We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“You can spend all day here.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Plantation & Gardens

Magnolia Plantation & Gardens
Ranked #17 of 226 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: South Carolina's Most Visited Plantation and Gardens. National Registry of Historic Places. Ancient Oak Avenue. Tours full of History. World Famous Gardens of the 19th Century "Romantic Style". Selected by Travel + Leisure (2014) as the only South Carolina garden deemed one of "America's Most Beautiful Gardens". Reconstruction Period Plantation Home Tour. Award Winning Slave Cabin Tour. Very popular Nature-Train Tour. Rice Field Boat Tour. Family Oriented. Petting Zoo and Nature Center. Audubon Swamp Self-Guided Tour. Amazing Nesting Rookery. If you have only one Plantation to see, don't miss us!
ooky57
Level Contributor
185 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“You can spend all day here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

A great example of a southern plantation and the history behind it -- there is a tram ride with the history of the slave cabins, a narrated boat ride around the swamp near what were the rice paddies, a walk through the swamp on a trail, a petting zoo with peacocks running around the picnic tables, and the house tour. The original house is no longer there -- for those who care, since it was burned during the war -- but it is still an interesting house more than a century old with an interesting family history.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ooky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,035
    1,330
    523
    168
    66
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Toured Magnolia Plantation today. The gardens and grounds are beautiful. We did the nature tram tour, slave cabin tour and house tour. It was very educational. Expect to spend the entire day there. I liked that when you arrived and paid for your chosen tours they set your Itinerary for you.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gardens are Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Magnolia Plantation was well worth the side trip, the gardens where such a great change from the more formal gardens at other plantations and historic homes. There is so much to see and they seem to go on forever. The Magnolia Plantation is very pet friendly and my dog loved the walk through the gardens and seeing the animals in the pastures.Just did the Gardens and Audubon Swamp tours but the house looked inviting to also add to the tour but you are asked to care your pet through the house understandable. Not easy to care an 75 lb Labradoodle though.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't miss the petting zoo!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Okay, so I am 44 years old and the best part of this place was the petting zoo. Not because the rest of the plantation is not interesting and fun. But, because the animals in the petting zoo are so tame they will let you hug and kiss them! A deer licked me all over my hands, let me kiss it's face, and followed me around like a little puppy. A small rooster jumped off a fence post onto my hand and let me kiss and hug it. Numerous peacocks that will eat right out of your hands. Amazing for animal lovers. Also has informative tours of slaves quarters, the main house, gardens, and the swamp. Nice place to spend the day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlustutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Plantation history and gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Visited after long time, plantation house tour excellent full of info, guide was excellent, knowledgeable friendly..then went I too gardens, the map was confusing, and markers as well...gardens were not as we'll kept as expected, but it has rained...still agreat afternoon

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank richardlong30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magnolia Plantation & Gardens also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Magnolia Plantation & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing