We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The ideal place to stay for a nice vacation in this city.

It is a beautiful property on the water - the perfect location. It is a classic, historical property that is old and charming without seeming outdated - really everything you'd expect from an elegant hotel in this city.

The service - especially from the bellhops and parking attendants - is extraordinary and genteel. For instance, they allowed my brother in law to valet his car free of charge when he came to meet us for lunch; also, I requested a crib, and when I returned it was there, put together, with the bed made and pillows ready.

Finally, it also has some nice homey touches, like a daily wine reception, and cookies and milk every evening.

The only improvement I could see would be to add an actual temperature control to the A/C control panel, rather than just having "hot" and "cold", with "low" and "high" settings.

I really cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: Their traditional rooms are spacious and comfortable - ~300 sq ft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vermando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

We would like to thank you for choosing the HarbourView Inn during your recent visit to Charleston. Your comments and review are greatly appreciated. We hope you will choose to stay with us again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,342 - 1,348 of 2,078 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

we've never been so pampered. From the great gourmet breakfast, to the large historic room, to the wine and cheese socials, to the warm fresh baked cookies and milk. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. the location was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mick504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

We are grateful for the opportunity to spoil you and pleased that we did. Thank you very much for choosing the HarbourView Inn and for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We couldn't have had a more enjoyable weekend. The Staff at the Harborview was extremely accomodating and helpful with our every request. It is a real treat to have all your reservations made for you and done so cheerfully! The room, meals and daily wine tasting - perfect. Location made this trip extremely pleasant as we were within walking distance to everything we enjoy. The rain held out for us to have an early Sunday morning handsome cab ride - nothing like having the road to yourself and listening to all the church bells of Charleston. We definitely will go back and soon!

Thank you Tyler, Josh, Drue, Jenn and all!

Room Tip: Harborview with a balcony is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancyg729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

It delights us to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how helpful everyone was assisting you. We hope you will come back and stay with us again on a sunny day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Charleston has a bevy of bed & breakfasts, so staying at a hotel may seem like an out-of-character alternative. However, the service here (and my stay overall) was phenomenal! It's at a great location-just off the potential bustle, but perfect walking distance from all the major attractions. And we had breakfast in our room each day, included!
I recommend this to you if you like enjoying your hotel experiences.

Room Tip: We stayed in the penthouse, with a balcony overlooking the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

We are very pleased to hear about your experience in Charleston. Thank you for all your gracious comments and recommendation. We hope you will be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My husband and I visited for a last minute romantic weekend getaway and found the Harbourview Inn completely by luck. We were extremely pleased with the location and all of the amenities (such as wine and cheese) and the sheer friendliness of the staff. We would stay with Harbourview Inn the next time we visit Charleston. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

We are excited you chose the HarbourView Inn for your last minute getaway to Charleston. Thank you for your kind remarks about the staff and amenities. We can’t wait for you to come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I can't say enough about our stay here. The staff was so friendly and helpful, letting us know the best places to go, tourist traps to avoid. Everything we needed or asked for was attended to promptly. Beautiful rooms, Jacuzzi tub, nicest terry robes EVER. The lobby overlooks Waterfront Park and offers beautiful views of sunrise over the Cooper River. Situated in the French Quarter - almost everything is within walking distance, if not, take the free trolley bus from the stop directly in front of the hotel. The hotel offers a free wine and cheese hour at 5pm, and cookies (homemade & warm) and milk later in the evening - great way to meet other hotel guests and exchange experiences. Definitely going back.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bails3916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the HarbourView Inn and for your review of the property. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We will be awaiting your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The location is excellent, our room was well-appointed and quite large, and the beds were very comfortable. What set the hotel apart, however, were the extra details. From an above-average complementary room service breakfast (chosen from four basic options each night to be delivered at a time chosen by each guest - - even if it was different times for each guest in the same room), to wine and cheese in the afternoon and milk and cookies at night, these amenities truly set the hotel apart. Finally, the employees always greeted us warmly and left us with the feeling that they valued our business. I would recommend the hotel to everyone, but I would encourage you to try to get the free parking they gave us.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adaksmyrna01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

We are delighted you had an outstanding stay with us at the HarbourView Inn. Thank you for your review and recommendation of the hotel. We hope you will choose to stay with us again next time you visit Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,907 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,244 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
491 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £202 - £483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing