We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel-location great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely hotel-location great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We recently stayed two nights at the Harborview Inn- would definitely go back. Great staff, very friendly and accommodating. Our room was really comfortable. Roof top nice but not extraordinary but they do have a complimentary cocktail hour which is nice! We've been to Charleston a few times and this a great spot, great location, walkable to many places.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Robin S,

On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we thank you for all of your kind remarks regarding our cozy accommodations, complimentary services and our ideal location and views that only the HarbourView Inn can offer. Furthermore, I thank you for commending our friendly service team who is our greatest asset in delivering a quality experience. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and we send our best to you in Cincinnati.

Please contact me any time, and it will be my pleasure to assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,564
    271
    62
    22
    12
See reviews for
343
1,113
39
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had a very nice time at this hotel, and would return. The room was comfy and clean. Loved the mattress and pillows, they were not the typical lumpy bumpy kind at a lot of hotels.
2 things bugged us given the high cost. There's no breakfast room, so they give the option of delivering the food to a few locations. We had it delivered to our room. The problem is that you have to decide by 11pm, what time you want delivery and what you want. This didn't work for us. We like to wake when we feel like it, and not have to make choices the night before. Having said that, we had no complaints with the food.
The roof top patio has no view of the Harbor unless you stand in one corner and peer over the concrete wall! There's no view while sitting on the sofas or at the tables. This was really weird given that we were told several times to make sure we visited the roof for the wonderful view.
Neither of us could fathom this. The best comfy view of the Harbor is from the 2 chairs facing out in the reception area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lizzyloopy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Lizzyloopy59,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and future travelers. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate the kind remarks and we are thrilled you enjoyed our cozy accommodations and our services. For our On-The-Go guests that do not want to be held back by a breakfast delivery time, we offer a continental breakfast buffet in our Atrium each morning with fruit, pastries, juice and coffee. Furthermore, our rooftop terrace's view may be hindered when sitting and enjoying our comfortable patio furniture, but the terrace does offer a beautiful view of the Charleston Harbor and the many inspiring views of historic Steeples and Spires. Moreover, we hope you enjoyed Historic Charleston and we hope to accommodate you again in the future. I send my best to you and your family in Philadelphia.

Please contact me any time, and it will be my pleasure to assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Only stayed for 1 night but thoroughly enjoyed. The room was large with nice seating and a comfortable king sized bed. The shower controls confused us a little. The bathroom was large. Everything was clean and modern. We faced Vendue St. and the noise kept going until about 11:00 P.M. but not too bad. Everyone was very friendly.

They have milk and cookies in the later evening. There is wine, crackers etc at 5 and a great rooftop terrace to enjoy them. Breakfast was delivered to the room and was very good. The terrace overlooks the harbour with a great view. The hotel is accessible to almost all attractions with little walking.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caribbeancrazy243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Caribbeancrazy243,

It is so great to have such a nice review from an experienced traveler. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, I thank you for taking the time to share your experience with future visitors. I am glad you took advantage of our location in Historic Charleston which places one only a block away from some of the best restaurants and walking distance to shopping and attractions. Also, I am happy you enjoyed our beautiful views and our complimentary services. We hope to accommodate you again during your next visit to Historic Charleston. We send our best to you in Winnipeg.

Please contact me any time, and it will be my pleasure to assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairsville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed two nights at the Harbourview. The staff was incredible from the bell hop, the front desk, and the cleaning staff. Each person that my husband and I came in contact with were so friendly and willing to go above and beyond to make our stay as nice as possible. The room was fantastic. I have absolutely no complaints. We will definitely visit this hotel the next time we are in Charleston. Couldn't be happier!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Shawn M,

I am thrilled you found the HarbourView Inn to be simply the best. On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate you helping spread the word of our specialized services to future visitors of Historic Charleston. I would like to sincerely thank you for commending our hard working service team who is the most valuable asset when it comes to delivering a quality experience. We are happy you enjoyed the cozy accommodations too, and we hope to accommodate you again in the future. We send our best to you and your family in Georgia.

Please contact me directly any time and it will be my pleasure to assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The rooms are clean and well maintained. Every employee we dealt with was friendly and helpful. The rooftop patio is a great place to relax. There's a beer store 5mins walk from the hotel so pack a small cooler and head on up to the rooftop. Breakfast delivered to the room or patio is another great amenity. My kids loved the complimentary M&Ms and cookies. I liked that we were walking distance to everywhere.

The only ding I can give is the AC seemed to have two modes - cold or hot. It wasn't much of an issue for us but your comfort level may vary.

The "could improve" is they could install a few extra towel hooks in the bathroom. When a family of four share a bathroom, space is needed to hang up the towels so they dry out (and they are nice, thick towels). We ended up gettng new towels daily because no one wants to use a damp towel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear John B,

I am pleased you shared your experience with us and future visitors of Historic Charleston. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate your kind remarks and we are thrilled that you took advantage of our ideal location and enjoyed our complimentary services. Moreover, a very special thank you for complimenting our hard working service team; I know they appreciate your commendations. Also, I am happy to report that as part of an update we will renovate our bathrooms and swap out our existing thermostats with digitally controlled thermostats. Thank you for this 5 star review despite these few issues which will help in our dedication to continually improve our services. We hope to accommodate you again and we send our best to you in Raleigh.

Please contact me directly any time and it will be my pleasure to assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The location, down by the waterfront in the French Quarter is terrific and the staff are very friendly. There are some nice amenities, like valet parking, an evening wine and cheese reception and a continental breakfast delivered to your room that are included in the room rate. The tempur-pedic mattresses are unbeatable. The evening rooftop lecture by a local historian - which coincides with the wine and cheese reception - is wonderful. So why am I giving this hotel only three stars? Aside from the great mattresses, the physical property seems like a well-appointed Holiday Inn. All the extras don't make up for the fact that it's an ordinary hotel charging extraordinary prices.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pwrstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Pwrstr,

I thank you for taking the time to share your candid review with us and future travelers. Our guests’ feedback is most valuable in our dedication to continually improve our services. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate your kind remarks regarding our friendliness, and we are thrilled you took advantage of our valet parking and enjoyed our views and convenient location in Historic Charleston. Also, we are glad you enjoyed the cozy accommodations and the complimentary services such as our Skyline Tour. I know our local Historian, Brian with Charleston Sole, will appreciate these compliments. Furthermore, we are in a peak season and I can assure our rates are competitive with other local hotels. I would recommend a slower season such as late summer or December and January for the best available rates. We are lucky to have favorable weather most of the year. Also, I do believe you would be pleased with our upcoming updates including bathroom renovations, and we hope for the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future. We send our best to you in Washington DC, and please do not hesitate to contact me anytime. It will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The rooms were very nice, employees friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, wine and cheese, and cookies and milk. The location is excellent, putting you within walking distance of so many things. Definitely check out the rooftop views at sunset and sunrise. A few problems though.....one of the lamps in the room didn't work. Another was a three way lamp but only had a single voltage bulb in it. Annoying. The tub drain was very, very slow. The thermostat didn't seem to work well as the room was alternately too hot and too cold. The pillows are also awful. That said, this is an outstanding hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Christy N,

On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate you sharing with us your experience and feedback. I am thrilled you enjoyed our accommodations, complimentary amenities and ideal location. Moreover, I thank you for your kind remarks of our hard working team, who is the greatest asset in delivering quality experiences. I know they appreciate your commendations. Additionally, your feedback is most valuable in our dedication to continually improve our accommodations and services, and we thank you for sharing this with us so we may notify the proper department to improve in these areas. We hope to accommodate you again in the future so we may showcase our upcoming improvements such as updated bathrooms and new thermostats.

Please contact me directly any time and it will be my pleasure to assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,688 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Property: Harbourview Inn
Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing