We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A return trip proved just as enjoyable”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #5 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A return trip proved just as enjoyable”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We returned here five years after our last visit for another three-night stay. The hotel is perfectly situated to visit some of Charleston's best restaurants, and the view of the harbor from the roof cannot be beat. This time we stayed in the hotel's interior, and enjoyed the breakfast on the roof. We bought the romance package, which gave us a bottle of champagne, some roses for my wife, a private carriage ride and $100 to spend at one of three great restaurants. Service is polite and efficient, and rooms are very nicely sized. My lone wish for the Harbourview is that it had a small workout facility -- Charleston's restaurants are so good, you need a space to work off some of that food!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryKarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay as much as you did your previous stay with us. We are grateful for your comments and hope you will return again for a third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,638
    277
    64
    24
    12
See reviews for
359
1,164
39
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

My Girlfriend and I arrived in charleston in mid August with several htoels in mind. We tried the Harbourview Inn and were impressed from the start. The staff was friendly and attentive to all of our needs. The valet recommended local restuarants that were were not tourist traps, then drove us their and picked us up after he was off of his shift. Our room reservation was not ready when we arrived so they upgraded us automatically instead of having us wait. When we ordered breakfast they called to let us know they were coming up to deliver it instead of just knocing on the door. After we left, the cleaning crew found some ear rings, and they contacted us back home to ask if they belonged to us. Very impressed, and will return to do business with them in the future.

Chef Sean

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
We love hearing about your great experience in Charleston and how we were a contributing factor. Thank you for all of your gracious comments regarding the staff. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The Harbourview was a nice find in Charleston. Fabulous location, comfy room and a very nice staff that were ready with answers to questions and were always around when you needed them. They got to know us quickly and made a fun few days in Charleston that much better. I thought the rates were fair, the room was squeaky clean. We will go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Your review and comments of the HarbourView Inn are greatly appreciated. The HarbourView Inn staff are always willing to assist with any questions or requests. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This was our third stay at this lovely Inn. Complimentary breakfast served in your room or on the terrace or atrium, complimentary wine and snacks at 5:00, complimentary milk and cookies at 9:00 PM. Truly a marvelous place to stay. The Inn is within walking distance of some of the best restaurants in Charleston. There is no pool, but the harbor has a pier with swings and a beautiful fountain where kids frolic all day long. They have so much fun that it is hard not to join the action. Our room had a balcony looking out at the harbor, it was nice to watch the sunrise in the morning and the ships pass by all day and night long. I have no hesitation in giving this place 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to the harborside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
We are very excited to hear that you have stayed with us two times in the past and that you returned for a third time. We are very pleased with your comments and that we were able to spoil you. Thank you and we hope you will return to stay with us again for a fourth time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My Husband I will absoluty be back to this hotel! From the breakfast served every morning to the turndown service with the weather report for the next day, it was hands down a fantastic place to stay. We knew we were going to arrive late Thursday Night, and the staff was more than accomidating for our late arrival. The room we booked lived up to its expectations, with a great view of the Waterfront Park, a wonderful bed and it was super clean. The hotel is in a great location, just several blocks from Market Street and plenty of places to eat and drink. We ended every night walking down the pier of the Waterfront Park, which was right outside the hotel's front steps. We parked our car when we arrived the first nght and never used it again except for when we left, which was amazing to be so close to the excietment of the city, but far enough away from the crowds at night. You will not be dissapointed by choosing to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaitlinM248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
We would like to thank you for sharing about your experience at the HarbourView. We are grateful for your comments and recommendation. We hope you will be able to return to Charleston and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My wife and I just got back from a wonderful 4 days in Charleston! Charleston is a amazing city full of great people and beautiful sights. And we had the pleasure of staying at the Harbour View Inn!! The service was amazing the room was beautiful and the view was wonderful over looking the water park and the harbour beyond.
When we arrived there was soft music playing in the room and the front desk provided us with 2 glasses of wine ;-)
Its also worth noting that it is within easy walking distance of the Battery, Rainbow row and the market!
If you are going to the Holy City stay here!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirk G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
We are excited to hear about your 4 day trip to Charleston. We are proud to have been a part of what seemed to be a great trip. We hope you will be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Excellent accomodations and location. The staff is very attentive and all requests were met promptly and politely. We had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend the hotel when you are visiting the Charleston area.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly for the best room and packages available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Thank you for your review of the HarbourView Inn and the staff. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,823 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 62 in Charleston
1,395 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#9 of 62 in Charleston
439 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 62 in Charleston
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Property: Harbourview Inn
Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing