We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2008

A girlfriend and I were on a business trip in Charleston and stayed at a different property in Mt. Plesant.. On Thursday, we transfered to the Harborview Inn for an extra "Girls Night Out" stay. We had a wonderful experience. We arrived prior to check in and the resort stored our luggage until our room was ready. They gave us a walking tour map and told us they would call as soon as the room was ready. That was right after lunchtime. The whole experience was top notch. From the wine and cheese cocktail hour to breakfast delievered to our room. The bagels were stil hop on delievery!!!!!

Since i have returned home, I have talked about the hotel to anyone that would listen. I will definately be returning again!!!!

PS - go to Cypress for the Lavendar Martini... it's heavenly!!!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bagspacked2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVIGM, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2008
We are excited that we could help make your “girls night out” a wonderful experience. If you arrive early, the staff is prepared to store your bags and valet your car so that you do not have to waste any time and miss out on all the great activities within walking distance of the hotel. The wine & cheese hour is a great time to share experiences with other guests or relax in your room or on the terrace to enjoy a magnificent sunset. Then, to top it off you can have breakfast in bed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,593
    274
    62
    23
    12
See reviews for
349
1,135
39
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2008

We were so thankful when the staff at the SC Welcome Center showed us the brochure on Harbourview Inn. When we called to see if there were any available rooms, Bert at the front desk did a fabulous job taking care of us and getting us exactly what we wanted. On arrival, our bellboy, Cody took our bags and made sure we were settled in our historic, beautiful and very comfortable room, as well as parking our huge van--a pretty amazing feat! They took great care of us and were very polite and friendly. The Harbourview Inn took an ordinary night and made it an extraordinary one to remember.

  • Liked — the old historic rooms and period furniture
  • Disliked — they didn't have sweet tea but that was minor. :-) Everything else was great.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MagyarMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVIGM, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2008
We are thankful that you all decided to stay at the HarbourView Inn when you came to Charleston. The front desk and bell staff always try to accommodate all guests’ needs. We are glad they took great care of you and made your trip extraordinary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2008

We came for just a weekend but we wished we could have stayed longer. This hotel is just great for the location and also for the staff who were so nice and helpful. I would stay here again especially for the cookies and milk at bedtime.

We would highly recommend this hotel.


Mr and Mrs Dennis Flosnik Pittsburgh Pa

  • Liked — Location and Staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GinaPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVIGM, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2008
We are very pleased and thankful for staying with us at the HarbourView Inn during your trip to Charleston. The staff appreciates your comments regarding their demeanor and helpfulness. We hope you can stay longer on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop
Level Contributor
235 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Harbourview for four nights in October 2008. This was the first time we had visited South Carolina and the break was sandwiched between a couple of weekends in Washington DC. The difference between the two locations was immense.

It is a long time since we have been anywhere in the world where the local inhabitants are so ready to make eye contact with you leading immediately to a welcoming smile. Downtown Charleston gives a perception of safety and security which is not common in 2008.

The hotel is brilliant: we give top marks for comfort, service, cleanliness and location. The thought that has gone into providing the little extra touches as standard is commendable. In four days we queued for nothing, obviously their business plan provides the correct amount of resource and service for the number of guests and they do not cut corners by understaffing. Having said that, the quality of staff and their attitude to making sure guests have a great time cannot be beaten, but is something to which other hotels must aspire.

Charleston is a walking city, with a little help from the inexpensive public transport system. I suggest you try out the water taxi across the harbour, the guys there throw in a doplhin watch for free.

The other tours arranged from the visitors' centre are varied and I think it unlikely that you will not find something for you in the immediate vicinity of Charleston.

The main disadvantage of the Harbourview is that it is more than 3500 miles from home, so it is unlikely to become our regular weekend retreat - pity!

  • Liked — service
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Blot57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVIGM, Assisatant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2008
We are so thrilled that your first experience in Charleston exceeded your expectations. Charleston does deliver a true sense of southern hospitality. The city is atop the list of friendliest cities in the U.S. We are very pleased that you were pleased with the HarbourView inn and its service standards, comfort, and cleanliness. We do strive to deliver an unforgettable experience to all of our visitors and guests through ‘little extras’ and attention to detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basking ridge ny
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2008

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. The harbor and fountain so pretty. It is so centrally located you can walk comfortably anywhere in town. We spent the night of the 24th of October, the day of 8 or more inches of rain and the valet was helpful getting us a cab and navigating the flooded streets. A very nice breakfast...which is delivered to your room at the time you desire. Also nice wine and cheese...we took it to the rooftop to watch the harbor. Will definetly stay here again.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank carol_a_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVIGM, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2008
Thank you for staying with us at the HarbourView Inn even though it was flooding. The Bell Staff are always prepared for a challenging situation. They are still able to help even when it floods. It’s not called the ‘Low Country’ for nothing. It’s great to hear that you did get to experience the open-air rooftop terrace and its amazing views during the evening wine & cheese reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, GA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2008

We just spent a lovely night at the Harbourview Inn in Charleston, SC. We had a beautiful room with a magnificent view of Charleston Harbor and the lovely waterfront fountain and park. The service was very friendly and helpful, from the valet parking attendants, to room service to the front desk/concierge. The location was much better than we expected, just off East Bay in the historic district, with many fine restaurants nearby. Shops, galleries and sights were within easy walking. The waterfront park is lovely and provides a nice walk along the harbor. The accommodations were first rate and this boutique hotel is lovely. We hope to go back soon!

  • Liked — the location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gwfishn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVIGM, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2008
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the HarbourView Inn. The staff strives to be as helpful as possible with guests and their needs. Being located in the heart of the historic district of Charleston is an added bonus; especially if you feel like taking a short stroll through the park, out on the pier, to nearby shops and art galleries, to fabulous restaurants, and multiple historic sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2008

When my sister in law turned 40, we knew we had to pick somewhere special. Although we'd never visited Charleston, the HarbourView Inn looked ideal. From the moment our valet , Jack, took our keys we knew we were in the right place. Bert was especially helpful with resteraunt, lounge, and sightseeing locations. His cheerful personality, charming banter, and forthcoming reviews were ideal to a group of 4 women looking to have a relaxing vacation. Robert was very respectful and professional when checking us in and out. We highly recommend everyone try this location. We were able to walk everywhere, run in the morning, and look out over the harbour. Gorgeous!

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank buterboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVIGM, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 2 November 2008
We are so glad the HarbourView Inn was chosen to be the special place for your sister-in-laws’ birthday celebration. Our staff strives to make all guests’ visits as special as they can. They are great with helping to make dinner recommendations/reservations, book tours, or answer any questions about historic Charleston. If they do not know the answer, they will find out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#11 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Property: Harbourview Inn
Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing