We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality at its Best!!!!!”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Although January was the coldest month for Charleston, the warmth inside the Harbourview Inn was excellent. Dru helped to make this stay one to remember. We were so impressed that we booked rooms for my husband's 65th birthday in March. Our two sons, ages 21 and 29 came along for the celebration. In fact, the oldest one was so impressed with this place that he is booking it for his birthday in April. The front desk was extremely helpful with reservations for dinner as well as booking a private carriage ride on Friday, Jen, Jason and Sara were so helpful to make our stay memorable. Friday night we returned late but they had saved us cookies for the room. It was nice to be greeted by name each time we returned or telling us to have a good time when we left. The wine and cheese social was good but this time it was even better than January because we were able to go on the rooftop and enjoy the view. Breakfast was served on time in your room. We are planning to return in December and hope to see all four of the staff that we have enjoyed. I only hope that the management realizes what an asset these employees are. We have traveled throughout the US as well as Europe and have found the customer service here to be the BEST!!! Although the hotel is small; it is big on the service it provides.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tiggerkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2010

We would like to express our gratitude for you choosing the HarbourView Inn during your recent visit to Charleston. Thank you for your comments and review of the hotel and the staff. We are excited about your return in April.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,747 - 1,753 of 2,115 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2010

The assistant manger was of great service to me and his staff was incredible. Jason was very helpful in planning activities for my wife and I. We highly recommend staying at the Harbourview Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeremy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2010

We appreciate your gracious review of the HarbourView Inn. We are pleased to hear that you received great service and that you would recommend the hotel to others. We hope your family will be able to return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Booked hotel after on line searches for hotels/inns, restaurants, sights, etc. Wanted a place for far flung friends to meet and catch up. The front desk staff--Jen in the AM and Mathew PM were incredibly helpful in reviewing and planning/reserving our daily events/sights. The atrium/lobby amenities--breakfast, wine/cheese, ccokies/milk--and service were wonderful. Staff remembered all our names after the first meeting. Rooms were immaculate and very pleasent. Would highly recommend to a friend and stay again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cathleen48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2010

We are excited that you found us after searching for the perfect place for you and your friends to all come together and catch up. We are pleased the staff was helpful with your daily planning and activities. Thank you for your kind review. We are already awaiting your next visit to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Not inexpensive but our room was quiet, well located as requested, bed linen 1st class, breakafast in the room nice and on time. We recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geraldjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2010

We are grateful for your review and recommendation of the HarbourView Inn. The hotel is located in a quiet location off the beaten path but within walking distance to all of Historic Charleston. We hope that you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

The gracious service from the arriving to departing will make this a special spot for us. Jen the front desk clerk was outstanding in service & arranging for dinner reservations. Our room was spectacular with a view of the harbor & well accomodated with King size bed, desk, table & 2 chairs for relaxing. Breakfast was delivered promptly as requested & servings were quite ample. The valet parking was an added bonus as well as the covered parking area for the vehicles. The Harbourview Inn is truly a vacation spot to enjoy & a must to return to. We will highly recommend this very special Inn to our friends & neighbors.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stella1SouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2010

We are thrilled that we have become a special spot for you in Charleston. We are here to make sure you are taken care of and can help with making any arrangements you may need prior, during, and after your stay. Thank you for the kind review and recommendations. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

We were absolutely delighted that we had selected the Harbourview for our stay in Charleston. It has a four diamond rating from AAA, which is well deserved. The accommodations, the location, the views and the service were all exemplary. All of the staff were friendly, responsive and professional. They were all a pleasure to deal with, but we would specifically point out Jen, at the front desk, who was most accommodating to us in dealing with a problem we had. Every so often, there was a strong odor of cigarette smoke coming through the vent in the bathroom. Jen checked herself and confirmed the problem and had the appropriate staff check it out. She was attentive to our situation and professional in her approach. Although the cause could not be determined, an accommodation was immediately forthcoming. Overall, we had a wonderful time and look forward to future stays at the Harbourview. It has wonderful charm and niceties and is a jewel of a hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler2191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2010

We are also delighted that you chose the HarbourView Inn for your stay in Charleston. Your comments regarding the hotel and staff are greatly appreciated. We are a non-smoking hotel and are sorry that you had to experience the smell of someone smoking during your visit. We hope that you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We visit Charleston a couple of times each year at least, so we've stayed at several places. This was the first time for the Harbourview Inn. The location is one of the best, with everything in walking distance AND right on the water. Most other downtown hotels are not within sight of the water even though you can still walk to restaurants and shopping. The thing that makes this hotel stand out, though, is the incredible hospitality from everyone who works here. Your comfort and well being genuinely seem to matter to everyone here. The features of the hotel were great as well, like the in-room breakfast and the wine and cheese (and they pour a generous glass of wine!). Be sure to check out the view from the roof - spectacular!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bloomingidiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2010

We are very grateful for your review and comments regarding the hospitality of the HarbourView Inn staff. Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your most recent visit to Charleston. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,956 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 62 in Charleston
2,888 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,476 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,284 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 62 in Charleston
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £188 - £451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing