We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of All Worlds is the HarbourView Inn in Charleston, South Carolina!”
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
554 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“The Best of All Worlds is the HarbourView Inn in Charleston, South Carolina!”
Reviewed 30 March 2010

An excellent hotel with exceptional service!!! Centrally located to historical sights, shopping, and great restaurants--all in walking distance. Our family of four stayed in a room with two queen beds. Lots of room for all of us to be comfortable, and a huge bathroom. The staff (Jen and Drue) at the front desk helped us with many questions (dinner reservations & directions) always with a smile. Jack helped with our car and suitcases, also was so very nice. The extra, unexpected touch, in our room for our anniversary was wonderful. Hope to return again to Charleston soon, and stay at our "favorite" place!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OregonExplorers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2010
We are very proud to be your new “favorite” place in Charleston. It sounds like you had a lovely family vacation. The staff always strives to go above and beyond to assist the hotel’s guests with anything at all. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,620
    276
    64
    24
    12
See reviews for
355
1,154
39
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, Cheshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We stayed at the Harbourview for 3 nights whilst touring the southern states.
The hotel is in a fantastic location next to Waterfront Park and a short walk to many excellent restaurants. The trolley stop right outside means that it is very easy to get round all the sights.
The hotel is spotless with high quality furnishings. The staff were efficient and friendly. We found the early evening cheese and wine session was a great way for guests to meet and chat.
The breakfast choice was fine. As there is no breakfast room we opted for having breakfast in our room though we would have chosen the roof terrace hadf the weather been more reliable.
Without doubt though it was the location of the hotel that made our stay in Charleston so memorable.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayBee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2010
The HarbourView Inn is centrally located so that everything in Historic Charleston is accessible. We appreciate your review of the hotel in regards to the friendliness of the staff and the amenities the hotel offers. We hope that you will return and we will see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

This is not a hotel really, it is just a bunch of suites run by a small reception desk on the second floor. There is zero atmosphere to this inn.. There is no restaurant, no welcoming lobby per se. The rooms are build off of a very modern carpeted balcony, so again there is no charm or atmosphere. We booked a suite at over $400 a night and while the suite was nice, it was not in any way exceptional and in fact the bedroom area could really just fit the king bed. As there is no restaurant, our included breakfast was typical holiday inn express type food - some cold bagels and orange juice, or a hard boiled egg. Yuck!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johncaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2010
We would like to thank you for your comments and review of the HarbourView Inn. It saddens us that you were not satisfied with all that the hotel and staff offer. We hope you will consider staying with us again and give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

My friends and I travel to Charleston every year for the Cooper River Bridge Run. We have stayed in many different hotels but after our stay at HarborVeiw, we will never stay anywhere else again. They spoiled us! ! Two weeks before we were scheduled to arrive, Drew called from the front desk to confirm my reservation, inquire if he could make any dinner reservations for us and wish us a safe trip to Charleston. We arrived ,to a beautiful property on the water, and were greeted by very helpful bellmen. When we checked in, Jen and Sara both, were pleasures to interact with, extremely helpful and so accomadating to EVERYTHING we asked for. We had a vegatarian traveling with us so we were unsure of what restaurants we should go to, they made reservations at several restaurants, printed the menus, gave them to us so we could make a choice, then followed up with us when we forgot to tell them where we wanted to go. One friend had business to conduct, they have a computer and printer in the lobby so she could print out contracts and then they faxed them at no charge.

The breakfast delivered to our room each morning was excellent and such a treat when you are traveling. I cannot not recall the girl's name who brought our breakfast every morning but she was so cheerful and always pleasant to any request we had. When checking out our bellman took our bags and loaded the car perfectly.

I could go on and on about our fabulous experience but upon check out we rebooked for next year. I won't stay anywhere else in Charleston again. Thanks to all the staff, we had an excellent experience! Can't wait till next year!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hawkscrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2010
The Cooper River Bridge Run is always a great experience in Charleston. We are glad we had the opportunity to host and spoil you during your stay in Charleston. The HarbourView Inn staff are always willing to help plan any meals or activities for the guests. Thank you and we hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

We arrived at 2 in the morning after two horrendous flights. The staff was exceptional, the room exceptional, the location, exceptional. Throughout our stay the attention to detail was meticulous. The complementary breakfast delivered to our room was lovely. I can't say enough about the staff and facility. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hap2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2010
We are so glad you that you had the chance to enjoy yourselves at the HarbourView Inn after such a horrendous journey. Thank you for you kind remarks regarding the staff and the hotel. We will be awaiting your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Have stayed here many times. Wind and cheese at night is great. Right in the middle of EVERYTHING but just off the beaten path. Jen at the front desk was super!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PopnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2010
We want to thank you for your review and for continuing to come back and stay with us at the HarbourView Inn. We always enjoy hosting our repeat guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conover, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

If you're looking for a hotel with great ammenities and top notch service, then choose the HarbourView Inn hotel. It's location is perfect in the downtown Charleston area - within walking distance to all attrations, including the market and the aquarium. They have turn down service, afternoon tea, wine/cheese late afternoon and cookies and milk at night! And they bring breakfast right to your room everyday! The staff is very friendly and helpful. The only downside is that there is no workout facility on site, but they do have access (at $16/day or $30/wk) to a facility down the street. But if you're into walking/running, there are plenty of places to go right outside the hotel doors. Oh, did I mention they have memory foam mattresses! Amazing!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank krobb303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Assistant General Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2010
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the HarbourView Inn for your trip to Charleston. We are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy all of the complimentary amenities the hotel has to offer. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,797 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,097 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
415 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Property: Harbourview Inn
Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing