I slipped and fell in a mud puddle by the ocean and my blue jeans were all muddy. Sandy said, let me take them home for you and clean them. That's going beyond the call of duty for an office worker. The breakfast was also very nice on the roof top each morning.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HenryOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2009

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn.

We strive everyday to exceed our guest's expectations with our service and not just provide a room for you to stay in while visiting Charleston. It is great to hear that our staff made your stay a more pleasant one. We love being a part of special celebrations as your mothers 84th birthday.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

We stayed here from June 8th until June 11th 2009 and thoroughly enjoyed the room and the Inn itself. When we checked in my wife was disappointed to find that we had been given a small room, as I am 6'4", she knew we were going to be cramped for 3 nights in the room. We were moved to another room, the room was large enough although I would not call it roomy. All rooms we saw were very clean and the linens and towels were changed each day.
The staff was very friendly and were always ready to answer any questions or help out in any way. The breakfast area was alway clean and even though the posted times were 8 to 10, you could always find coffee, pastries, boiled eggs & cereal by 7:15. Some have complained about the eating area, but there are 7 tables on the terrace and 3 more inside the atrium area of the second floor, so seating was not a problem. You just needed to be aware of others and move to let those waiting to eat have a table.
The bed , sofa and work area were all very comfortable. The only minor complaint would be that it was difficult to see the TV from the bed, but you could still sit on the sofa and easily watch it.
We have been to Charleston many, many times, and now plan to make the Andrew Pinckney Inn our home away from home each time we return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J-C-Corn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2009

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments about your most recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We are elated to hear that we were accommodating toward your needs with moving you to a larger room and assisting you with dinner suggestions and other fun things to do in Charleston. It is our goal to not only meet but exceed our guest's expectations with our service.

We are glad to be your new "home away from home" when visiting Charleston!

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

My wife and I stayed at the API for two nights and would echo the views of other reviewers that this hotel is very well located for touring the downtown historic area on foot. Location of your room could also be key. We had a 'traditional king' room located in the annex. The room (no 101) was on the ground floor up a few steps from the main door. On check in I noted the presence of the lift shaft , an ice maker, and a refrigerated cold drink vending machine. Apprehensive at the prospect of noise disturbance I asked for a room change. Although the staff on reception checked the rooming list no alternative was available but they did offer to check again the following day. In view of our short stay I declined their offer and decided to stay put. As events transpired we were not troubled too much by noise but the potential for noise disturbance in this room (and adjacent rooms 102 and 103 on the same floor) would appear significant. Overall we enjoyed our stay and found the staff very pleasant and helpful. We took the continental breakfast and as the weather was benign we were able to enjoy the roof terrace however seating there did appear limited. We were also fortunate to find a space in the hotel car park where we left the car and explored this wonderful town on foot. As room size and location in this hotel could be critical (based on our experience and other reviews) it probably pays to check in as early as you can or make a specific request when making a reservation. Overall a satisfactory experience representing average value for money

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glynnhesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2009

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other potential future guest.
The title of your comments is definitly spot on with our wonderful location in the downtown Historic District. Footsteps away from the famed Market Street, surrounded by restuarants, touring convenience and of course shopping on King Street.

Thanks for acknowledging the fact that we did all possible to accommodate your requests during your stay. Historic Inns and older buildings do present some special challenges with the location of vending machines for our guest's convenience. We do all possible to soften any noise concerns and appreciate guest's comments and suggestions. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,878 reviews
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,213 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,773 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £145 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing