We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Ocala, FL
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Don't know where to begin, the quality at this hotel is just top notch from the time I was greeted when I pulled up with my car all the way through to my check-out just a terrific experience. Personnel are well spoken helpful, knowledgeable, ready to fix whatever comes up and just make your stay a great experience. I do a yearly get together with a friend/retired co-worker and this year we picked Charleston again because we just love the city. We look for a centrally located hotel where we can relax, park our cars and just catch-up visiting, sightseeing & shopping. This hotel made it all possible, the wine & cheese in evening is so well done, the breakfast choices are perfect and where we wished to eat & the time is great. Coffee & tea is always available, the water with lemon or orange is a real treat. The bed is sooooo comfortable & our room was quiet. We had a first floor room (115) and it wa really convenient for us, right in the atrium area ear the coffee :-) I have read about people staying stay on an upper floor because of first floor noise, but it didn't even bother us. I would stay here again & recommend it without exception.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper then go to upper rooms as the first floor has mechanical rooms that do pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OGirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
We are thrilled to hear you had an awesome stay with us at the HarbourView Inn. Thank you for your kind remarks regarding the staff, rooms, and the complimentary amenities. We appreciate your recommendation and hope you will stay with us again next time you visit Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,564
    272
    62
    22
    12
See reviews for
343
1,114
39
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The ideal place to stay for a nice vacation in this city.

It is a beautiful property on the water - the perfect location. It is a classic, historical property that is old and charming without seeming outdated - really everything you'd expect from an elegant hotel in this city.

The service - especially from the bellhops and parking attendants - is extraordinary and genteel. For instance, they allowed my brother in law to valet his car free of charge when he came to meet us for lunch; also, I requested a crib, and when I returned it was there, put together, with the bed made and pillows ready.

Finally, it also has some nice homey touches, like a daily wine reception, and cookies and milk every evening.

The only improvement I could see would be to add an actual temperature control to the A/C control panel, rather than just having "hot" and "cold", with "low" and "high" settings.

I really cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: Their traditional rooms are spacious and comfortable - ~300 sq ft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vermando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing the HarbourView Inn during your recent visit to Charleston. Your comments and review are greatly appreciated. We hope you will choose to stay with us again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

we've never been so pampered. From the great gourmet breakfast, to the large historic room, to the wine and cheese socials, to the warm fresh baked cookies and milk. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. the location was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
We are grateful for the opportunity to spoil you and pleased that we did. Thank you very much for choosing the HarbourView Inn and for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We couldn't have had a more enjoyable weekend. The Staff at the Harborview was extremely accomodating and helpful with our every request. It is a real treat to have all your reservations made for you and done so cheerfully! The room, meals and daily wine tasting - perfect. Location made this trip extremely pleasant as we were within walking distance to everything we enjoy. The rain held out for us to have an early Sunday morning handsome cab ride - nothing like having the road to yourself and listening to all the church bells of Charleston. We definitely will go back and soon!

Thank you Tyler, Josh, Drue, Jenn and all!

Room Tip: Harborview with a balcony is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyg729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
It delights us to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how helpful everyone was assisting you. We hope you will come back and stay with us again on a sunny day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Park, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Charleston has a bevy of bed & breakfasts, so staying at a hotel may seem like an out-of-character alternative. However, the service here (and my stay overall) was phenomenal! It's at a great location-just off the potential bustle, but perfect walking distance from all the major attractions. And we had breakfast in our room each day, included!
I recommend this to you if you like enjoying your hotel experiences.

Room Tip: We stayed in the penthouse, with a balcony overlooking the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
We are very pleased to hear about your experience in Charleston. Thank you for all your gracious comments and recommendation. We hope you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

My husband and I visited for a last minute romantic weekend getaway and found the Harbourview Inn completely by luck. We were extremely pleased with the location and all of the amenities (such as wine and cheese) and the sheer friendliness of the staff. We would stay with Harbourview Inn the next time we visit Charleston. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
We are excited you chose the HarbourView Inn for your last minute getaway to Charleston. Thank you for your kind remarks about the staff and amenities. We can’t wait for you to come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayville, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I can't say enough about our stay here. The staff was so friendly and helpful, letting us know the best places to go, tourist traps to avoid. Everything we needed or asked for was attended to promptly. Beautiful rooms, Jacuzzi tub, nicest terry robes EVER. The lobby overlooks Waterfront Park and offers beautiful views of sunrise over the Cooper River. Situated in the French Quarter - almost everything is within walking distance, if not, take the free trolley bus from the stop directly in front of the hotel. The hotel offers a free wine and cheese hour at 5pm, and cookies (homemade & warm) and milk later in the evening - great way to meet other hotel guests and exchange experiences. Definitely going back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bails3916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the HarbourView Inn and for your review of the property. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We will be awaiting your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Property: Harbourview Inn
Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing