We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location/service”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location/service”
Reviewed 15 October 2007

Perfect location beside harbor and one block from delicious restaurants. We requested and received a harbor view room. Woke to beautiful sunrises. Noted we were celebrating anniversary on our reservation and were greeted with a complimentary bottle of champagne in our room upon arrival. Nice treats (wine and cheese, cookies and milk, candy in the lobby). Simple but adequate breakfast included in the room rate. Only issues were a little mold in the bathroom and the elevator was out of order (though we were notified in advance). Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMZBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,608
    275
    62
    24
    12
See reviews for
353
1,145
39
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Matthews, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2007

My wife and I went to Charleston to attend a friends Sunday evening wedding. We decided to make a weekend of it. We stayed Saturday and Sunday night. We paid $400 for Saturday night and $200 for Sunday. For this kind of money I would have expected more.

We arrived around 2 PM on Saturday. Our room was not ready, but we were told to leave our car with the valet (extra $15 per day)
and he would see to it as well as our bags. We left to have a late lunch and a little shopping. At 4 PM, I returned to "unpack".

My car was still sitting on the street where I had left it 2 hour before with my bags still inside. It turns out the elevator was not working and they did not have enough staff to keep up with all the people checking in and out. After I complained several hours later, my car was finally moved from the street.

I unloaded my luggage and carried it up the two flights of stairs.
I entered my room that looked out on a back alley filled with electric lines and the rear of other nearby businesses.

The bathroom was very ordinary. I stand about 6'2" and the shower head was lined up with my chin. The rings that supported the shower curtain were "worn out" and would not stay closed. This meant the shower curtain was sagging.
The bathroom did not have a vent fan so a hot shower resulted in a steam bath over the entire bathroom leaving a moist coating on all surfaces.

The breakfast was nothing to get excited about. The muffins were the same generic thing you get at a cheap hotel. When something ran out, they were slow to replace it (if it was replaced at all).

It was almost 4:30 Sunday afternoon before my room was cleaned.

Again, Monday at checkout time, the staff was "busy" and I had to haul my bags down the stairs. They did bring my car around and load my bags from the curb into the vehicle.

If I had been paying $50 a night at a motel, I would have expected all of these items. However, a room that is costing me an average of $350 a night should be better. I can't see a return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sc_freq_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2007

We came here for our honeymoon and what a wonderful decision it was! The rooms are beautiful, The view from both of our balconies overlooked the ocean. The in room breakfasts were delicious. It was within walking distance to all the attractions . I can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed October 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank T-TownFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2007

My husband and I just returned home a few days ago from visiting Charleston SC and a stay at Harbourview Inn. I selected it from the hotel website as well as by reading tripadvisor reviews. I was a little hesitant due to it seemed a little "pricey " although we usually do stay in upscale hotels when possible . It was a great choice!!!!!! We could not have been more pleased . The room was emaculate . The entire inn was spotlessly clean. Great linens etc. The view we had was not great, but we booked at the last minute. The staff was extremely professional but very nice and polite. The bellman were all nice young well spoken gentlemen. Had lovely coffee and tea service available until late every evening, a wine and cheese service early evening and cookies and milk at 9PM. The breakfast was simple but good and well served, primarily bagel, pastries, fruit, milk, juice ,yougart ,coffee etc very good, but not your typical southern country breakfast, but was more than adequate which was all included in daily rate, parking is extra, but not the highest in town.We also were pleased with advice we received the first night we arrived (very casually dressed needed somwhere close to eat) went to Fleet Landing within walking distance and casual dress is acceptable. The food was great . Overall experience was excellant and plan to stay here again when returning to Charleston. Will hopefully book more in advance and get a room with view.

  • Liked — cleanliness and location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2007

This place will be above and beyond your greatest expectations! The hotel is upscale and beautiful..yet not stuffy. The staff..always attentive and top notch. The room..very clean and upscale..always smelled nice. In regard to food..incredible..breakfast is included..tea/coffee/fruit/candy all day..wine/fruit/cheese in the afternoon..cookies and milk in the evening..chocolate on your pillow with turn down services! The location can't be beat..steps away from the best restaurants in Charleston..across from the lovely waterfront park..perfect for a nice walk or jog and it winds around to the battery! This was a Perfect Vacation..and we hated to leave! All groups will enjoy..singles, seniors families and couples! Wonderful!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlotteMeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2007

Stayed at the Harbour View for our anniversary this week-end and couldn't have been happier with our choice. The location is fantastic - had a view of the Charleston harbor from our room. Rooms are large and beds have temper-pedic mattrassas and comfy pillows. The staff was friendly and accomodating. We really appreciated the little touches - milk and cookies at night, wine and cheese from 5-6, and the continental breakfast (we chose to take it on the roof top) was great. They wanted to give us a complimentary bottle of champagne for our anniversary, but we were too tired every night!

  • Liked — comfy beds - extras - wine and cheese, milk and cookies, continental breakfast
  • Disliked — slow elevator
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rpcnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2007

My mom and I spent a few days at the Harbourview Inn the week of Labor Day. It was a great choice to stay in this hotel. First of all it is right in front of the Harbor therefore the Harbor View rooms have a great view of it. The room and bathroom were very clean and the staff was very friendly. A choice of three types of breakfast is either served in the room, at the Atrium lobby or at the Rooftop Terrace.

Note, none of the breakfast choices include a hot breakfast meal. One breakfast choice consists of breakfast pastries and fruit. The second choice is a low card breakfast among other things it includes a cold hard boiled egg, an apple with Peanut butter and cheese. The third choice includes granola, yogurt and a bagel (plain or wheat). With all the breakfast choices you can also order coffee, a selection of juices, a cold hard boiled egg and cold cereals.

Everyday, the breakfast was delivered to our room on time. They even called the room to let us know it was on its way.

The hotel also offered a wine, cheese and fruit reception from 5:00-6:00 in the afternoon. In addition, it also offered home made cookies, milk and coffee at 8:30 PM. All of this at no extra charge.

The hotel also has a computer in the lobby with Internet service for the use of the guests without charge.

I highly recommend this hotel. There are many good hotels in Charleston but I feel this one is special. They also offer AAA discount which helps.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Boodkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,065 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Property: Harbourview Inn
Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing