We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Seven Fields, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrific experience!”
Reviewed 25 November 2011

The staff at Harbourview Inn is only matched by the absolutely beauty of the building they work in! My husband and I went to the Inn as a part of our 5-year anniversary trip. We were incredibly surprised and pleased to be offered a complimentary upgrade to a room with a view of the Harbor--absolutely stunning! We were surprised later that evening with a bottle of champagne and some chocolate-covered strawberries delivered to our room! The desk made us reservations at Magnolias, a short walk away, which was a fantastic recommendation.

Besides being treated so well, the Inn was within walking distance of some of the most amazing parts of downtown Charleston, including Market Street and King Street and about a million cafes, restaurants and nightlife hot spots. My husband and I had bikes with us, which we felt very comfortable locked up on the bike rack in the Inn's parking garage.

I would definitely return to the Harbourview Inn, and I would certainly recommend it to my family and friends.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
We would like to thank you for posting a review regarding your terrific anniversary experience while staying with us at the HarbourView Inn. We appreciate you choosing the HarbourView Inn and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,589
    274
    62
    23
    12
See reviews for
348
1,133
39
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Our stay at the Harborview was oustandiing! Every effort is made to accommodate guests. From the courteous front desk staff to the polite bellman... Everyone was focused on making our stay pleasant. Breakfast is served each morning in your room, on the rooftop or in the lobby. Wine and cheese are served in the late afternoon and milk and cookies are laid out at night. There's even a soft night light in the bathroom! The hotel's location is great for exploring the Charleston historic district. You'll live this place!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berrynester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
We are grateful for your kind remarks regarding your experience at the HarbourView Inn while visiting Charleston. We are proud to accommodate you and deliver the service to make for an outstanding stay. We hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed two nights at the Harbourview Inn Nov 15 & 16. We loved the tranquile atmosphere and the quiet restful sleep in a location that is very handy to the major attractions of old Charleston. The hotel is tastefully decorated throughout. The beds and pillows (we requested foam pillows) were most comfortable and the rooms are very large. The air conditioning is extremely efficient.
The front desk staff are professional and efficient.
The hotel offers complimentary wine and cheese before dinner and there is always tea and coffee available around the clock in the atrium.
Breakfast will be delivered either to your room, or to the atrium or to the rooftop terrace - it is your choice, but note that the atrium serves breakfast pastries along with coffee and tea.
We had previously stayed at the King Charles Inn which we quite enjoyed but I must say that we thoroughly enjoyed the spaciousness and tranquility of the Harbourview.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaSnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review the HarbourView Inn. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Charleston. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakboro
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My husband and I recently spent our honeymoon in Charleston at the Harbourview Inn. We can't say enough how wonderful the experience was. We felt spoiled and pampered the whole time we were there. The staff was amazing-all we had to do was ask for anything and it was promptly taken care of. Couldn't find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Congratulations on your nuptials! We are proud to have delivered great service and pamper you on your honeymoon. Your review is greatly appreciated. We hope you will visit Charleston again and stay with us at the HarbourView Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2011

After two stays, we will be hard put to book elsewhere. We were confident enough to have friends join us for our most recent visit. As a native Charlestonian, I really enjoy walking out the door into the middle of the historic district.
Would not recommend for those with young children or those who only want the beach life.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilly29621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
We are delighted that you chose to return and stay with us for a second time. We are proud to have you stay with us and recommend to your visiting friends. Thank you for your review and we hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Spent a week in Charleston and stayed at the Harbourview. We've been to Charleston many times, but this is the first time we have stayed at this hotel and we loved it. It is small, well managed, great service and great location. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but it does provide a free continental breakfast and wine and cheese in the afternoon. It is close to many great restaurants, shopping, and historic walks. Will definitely stay at Harbourview again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the Harbor side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cag96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
We are excited that you chose the HarbourView Inn after several trips to Charleston. Thank you for your gracious review of the property. We hope you will stay with us next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This was our first visit to Charleston and I don't think we could have picked a better place to stay. Room was ready on arrival. We had put in our reservation that we were celebrating our 31st anniversary and they upgraded our room. Location, excellent. Evening cookies and cold milk, excellent. In room breakfast, escellent. Champagne courtesy of hotel, even more excellent! We had a car and each time we took it out, the valet would ask if we knew where we were going and would give us directions if needed. Watched the harbor, saw dolphins from our window, loved the boat traffic. No complaints, just the way hotels are supposed to be.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YooperX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
We are delighted you chose to stay with us at the HarbourView Inn for your first visit to Charleston and your anniversary. The HarbourView Inn staff as a whole strive to deliver the best service possible and accommodate all guests’ needs to the fullest capacity. Thank you for your review and we hope you will return to Charleston and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
2,726 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
3,028 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 60 in Charleston
392 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 60 in Charleston
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Property: Harbourview Inn
Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing