We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern Hospitality”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

With an ice storm in New England our stay was unexpectedly extended until Christmas and the staff definitely made us feel at welcomed and comfortable. Great location, great rooms, great assistance with multiple details - in general a potentially stressful time ended up both relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Linda F,

I am delighted to hear your relaxing and enjoyable experience at the HarbourView Inn spelled Southern Hospitality during your trip to Historic Charleston. On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate your complements of the hard working service team and our cozy accommodations We hope to accommodate you again in the future and we send our best to you in Maine.

Please contact me directly if I may assist you in any way and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,608
    275
    62
    24
    12
See reviews for
353
1,145
39
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richardsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Harbourview Inn is in a superb location--a waterfront park is a stone's throw across the way, and it's an easy walk to shopping and restaurants. Check in was quick and efficient, and all of the staff were friendly and gave awesome advice on what to see and do in the area. I was there during the Christmas holiday and purchased their Home for the Holidays package. My room was decorated festively and I received chocolate covered strawberries my first night there--which were delicious! Another bonus were the chocolate chip cookies served warm every evening at 9pm, with pitchers of cold milk to go with it. I looked forward to it every evening. The beds were incredibly comfortable, which was a blessing and a curse---I didn't get to see a whole lot of Charleston because I slept in until late afternoon! Without question, I would come back for sure if I were to visit Charleston again.

Room Tip: Definitely get a harborview room if you can afford it. I booked the traditional room and got a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanelaCaribena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear CanelaCaribena,

I am overjoyed with your kind review! On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we thank you for sharing your experience with us and future travelers of Historic Charleston. We are happy you took advantage of our convenient location and enjoyed our cozy accommodations and our complimentary services. A very special thank you for complementing our hard working service team who is our most valuable asset in delivering a quality experience. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and we send our best to you in Raleigh.

Please contact me directly if I may assist you in any way and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

the harbourview has one of the best locations in Charleston- waterfront park outside your door and walking distance to shops and restaurants.
The tempurpedic mattresses are great. wake up refreshed even after many hours of walking and exploring the city. Continental breakfast delivered to room is good - has limited variety.
Overall, very nice accommodations and we have stayed here several times and it has become our "go to " place in Charleston.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zupare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Zupare,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and future travelers. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate you continuing to stay loyal to our accommodations. We are happy you enjoy our convenient location, cozy beds, and our complimentary services. We hope we may remain your go to place in Historic Charleston, and we send our best to you in Maine.

Please contact me directly if I may assist you in any way and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We spent six lovely days in Charleston over Christmas week and made the Harborview Inn our home base and we would do it again in a heartbeat. We wanted some place within easy walking distance to the French Quarter without being in the middle of 'tourist central'. We booked their holiday package with a harborside view. The room was nicely appointed and decorated for the holidays, the nightly treats delivered during their turndown service were delicious (and fattening), the bed linens were so nice I wanted to take them home with me and last, but certainly not least, the breakfasts delivered to our room every day made for a terrfic start to our busy days. The staff was courteous, professional and attentive. We loved the proximity of the historic district as well as the tranquility of the parks nearby. Charleston is a beautiful city and we're so glad we made the Harborview Inn our home away from home. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Twisted_Diva,

I am delighted to hear of your exceptional experience with the HarbourView Inn. On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate your kind remarks and thank you sincerely for sharing your experience of our holiday package, complimentary services, convenient location, and cozy accommodations to us and future travelers. We hope we may accommodate you again during another trip to Historic Charleston.

Please contact me directly if I may assist you in any way and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

The location is fantastic. Walking distance to everywhere. The beds are comfortable although the rooms are on the small side. Breakfast is choice of a bowl of cereal, a roll, a bagel, or a cold egg. The evening cookies and wine were a nice touch. Downside, it cost us $400 a night for a view of the power plant and a peeling wall. Since we stayed at the hotel because it advertised the fantastic harbor view, it was very disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAFamilyOf5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear CAFamilyOf5,

I would like to thank you sincerely for taking the time to share your experience and feedback with us and future travelers. I am thrilled to see you took advantage of HarbourView Inn’s convenient location and found our accommodations to comfortable. However, it is our goal to provide a flawless experience to all of our guests, and I am saddened that we could not meet all of your expectations. Our dining options are rather limited with our space so we do not have a full service kitchen. We are proud to serve a complimentary continental breakfast that features pastries from a local bakery as well as breakfast parfaits, cereal, bagels, fruit and beverage options such as coffee, hot tea, milk and juice. For the best views, we recommend our HarbourView and Grand HarbourView rooms. Also, great views are found on our rooftop terrace and our main lobby.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation in Historic Charleston. We would be happy to accommodate you in the future. Please contact me directly if I may assist you in any way and it will be my pleasure to assist you. We send our best to you and your family in California.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We so enjoyed staying here in December for a few nights. Lovely rooms. The beds are so comfortable. Peaceful and quiet at night. We could actually enjoy a nice night of sleep compared to other places we have stayed. Breakfast is included w/ your room rate. They offer wine, cheese and crackers in the evening. No bar at the hotel but there are plenty of bars nearby off property. Also, no closets (only an armoire w/ small closet space). It suited us just fine and was plenty of space for our needs. Nice balcony and view of the harbor. We stayed in room 401. Lovely gas fireplace in the room. Loved being near the elevator (it did not disturb us in the least). The staff was very friendly. I would give this property a A+++ rating.

Room Tip: We loved room 401. 4th floor is their highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cchilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Cchilton,

Thank for your A+++ rating of the HarbourView Inn! On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and future travelers. We are thrilled you enjoyed our complimentary services, our cozy accommodations and our convenient location in Historic Charleston. We hope to accommodate you again in the future, and we send our best to you and your family.

Please contact me directly if I may assist you in any way and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The location is sensational, Valet is worth having, Breakfast was very nice. The room we stayed in is worth 400 per night, i think that was a bit to pricey, Staff was excellent, accommodating and helpful. No pool, bathrooms are not 5 star. Ambiance is great.

Room Tip: No pool. No restaurant at hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOLDY1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear GOLDY1958,

I am happy you took the time to share your review with us and future travelers of Historic Charleston. On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate your kind remarks of our personal service and all of our complimentary amenities and services. Although we do not have the space for a pool or a restaurant, we are glad to see you took advantage of our ideal location which is walking distance to dining, attractions and shopping. We hope to accommodate you again in the future, and we send our best to you in Atlanta.

Please contact me directly if I may assist you in any way and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Property: Harbourview Inn
Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing