We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of charm, beautiful rooms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1837 Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lots of charm, beautiful rooms”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Loved the beautiful rooms of this B&B - we stayed in the room 3-1 - and it was just gorgeous. Check out the website - the pictures don´t lie at all, it is just that romantic. A little worn of course, but it just adds a lot of charming character. There are more fancy placed around town, but nothing that compares pricewise. And you truly get the Charleston-experience when sitting in the rocking chairs at the porch with a cup of coffee in the morning, just enjoying summer in December!

The location is great - you can walk to everywhere in town. But then again, as long as you stay in the downtown area, you are pretty much able to walk most places. But its location fours blocks from the main roads of King and Meeting is great, and we walked everywhere.

The staff are great - helpful and friendly, and really making you feel at home. Two things preventing a better score overall; The wifi did not work in our room - it just would not connect to any device (and we have several). And the breakfast - while served with great stories and friendly smiles - could have been simpler for our taste. Don´t really need the rather interesting pinapple and cheese tart in the morning, but could have done with just some toasts/freshly baked bread, jams and fruits. Great with coffee to take out on the porch however.

Room Tip: The room 3-1 was beautiful - just like the pictures at the website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    103
    36
    9
    9
See reviews for
46
269
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baldwin, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Great location, walking distance to all activites in Historic district. Staff a bit "cool" at times, owners very helpful and friendly with great recommendations. Breakfast predictable but hearty, coffee, not to our liking...would be nice to have a flavor-free choice. Rooms small but nicely decorated. Air conditioner loud and full of dust and mold...some areas of the inn seemed a bit dusty and dated but overall an OK stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nurselauraHammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

1837 Bed and Breakfast is a fabulous find. Yummy breakfast every morning. Very comfortable rooms/beds. Close walking to all of historic Charleston's shops, dining, and other attractions. You will find the friendliest and most helpful owners and staff here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa28787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Overall: Excellent location and a house with character, but substandard accommodations in terms of comfort. For a slightly higher price you could find a much nicer place to stay.

Pros:
- Excellent location; close to central downtown (however, some reviews have noted it's across from a fraternity (?) house -- we did have a few drunk girls singing for 5 minutes under our window on Saturday night, but nothing major, and there's likely to be things like that anywhere downtown)
- The house had a lot of character.
- The concierge (i.e. girls recently graduated from, or still in, the local college) was nice and helpful.

Cons:
- Biggest con was the uncomfortable bed. Caved in where you rolled and caused backaches. Rock hard pillows that reminded me of airline pillows.
- They went cheap on the "nice" touches -- the bathroom soap, the shower head, etc. The ironing board was tiny, which was a problem since we were trying to iron a suit for a wedding - it was one of those "half boards" that we had to balance on our suitcase; iron had to be borrowed from downstairs.
- Do not book this hotel if you have any trouble with stairs or getting in and out of tubs. This wasn't a problem for us, but there were steep stairs going up to our room, and the bathtub was a clawfoot, very narrow tub that was very hard to get into and hard to stand in. I nearly fell getting out of it, and I'm pretty athletic (I run ~30 miles a week).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPecas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

good starting point to explore Charleston's historic district. we had the room upstairs (carriage), bathroom very small - but still, we liked it very much. breakfast dish changed each day, each day something delicious. also teatime between 4 and 5 pm.

Room Tip: upstairs small bathroom, but two rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, SC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I just stayed in the 1837 for the first time in October. It's a very pretty historic building in an area that seems mostly inhabited by students from the College of Charleston, located only a couple of blocks over from King St. My husband and I stayed in carriage house room 1. It's a very tiny room (but I knew that from reading other reviews), but nicely furnished. The thing I liked least about it was the shower. It's one of the rooms with just a shower (sans bath) and it is TINY with a capital T. You can barely move around in it. The parking situation is tight as well. Beware if you have a large vehicle (we didn't, but the car parked right in front of our door barely left room for us to maneuver to get in and out). Despite these small drawbacks it was an overall nice situation. The staff and owners are very friendly and the inn itself is beautiful. The location puts you in walking distance of everything--a definite plus. Would I stay here again? Maybe, if I were to book one of the bigger rooms with a bath in the main house.

Room Tip: Unless you want to shower in a tiny box, pick a room with a full bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookstoregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prosperity, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I've stayed here several times and loved it each time. The beds are supremely comfortable, the breakfast very social and excellent, and the innkeepers friendly & helpful. It is probably the best value in Charleston while keeping a historic air. It is always my first choice when in town. I would add it is great for couples also but since I must choose one 'sort' I will choose solo since I was made to feel very comfortable even while traveling by myself.

Room Tip: I love the rooms in the front either the 2nd or 3rd floor - both are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,780 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
950 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Indigo Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
990 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1837 Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1837 Bed and Breakfast

Property: 1837 Bed and Breakfast
Address: 126 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1737
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa: 1837. Our quaint 9-room South Carolina B&B features open piazzas, rocking chairs, a joggling board, and plenty of southern hospitality. Enjoy beautifully appointed and intimate accommodations in a cotton planter's home and brick carriage/kitchen house. Included in your stay is a full and delicious complimentary breakfast. Our freshly prepared breakfast is served in the dining room or on the piazza. Our central location in the historic district of Charleston, SC, provides easy walking to shops, antique and art galleries, the old market, and Charleston's finest dining. Our daily afternoon tea time features freshly prepared refreshments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1837 b&b
1837 Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing