We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality at its finest”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We arrived hungry and tired much later than expected due to air plane issues, but we were greeted warmly and offered a glass of wine. Now that was the start of a wonderful vacation. The staff were all gracious and so accomodating. The extra little touches of breakfast, wine & cheese and those yummie cookies later in the evening made our trip that much more special.The location on the waterfront was perfect. We were within walking distance to most everything. Thank You Harbour View for making our trip so memorable. Definetly one of our best stays in all of our travels.

Room Tip: the historic rooms were lovely a large for 4 ladies, although the maid let me check out beautiful ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

We would like to thank you for all your kind words regarding the HarbourView Inn. Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your recent ladies trip in Charleston. We are delighted that we were able to contribute to your memorable vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,440 - 1,446 of 2,096 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed at the Harbourview this past weekend with another couple and I cannot say enough about this Hotel. My husband and I travel quite a bit, in and out of the US and we were impressed by this hotel. The location is perfect for anyone looking to check out this this vibrant, clean and perfectly preserved city. The rooms are large, clean and the bed is extremely comfortable. We had a great view of the waterfront.
We enjoyed a complimentary continental breakfast delivered very timely to our room, the wine and cheese offered in the early evening and also complimentary, was a very nice touch. The rooftop is a wonderful place to enjoy the wine and cheese.
The best part of this hotel however is their staff. They are professional, helpful, personable and very service oriented. We look forward to a repeat visit to Charleston and we will stay at the Harbourview!

Room Tip: We loved the historic wing with the waterfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

We are extremely grateful for your review of the HarbourView Inn. We are pleased to hear about your wonderful experiences in Charleston and how you enjoyed the services offered by the HarbourView Inn and staff. Thank you for choosing the HarbourView Inn and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This hotel is divine. Our room was located in the historic wing and was beautifully decorated, large and quite comfortable. The rooms get serviced promptly and the hotel in general is very clean. The staff - charming and personable, real people. The GM, Tyler Dockery, went out of his way to make sure we were happy and our every wish was met. Most importantly, the location can’t be beat. It’s right on the water, within walking distance of the best restaurants, bars and fantastic boutiques and the shopping on King Street is only a few blocks away, not to mention the Market which is just around the corner. I can’t think of a better place to stay in downtown Charleston. We look forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellojackette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us at the HarbourView Inn located in historic, downtown Charleston. Thank you for your great review of the hotel and the staff. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Outstanding service. Hotel staff very helful. Great location. The breakfast and daily wine and cheese very nice touch. Roof top offers a wonderful place to relax. Room was very clean and the entire hotel very well maintained. We would stay at the Harbour View when we return to Charleston. Classy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the harbour or Vendue offer the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingcouple022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

We are excited that you enjoyed your stay and all the services and amenities offered by the HarbourView Inn. Thank you very much for your review and we hope to see you again when you return to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We booked the "romance package" in the penthouse for our 30th Anniversay in October and although it was a nice room with a beautiful view of the water the room was smaller than I expected for the "penthouse and the price. There is no door between the room and the bathroom sinks which I thought rather odd. The bathroom had an oversize whirlpool tub with a showerhead. Having had rotorcuff surgery about 5 months ago it was difficult to get into the shower and get my feet on the mat (I'm only 4'11") without great difficulty as the mat was very small and the tub very large and slippery. BUT I filled out a customer comment card before we left and rec'd an email before we got home from the manager taking off 50% of our last night there, which was extremely nice and unexpected. The location was wonderful - we walked 98% of the time. The wine and cheese was nice, champaign was nice, employees were nice, location was nice. Next time I'm in Charleston I would definately stay here again but get a regular room. Great gelato next door -yum!

Room Tip: Forget about the view - you're not in the room that much anyway. We had a room by the fountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

We would like wish you a happy anniversary and thank you for staying with us at the HarbourView Inn. We appreciate your comments and feedback as they help us to continually improve. We can’t wait to see you on your next trip to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Rooms and bathroom were very clean, staff accommodating, location great.
Breakfast was marginal but the all day refreshments more than make up for it.
While the hotel does not have concierge, the desk staff is willing to help. However, do your own research. We found they were off on distance and times

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2011

We are grateful for your review and would like to thank you for choosing the HarbourView Inn during your recent visit to Charleston. The HarbourView Inn staff strives to assist all our guests in any way possible and are usually very knowledgeable of the area, attractions, and events in Charleston. We hope you will return to Charleston soon and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Loved the size, location and amenities-free water, wine and cheese from 5-6pm, cookies later.
Had requested king bed-got 2 queens-also they put us on the side facing nothing but power grid lines-hideous. Aside from that, lovely roof top deck, room was pretty spacious, breakfast was nothing to speak of but it was free. Location right by the water park was lovely. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sakina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

We thank you for your review of the HarbourView Inn. We hope you will return soon and stay with us in one of our HarbourView Rooms overlooking the Charleston Harbor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,933 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,262 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,461 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 61 in Charleston
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £198 - £454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing