We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual Sunday evening church service”

St. Michael's Church
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.00*
and up
Story of Charleston Walking Tour
Ranked #12 of 233 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Charleston's oldest church has been tolling its bells on the hour since 1764. Dynamic Downtown Worship in the Anglican Tradition
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Casual Sunday evening church service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We were not able to attend church in the morning so I looked for churches that had an evening service. St. Michael's offered a low-key, casual and lovely service, with beautiful guitar and piano music, a thoughtful sermon, and an obviously faithful, dedicated community. Thank you, St. Michael's, for opening your doors to tourists who need and want to worship when they travel. We were happy to worship with you.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Van_Dutch_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    141
    12
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hickman, CA
Level Contributor
189 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“George Washington Prayed Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Wow, what a gorgeous and welcoming church! We stopped in for a visit on an historic walking tour and got to sit in pew 43 where George Washington prayed for his troops. Don't miss the cemetery out back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KniteRiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
548 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 595 helpful votes
“Serene St. Michael's Episcopal Churchyard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

We were doing a self-guided walking tour along Broad Street in Charleston, when we happened upon St. Michael's Episcopal Churchyard. The gate was open, so we entered and immediately a serene calm compelled us to be very quiet as we walked the narrow paths between the graves and family plots.


Many of the founding fathers were interred here, including the Pinckney family. The church has beautiful stained glass windows. This was a break for the real world around us.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank magic_carpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

One of many places not to miss.This is jammed packed with so much history. I loved the cedar box pews there. You will want to make a stop here and appreciate the beauty of the exterior and interior.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoadKing8084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
1,015 reviews
826 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,775 helpful votes
“Architectural masterpiece”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

On Good Friday, understandably I couldn't tour the church, but an usher informed me of a virtual tour at StMichaelsChurch.net. Located at 71 Broad Street (843/723-0603), it's close to Nathaniel Russell House, where the usher suggested I visit. I wasn't dressed appropriately, thus I did not stay for services, but I toured the grounds. On my next Charleston visit, St. Michael's will be my first stop.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanMurphy2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Michael's Church also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to St. Michael's Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing