We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and Elegant with a personal touch!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming and Elegant with a personal touch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived.......it was perfect! Raining....pulled under the valet garage, and entered the Inn. Very prompt and friendly check in process. We left something in our vehicle, and went down to the garage. The valet was not there....but the manager was in his vehicle leaving. He stopped, got out of his car, and went back in to personally service our needs. The all day refreshments, wine and cheese reception, afternoon tea service and evening cookies and milk, over the top!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Deborah T,

I am delighted that you found the HarbourView Inn to be a charming and elegant experience while vacationing in Historic Charleston. On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate you spreading the word of our specialized services to future travelers, and we are happy you enjoyed all of our complimentary services. It is great to see you had an efficient check in process despite some rainy weather, and I have the hard working service team and management to thank for such great work. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and we send our best to you in the equally delightful and Historic St. Augustine.

Please contact me directly if I may assist you and it will be a pleasure to help.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,566
    272
    62
    22
    12
See reviews for
343
1,115
39
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Harbourview Inn is a gem!
My sisters and I recently stayed at the Harbourview Inn to celebrate my 50th birthday. The staff were so welcoming and hospitable. Upon entering my room, I found a bottle of sparkling wine, chocolates and delicious chocolate covered pretzels. What a welcome!
From the evening wine and cheese, bedtime cookies and milk to the morning breakfast, the staff were attentive and eager to please. The first night, the box spring on my bed broke, causing a saggy mattress and poor night sleep. Drue, the manager, repaired the bed himself and then credited $100 to each of the rooms in my reservation.
In addition to the expert staff, the hotel is lovely. There is a quaint sitting area that is perfect for visiting . And the newly renovated bathrooms are a plus!
Finally, the location is perfect. The hotel is located across the street from the harbor. In the morning, we watched the dolphins while drinking coffee. All of the sites and restaurants are within easy walking distance.
Charleston is one of my favorite cities. The Harbourview Inn is my new favorite hotel in this charming city. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The rooms with a harbor view are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nashville_TNJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Nashville_TNJill,

Happy belated Birthday to you! It was a pleasure accommodating your friends and family during your birthday trip in Historic Charleston, and I am always happy to try my hand in the maintenance department. I am thrilled you enjoyed our perfect location, our unbeatable views and the complimentary amenities and services. A very special thank you for complimenting the hard working HarbourView Inn service team, who is the greatest asset in delivering such quality experiences. I know they appreciate your kind remarks. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future and we send our best to you in Nashville.

Please contact me directly if I may assist you and it will be a pleasure to help.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I recently had a group of 70 or so people stay at the Harbourview Inn last week. I can't express to you how wonderful the experience was and the high quality guest service we experienced. I worked with Sabrina to help plan the trip and she was amazing. She was always happy to answer any questions and reccommended great tours, places to eat, and travel accommodations. I didn't hear one complaint from our guest about the hotel. The view was amazing as well as the Tempur-pedic beds! I would highly reccommend anyone to stay and this hotel. You can not beat the location and hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Kristina C,

On behalf of our entire team, we sincerely appreciate your kind remarks regarding your groups stay at the HarbourView Inn. I know there are many choices of hotels in Historic Charleston, and we are privileged to have provided accommodations to your group. I am happy everyone enjoyed our convenient location and views that only HarbourView Inn can offer. Also, I would like to send a very special thank you for complementing our hard working Group Rooms Coordinator, Sabrina. She is a great asset to our team, and I know she appreciates your kind remarks. We hope to accommodate you or your entire group again someday! We send our best to you in Kentucky.

Please contact me directly if I may assist you and it will be a pleasure to help.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Very nice place with friendly staff. The breakfast was great and delivered to the room. Large rooms, perfect location for enjoying the market and local rooftop bars. The other perks of refreshments in the lobby throughout day and evening were also nice.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather008_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Heather008_1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and future travelers of Historic Charleston. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate the kind words and we are all happy you enjoyed our complimentary amenities, the accommodations and ideal location in Historic Charleston. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and we send our best to you in Jacksonville.

Please contact me directly if I may assist you and it will be a pleasure to help.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Professional and friendly, the cheerful staff of this wonderful mid-size hotel are always ready with helpful suggestions, local knowledge and smiling faces. Make sure to enjoy the complimentary wine and cheese daily at 5pm, either in the lobby overlooking the water or on the roof top terrace with it's panoramic views of downtowns' church steeples at sunset. The terrace is also a fine place to enjoy your delicious breakfast and morning newspaper if you prefer dining al fresco to your room or to the lobby by the fireplace. The rooms are inviting, comfortable and clean with modern amenities such as a small refrigerator, high-def TV, wifi and luxurious bedding. Located on historic Vendue Range, the Harbourview Inn is steps away from the waterfront park and around the corner from the city's best restaurants, shopping and the most wonderful Colonial era homes and cobblestone streets of the Battery and French quarter, Downtown's finest location staffed by friendly and efficient professionals make for a relaxing stay. All of that, afternoon tea, milk and scrumptious cookies before bedtime and M&Ms in the lobby; what a special and wonderful treat!

Room Tip: I've stayed in the lowest price room and also one of the Harbourview rooms with the fireplace an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wavus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Wavus,

I am overjoyed that you have shared your wonderful experience of Southern Hospitality with future visitors of Historic Charleston. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate your kind words regarding our complimentary services, our cozy accommodations and our ideal location and views that only the HarbourView Inn can offer. I send a very special thank you for commending our hard working service staff, whom without we could not deliver such quality experiences. It would be a pleasure to accommodate you again in the future and we send our best to you in the Big Apple.

Please contact me anytime and it will be my pleasure to assist in anyway.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrews, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Awesome location - right downtown on the harbor with parks in front of the Inn. It's also within a few blocks of fabulous restaurants, the shopping at the Market and the famous King Street!
Awesome room - very spacious and comfortable bed!
Awesome amenities - We LOVED the cookies and milk at night!

Room Tip: Harbour view was awesome! We were on the 1st floor and could hear the traffic outside, especially w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaraMerritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear KaraMerritt,

I cannot thank you enough for this glowing review, and we feel honored to be part of your special occasion! On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate you sharing your experience with us and future visitors of Historic Charleston. I am happy you took advantage of our ideal location and enjoyed our complimentary services and cozy accommodations. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and we send our best to you in Andrews.

Please contact me anytime and it will be my pleasure to assist in anyway.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Good room, good location and a very attentive staff made our stay very pleasant. The staff in particular was friendly and helpful, Specifically Sabrina and Lisa went beyond normal expectations to provide assistance and guidance during our stay. Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saulk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Saulk2014,

I am thrilled you had a great stay at the HarbourView Inn while vacationing in Historic Charleston. I sincerely thank you for complementing our hard working service team, who is the most valued asset in delivering quality experiences to our guests. It is always thrilling to see a team member applauded by name, and I know Lisa and Sabrina appreciate your kind words. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and we send our best to you in Illinois.

Please contact me anytime and it will be my pleasure to assist in anyway.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Property: Harbourview Inn
Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing