We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I was very excited about our stay at the Harbourview Inn after reading about it on here and by what I read on their website. Like most places, it has pros and cons.

When we got there, it was a little confusing on where to park. We pulled into the loading zone and the valet guy tapped on our window. He asked our last name and mentioned that check in was at 3 - it was 2:30. Our room was ready though, so he helped us get our luggage out and informed us of how the valet parking worked. We were under the impression that we had no choice and we had to do the valet parking here. When I checked in, there was a box that said yes or no for valet parking. Well, the guy had already taken my car and given me a valet stub, so I marked yes. FYI, it's $20 a day for valet parking.

When we entered our room, I was shocked at how small it was for the price we were paying. The balcony was tiny and had two bar stool chairs that weren't very comfortable. I was expecting more. However, the bathroom was nice, the snacks / beverages were good, and the bed was great. Our room had a great view. We were on the fourth floor and right in front of the pier - our view was unobstructed. Looking at the balconies around us, I can see how some people would be upset with their view. A building blocked the view of most of the balconies I could see and it wouldn't be any better on the lower floors. I guess we got lucky on this.

The wine & cheese was great and the milk & cookies were even better! The breakfast was filling, but you don't have many options. Please note, if you choose the cereal option, "seasonal fruit" is a banana. I was expecting a bowl of fruit or something. They also had some pastries down in the lobby that were good. You have to get there early though, as they go quickly. We opted to have breakfast in our room and they were always on time.

The staff was friendly and they were willing to help us anytime we had to call the front desk. No complaints on the staff or service at all.

Overall, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Brooke T,

We appreciate your sincere review of the HarbourView Inn. On behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and future travelers. Our Grand HarbourView rooms are the only room type with top floor locations and balconies with beautiful views of the Historic Charleston Harbor, and we are happy you enjoyed the view. It is important for us to offer services such as Wine & Cheese and Cookies & Milk to make our guests feel at home. We appreciate the feedback regarding our breakfast options, as guests’ feedback is the most valuable in our dedication to continually improve our services. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and we send our best to you in Chattanooga.

Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,621
    276
    64
    24
    12
See reviews for
356
1,154
39
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed in a King's Guest Suite last night, and everything about the Harbourview Inn was fantastic. The Bellmen were all very friendly! Marcus checked us in, and he was super, super nice. He went out of his way to personally make sure that the bottle of champagne I had dropped off earlier that day made it to our room upon arrival. He was very accommodating and genuine. We had wine, cheese, and champagne on the roof, and listened to live Jazz music while looking at the spectacular view of downtown Charleston and the ocean. Our room had an adorable Princess Balcony which overlooked the street, and the room was very cozy and clean.
I was experiencing some credit card issues when we were checking out, and the staff could not have been more helpful and understanding. Lisa, Sabrina, and Drew the assistant manager need to be recognized for their remarkable customer service.
We will definitely return to this hotel in the near future. Great service, perfect atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear CCraver,

I am ecstatic to have you share your great experience with the HarbourView Inn and all of our great service team members. Our team is our greatest asset and I know Marcus, Lisa and Sabrina appreciate your kind remarks. I am happy you enjoyed our complimentary services, our unbeatable views and our clean accommodations. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and we send our best to you in beautiful Hilton Head Island.

Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I recently spent one night at this hotel and of course, it was as fantastic as my other two stays. I didn't have a reservation since I wasn't for sure if I would be in the area or not but was quickly given a room (with free parking!). My friend and I were even allowed to check into our two-queen bed room prior to the 3 p.m. check in time (The beds are the best in the world!).

This room didn't have a view (we had the 'dreaded' view of the small power station that is behind the hotel)...but you know what? It didn't matter! Who goes to Charleston to stay in their room anyway?? The room was very clean (as always), the bathroom well stocked, good temperature control (I sometimes have an issue with that in a lot of hotels I stay in), breakfast was served hot and on time, the free snacks are a nice touch, location can't be beat, the staff is very friendly and helpful...I could go on and on about this hotel. It is honestly my now all-time favorite property!! I plan on returning soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are great! Even the ones without a 'view'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngwife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Ngwife2,

I am thrilled HarbourView Inn has become your favorite property after several visits. We are happy you enjoy our great location, complimentary services, and a very special thank you for complementing our hard working service team; they are truly our greatest asset. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and future travelers. We look forward to hosting you for any return visits, and we send our best to you in Virginia.

Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Harbourview is an intimate, quaint hotel with an ideal location. Across the street is the pier and it is very fun to walk to in the evening to look out at the sky. The complementary breakfast and cocktail hour makes one travel more like home. You don't have to leave the hotel to get breakfast and you can plan your day with a cup of coffee. It is expensive but based on the area it is very inline and makes your visit a vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Jane D,

Thank you for sharing your kind review of the HarbourView Inn. On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate your comments and we are all thrilled you enjoyed our convenient location in Historic Charleston and our complimentary services such as continental breakfast delivery and our wine & cheese reception. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and we send our best to you in St. Louis.

Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We travel to Charleston every year. We have stay in many places but our most favorite is Harbourview Inn. The rooms are very lovely with period pieces. We usually stay in the Historic rooms, with brick walls very large rooms with chaise lounge and tables and chairs. Beds are very comfortable. Great staff. You can get your breakfast in your room, wine and cheese in the afternoon and cookies and milk in the evening. Where could you go wrong here. It's a must stay!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kcbosslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Kcbosslady,

How thrilling to be your favorite place in Historic Charleston! On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate you sharing your experience with us and future travelers. We are pleased you enjoyed our cozy rooms, comfortable Tempur Pedic beds, and all of our complimentary services. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and we send our best to you in New London.

Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I actually tried over 20 bed and breakfasts for a spur of the moment road trip up to Charleston, all were sold out. One of them recommended the Harborview Inn. I got the last room. I didn't realize what great luck that was until we arrived. Perfect location! Right in middle of all the action! Our room was ready early. The best mattress that I have ever slept on, we are going to order one for our home. The little extras ,such as a great breakfast , which we had on the rooftop terrace, wine and cheese in the afternoon and milk and cookies at night. It was a perfect weekend getaway! We couldn't have been mre pleased. We would defiantly recommend this Inn!

Room Tip: Next time we would book earlier and request a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winegril561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Winegril561,

I am always thrilled to see our guests take advantage of HarbourView Inn’s “Perfect Location.” On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for sharing your experience of complimentary rooftop breakfast, comfortable Tempur Pedic beds, and all of our other services and amenities. We are happy you had a wonderful weekend getaway and we hope we can accommodate you again in the future. We send our best to you in Palm Beach Gardens.

Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights this past weekend. The rooms were very nice and clean. The wine and cheese on the rooftop and breakfast delivered to the room are really special touches. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FROMOMAHANEBRASKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear FROMOMAHANEBRASKA,

On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate you sharing your experience with us and future travelers. We are happy you enjoyed all of our complimentary services and amenities as it is important for us to provide such services to provide a sense of ease and comfort. We hope we may accommodate you again in the future, and we send our best to you in Omaha.

Please do not hesitate to contact me anytime and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,801 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,100 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
416 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Property: Harbourview Inn
Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing