We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adams Style / Federal Architecture”

Joseph Manigault House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$26.00*
and up
Charleston’s Old South Carriage Historic Tour
More Info
US$21.99*
and up
Historical Charleston Tour with Optional Joseph Manigault House Visit
Ranked #45 of 241 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic mansion that is open to the public.
Parrish, Fl
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Adams Style / Federal Architecture”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Originally built in 1803, this home has both simplicity & elegance. It has a curving central staircase. The tour guide was good in giving us a nice historical prospective on who the Manigault's were and their contribution to Charleston's history. I was a little disappointed in that the tour is only 4 rooms.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Runner60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    92
    43
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful home, so-so tour”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Really beautiful home, but the tour was short and not the most interesting of the tours we did in the city. Our guide was knowledgable but not super enthusiastic or interesting. I kept finding myself tuning out. I would have really loved to see the third floor, but it was off limits. The house is a lot smaller than it looks!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trav3lKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Naive historical references to lives of the slaves”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

When the issue of slavery was raised on our tour today, the guide told us the slaves were treated like family. It was also as if this Charlestonian felt she had to be defensive about the past history. Meanwhile, there are statistics such as the following regarding the lives of slaves at the Manigault plantation: "Ninety percent of the children died before they reached age 16. And this estimate doesn't take into account stillbirths or miscarriages. Between 1846 and 1854, there were 52 slave births at Gowrie and 144 slave deaths, for a net loss of 92 African Americans. In spite of this loss in "capital" (the dead slaves were worth at least $44,000), Gowrie still managed to yield a 4% return on investment between 1848 and 1854. And this was not unusual. Why did so many slaves die? The answers are simple – poor health, poor shelter, poor food, and brutal work."

In many tours I took the issue of slavery was glossed over but to state that the family treated its slaves like family is perverse. These tour guides should read about the Grimke sisters account of slavery during their years in the South, etc. They are naive in the extreme.

The house is interesting but the full lives of those who lived there should be fairly treated.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Traveler6608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Another great historic home”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I think the thing we found most interesting about this home is the Gate Temple entrance in the yard. Something we've never seen before. The home itself was lovely. Small in comparison to some others that we toured in Charleston, but no less lovely in its day, I'm sure. The guide was knowledgeable and pleasant. We toured the home as part of the Heritage Passport, which I recommend. :)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bgsualum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rude guide”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Before beginning to tell of the home I must say that the tour may have been better if the guide was nicer. This lady was harsh and rude!!!! She treated us as little children snapping at adults and children alike if they appeared not to be paying attention to her. She tried to make me leave my backpack in a room telling me how heavy it was (it wasn't) and that I would be hot carrying it. After going back and forth with her about me not leaving my back pack we were finally able to proceed with the tour. Afterward it was brought to my attention by someone in the tour that she possibly thought I would take something. smh (glad that didn't cross my mind at the time we were debating about it).

Now the house itself was very interesting (aren't they all). I love the details of the house but would have loved to see more. There was no information given on the grounds other than the little markers on the ground denoting where certain things were (stables, privy, etc. . . )

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joseph Manigault House also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Joseph Manigault House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing