We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in lovely Charleston!”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We had booked at least six hotels in advance of our first weekend getaway to Charleston after reading reviews and guidebooks that indicated there were almost too many good options. We finally narrowed it down to the Harbourview Inn because of its proximity to the Union Pier Passenger Terminal, as the primary reason for our visit was for Harborfest, the tall ships festival. We canceled our other reservations and hoped for the best, and that's exactly what we got:

Outstanding location across from lovely Waterfront Park, quiet and peaceful with a panoramic view of the harbor, yet only steps from the bustle of Market Street shopping and Bay Street restaurants.

Understated elegance in the public areas and rooms (the larger historic wing room, where we moved to during our stay, took our breath away). Tempurpedic beds!

Staff who bent over backward to accommodate us and ensure our satisfaction.

The most complete "continental" breakfast we've ever had, delivered to the comfortable atrium lobby, the privacy of our room, or the rooftop terrace.

Coffee and tea available in the atrium lobby.

Milk and cookies (several varieties!) in the lobby every night.

Afternoon wine and cheese -- we didn't even take advantage of this, but I imagine it's divine!

We even checked out the other hotels we had considered, and confirmed that we had absolutely made the right choice.

There is no better hotel in Charleston!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2009

We are so glad that you chose the HarbourView Inn after all your research and planning. The Harborfest weekend turned out to be a very exciting time in Charleston. We are grateful for your review of the hotel and all it has to offer. Hopefully, next time you will get to make it to the wine and cheese reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,066)
There are newer reviews for Harbourview Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,802 - 1,808 of 2,066 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2009

HarbourView Inn was a lovely find for my husband and me. There are many hotels, inns and B & B's in the area, but we could not have picked a better location or finer place than HarbourView. It is within easy walking distance to shops, dining and historic sites. The view was spectacular overlooking the fountain, pier, bay and Waterfront Park. We planned a trip to Charleston to celebrate our Nation's Independence, so we were more than thrilled to find that Patriot's Point was right across the bay; and from our vantage point in our room, we, not only were able to watch the spectacular fireworks on display there, but also the displays from neighboring small towns and islands. The rooms are nicely appointed with comfortable four-poster kind beds, flat screen t.v.'s, robes, fridge, safe, and I-Pod dock/alarm, just to name a few things. I was impressed with their on-demand hot water and wonderfully chilled rooms. They offer breakfast to be served where you choose, whether it be in your room, atrium or rooftop (which also offers a lovely view). Be forewarned, they do not offer eggs. Their service is impeccable from their timely and thorough housekeeping to their most acccommodating managers. The entire staff was excellent -- professional, courteous, helpful, friendly and just plain kind. We never had to wait long for any service, and the staff seemed to anticipate our needs. In this day and age where attitudes and service seem to be on the decline, HarbourView's staff and service were priceless. The computer and printer in the main lobby was an added bonus and made obtaining our boarding passes a breeze. I do highly recommend this Inn to everyone, and you can be sure we'll be back! Just in case there are any doubters out there -- no, I was not pressured into giving this review and will not hide behind the anonymity offered by Trip Advisor -- Christine Powers, Bethany, Oklahoma.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthernTravelerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2009

We appreciate your review and all of your comments of the HarbourView Inn. We are very pleased that you chose to spend the holiday weekend in Charleston. We are even more pleased that you had such a great experience at the HarbourView Inn. We look forward to your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

While this was not my first visit to Charleston, it was by far the best largely because of our wonderful experience at the Harbourview Inn. Our room was beautiful, spacious and the beds were fabulous! I slept better than I do at home! But what really made our stay so pleasant was the attention we received from the staff. After a long drive, we pulled up to the Harvourview and were greeted by Joseph, who with enthusiasm and great humor, got us and our belongings promptly inside. At the front desk Michael had us checked in quickly and within minutes I was in my beautiful room with a glass of wine! Over the next few days I was so impressed with the staff. Bert was so helpful with any needs we had and even the manager, Tyler, was attentive to us. The Harbourview is in a wonderful location, is beautifully appointed and with such a fabulous staff, I will definitely stay there on my next trip to Charleston!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsgo3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2009

We are very proud that your stay at the HarbourView Inn was the best stay you have had in Charleston. We hope you will return soon, so that we can make your next trip even more wonderful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

It's a given that the beautiful downtown Charleston, SC backdrop is enough to make any trip worthwhile, however, the facilities & services offered by HarbourView Inn are second to none. The location of the hotel in the heart of the tourist district works very well for any that want to park the car and forget about it, however, location is not everything. The welcome treatment that we receive by the HarborView staff puts this hotel as our #1 choice when visiting the city. Bert Griggs & Michael Bligen in particular have always gone out of their way to assist both my family and our companies' guests that we accomodate at HarborView. I would recommend HarbourView to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blink722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2009

We are very grateful for your comments regarding the HarbourView Inn and the wonderful service you received. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

This was the first time for my wife and I in Charleston, and the stay was exceptional. The location was excellent if you are interested in local shopping and eating well. The room met all of our expectations and the service was top notch. Bert and Joseph were exceptionally helpful as they both went beyond the call of duty to make our stay very memorable. They were both extremely helpful in answering our questions and catered to our every need. My wife and I will definitely be visiting again. BTW....the view of the fireworks from the harbour can not be be beat from this location on July 4th.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukeus_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2009

We are thrilled that you chose to stay at the HarbourView Inn for your first visit to Charleston. It is great to hear that you had an exceptional stay and that you enjoyed the fireworks over the harbor. Thank you for your review and we to see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

When my husband and I decided to visit Charleston, we knew we wanted to stay right in the heart of the town. The Harbourview Inn was exactly what we were looking for. It looked absolutely beautiful on their website, but to our surprise, was even more beautiful in person! From the minute we stepped out of the car, we were greeted by the most welcoming hotel staff I have ever encountered. Robert, the bellman, was extremely polite and professional. Bert and Tyler at the front desk were the most educated front desk staff I can honestly say I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with! They went above and beyond to make sure my husband and I got the most out of our short stay, recommending restaurants, parks and other events going on around Charleston that we would have not known about if it weren't for them! I can't say enough about the welcoming staff. The room was absolutely beautiful, charming and very comfortable. There is no doubt that next time we go back to Charleston, we will be staying at The Harbourview Inn again!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alyost37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2009

Thank you for your gracious comments regarding the hotel and the staff. At the HarbourView Inn, the staff members all strive to meet and exceed all guests’ expectations. They will take care of you from check in to checkout. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

This was our first time staying at the HarbourView Inn which we selected after doing plenty of research and reviewing a lot of online reviews. Thankfully we chose the HarbourView Inn, which was very highly recommended and it met and exceeded all of our expectations! All the staff that we encountered were very professional and extremely helpful. They are a classic example of ‘Southern Hospitality’. The hotel and our room was in great condition, my compliments to the housekeeping and maintenance staff.

We also really enjoyed the opportunity to meet other travelers at the 5:00 p.m. wine and cheese event and loved the fresh baked cookies and milk that was offered in the evening. Our breakfast in the morning was exactly what we needed, the breakfast staff were so friendly.

The next time that we are looking to stay in Charleston, we absolutely will return to the HarbourView Inn!! With no hesitation, we highly recommend the HarbourView Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2009

We are glad you chose to stay with us at the HarbourView Inn for your first visit to Charleston. We are proud to have exceeded all of your expectations and we hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,877 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,773 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £207 - £454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing