We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Pros:

-The location is perfect. It was just a minute or two walk to some of the best restaurants in town.

-The view is fantastic. We stayed on the fourth floor in a "penthouse suite."


Cons:

-No one asked us if we needed help with luggage when we arrived or offered to show us to our room.

-The fourth floor hallway had a strong sewage smell when we arrived. Ew.

-We stayed in room 402 advertised as a "penthouse suite." If this was a penthouse suite, then I'll eat my shoe. The room was small, the bathroom was very small and the 'balcony' was a stained concrete extension that barely fit two worn outdoor chairs.

-The hotel is aging poorly and is in need of a renovation. Examples include threadbare/frayed bedding, worn and sun-bleached furnishings, one robe had a large tear in the side and both were threadbare. Do you sense a theme?

-People who travel relatively often will understand this- I hate it when a hotel room is full of little signs telling me how and what I can and cannot do. This is one of those places.

-The doors are extremely thin. You can hear everything that is happening in the hallway and vice versa.

-The hotel sounds nice on paper with lots of perks. Included breakfast, tea, wine, cookies. They obviously are aware that the hotel is sliding quickly and are doing everything they can to keep people happy and coming through the door at minimal cost. Emphasis on minimal. We did not find any of the add-ons worth partaking in after giving each a try our first day- the breakfast was not edible, the wine was undrinkable, etc.

Conclusion:
Charleston is a lovely city and I'm looking forward to returning. The Harbourview has one of the best hotel locations in town but I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

We appreciate you choosing the HarbourView Inn for your visit to Charleston. We are pleased you enjoyed the location of the HarbourView and the great views, but we are saddened by the fact that you did not feel the HarbourView Inn was 100% satisfactory. With this review being the first time hearing of your issues, management did not have the opportunity to discuss or resolve any of the issues you mentioned. The HarbourView Inn is continually improving by upgrading the furniture, linens, bedding, and services. Most of our guests love the complimentary services and amenities we offer. In regard to your Penthouse Room you booked, I wanted to clarify that it is a room overlooking the Charleston Harbor on the top floor with a balcony. It is not a suite, and is not advertised or documented that it is a suite. The HarbourView Inn does have a suite in the building, but it is not the same as a Penthouse Room. Thank you again for choosing the HarbourView Inn and we would love for you to return and stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,367 - 1,373 of 2,096 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

Have been to Charleston many times but this was our first stay at the Harbourviiew. Location on the Harbor is great and you are in walking distance to the Market, Battery, and most of the best restaurants. Extra amenities like breakfast in your room included, wine and cheese at night, and cookies after dinner are nice touches. Would definately recommend. Staff is excellent.

Room Tip: Book a waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

We would like to thank you for choosing the HarbourView Inn for your most recent visit to Charleston. We are pleased to hear of your experience and hope you will return and stay with us again. Thank you for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This was the choice for our honeymoon and I don't know that we could have done much better.
The Harbourview Inn really has it all. Front and center is it's amazing location. Situated right at Waterfront Park on the beautiful Charleston Harbour, the Inn is within walking distance of the city's best dining and shopping (all located within the breath-taking historic district).
The rooms have the perfect mix of modern conveniences and southern hospitality and charm.
We selected a room with a balcony and harbour view and were glad we did as the views were priceless and the balcony provided a relaxing and romantic spot to reflect on a great day or prepare for a night on the town.
Breakfast is simple but elegant and can be delivered to your room or to the Inn's rooftop terrace.
They do charge a mandatory $18 a night for parking in a semi-secure lot but this is fairly reasonable for the area and, though we have stayed several times, we have never had any issues with our car.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbugfromva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

We are very grateful you let us host you at the HarbourView Inn for your honeymoon. Thank you for your review and comments regarding the hotel. We hope you will return and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

After just relocating to South Carolina from AZ the week before, my hubby surprised me with an overnight get-away at the Habourview Inn to celebrate my birthday, and what a wonderful and most unexpected treat it was!!

He went all out and booked the Penthouse suite, and while the room is not large - it worked perfectly for us, and we enjoyed the roof top terrace that was easily accessible just a short distance from our room, along with the small terrace patio attached to the room itself. The room is tastefully decorated and the fireplace added to the charm.

Staff was very welcoming and I was taken back when a bottle of chilled champagne arrived at our room shortly after checking in, along with a personalized letter from the front desk, wishing me a nice stay and a happy birthday. It is touches such as this that really set a property apart from the competition and it didn't stop there! From 4-5pm they had a wine and cheese welcome reception that allowed us to enjoy conversations with the other guests, and the following morning we were greeted with breakfast delivered to our door consisting of delicious fresh fruit and ham & cheese croissants.

Our only disappointment with the entire stay was the foam mattress. We found it to be very uncomfortable and difficult to move around in. For this reason I did not sleep real well, but the rest of the accommodations were 4 star!

Many thanks to the entire staff for making our stay so pleasant & memorable!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2Dine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

We appreciate you choosing the HarbourView Inn and for your comments regarding your experience. Most of our guests love the Tempur-Pedic mattresses. For your next visit, please request a non-memory foam mattress and we will make sure to accommodate you. We hope you will return to Charleston and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Very pleased. Great location and staff are helpful and accomodating. Appreciate the little extras. Coffee, tea, cookies, wine & cheese available in lobby area. Breakfast delivered to your room as part of your stay. Very quiet

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wafl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

We would like to thank you for choosing the HarbourView Inn for your two-day getaway in Charleston. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the ‘extra’ amenities and services offered by the hotel and staff. We hope you will stay with us again next time you visit the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This was our very first time to Harbourview Inn, but I can assure you it won't be our last. It is our new favorite spot in Charleston. We celebrated our honeymoon at another hotel in Charleston 17 yrs. ago, but we decided to take SniqueAway's recommendation and book here. It far exceeded our expectations in almost every aspect. From the little details, like cool room keys, stylish letterhead, daily weather postcards, complimentary wine every evening and cookies at bedtime to the extreme, like breakfast delivered daily right to the privacy of your room, cozy rooms and comfy Tempurpedic beds. The location is excellent, and this is a nice additional part of our stay, but the customer service was outstanding...employees actually smiled and made you feel like they loved their jobs and their hotel.

Room Tip: Even though we were on the street side and first floor and could hear the chatter of folks on the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RENACRES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

We are excited to be your new favorite spot in Charleston! The Historic Rooms are really unique in character and most guests enjoy them as you did. Thank you for your review of the HarbourView Inn and we can’t wait for you to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

A relatively new hotel located in a great location overlooking the harbour of Charleston. We had a harbour view room, which is highly recommended. We had a balcony and watched the sailboats and cruise ships pass by in front of us.

Service at this hotel is first rate, from check in to check out. Very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are very comfortable with all the modern amenities one would need. The bed had one of the most comfortable matresses we had ever slept on.

Many nice touches with this hotel. They serve tea in the afternoon, wine and assorted goodies at 5 pm and fresh baked cookies and milk at 9 pm, all complimentary. Coffee and hot chocolate are always available. The complimentary breakfast was also nice, and can be served in your room, in the reception area in front of a fireplace, or up on the roof with a beautiful view of the city and harbour. Many wonderful restaurants located within walking distance. The river/harbour walk passes right in front of the hotel and the walk going toward the sea is marvelous. You will see many old mansions, several dating to the 18th century. There is also a fantastic water fountain located adjacent to the hotel.

The hotel was a little expensive but a good value for the money. Parking is $18 per day. My wife and I would definitely stay at this hotel again if the opportunity arises. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are adjacent to a large meeting room where people assemble to talk, enjoy the wine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PsyProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

We thank you for your review of the HarbourView Inn and sharing your experience with others on tripadvisor. We appreciate your recommendation and hope you will return and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,932 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,262 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,461 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 61 in Charleston
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £199 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing