We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two Night Stay in April”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashley Inn
Ranked #13 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Two Night Stay in April”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The location on the edge of the downtown area suited us perfectly as we could walk into the historic area. The Inn provided an excellent welcome, comfortable accommodation and memorable breakfasts. The afternoon refreshments out on the veranda were a very nice touch. If we return to Charleston we shall certainly use the Inn again.

Room Tip: Avoid the small double room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn M, Manager at Ashley Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
It is always a pleasure to have visitors from other countries visit our historic Inn and city. I am glad we had the opportunity to share your trip! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you return!
Safe Travels!
Lynn Mumau
Chief Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    98
    30
    14
    10
See reviews for
45
182
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I booked the rooms from looking at the Ashley Inn online. I always use Trip advisor for direction when we travel and it was right on again. We arrived late and called ahead. Someone was waiting and was most gracious - giving us keys, information and suggestions. We stayed (2 couples) in the carriage house and it is wonderful. The air conditioning was great, and everything was clean and decorated very traditionally. It was like having our own home in Charleston. I always travel with a sound machine, so, I heard no noise at all! It isn't right down by the shopping (could walk but I have a bad knee) but we had our cars and parking is everywhere downtown. Barry came by at breakfast each day and he is like a walking encyclopedia. He was great. The service and friendliness made you feel like you were actually staying with friends. Breakfast was great - I just loved the french toast and would love to have some now. My husband is a 2 eggs, potatoes and toast kind of guy - although they didn't have potatoes, they made him eggs and toast with fruit and that was great for him. I have nothing but good things to say about our stay at the Ashley Inn and would stay there again when in Charleston!

Room Tip: If you are with more than one couple or with family - stay in the Carriage House - We loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GailW3422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn M, Manager at Ashley Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Your review is greatly appreciated! The carriage house is perfect for two couples! We strive to make our guests feel at home and treat everyone like family. Please stay with us when back to Charleston
Many happy returns!
Lynn Mumau
Chief Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadview, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Wife and I had a very enjoyable stay at the Ashley. Breakfast each morning was delightful and the days entree superb with the option to have your choice of standard dishes. The rooms were nicely adorned with traditional furnishings, air conditioning and TV. Staff was friendly and always available to suggest sights to see and eateries to try.

Room Tip: Stairs in this 1830's home are steep, so book lower floor rooms if climbing stairs are difficult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vern F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAPERVILLE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Ashley Inn was the perfect place to stay for a long weekend in Charleston. Breakfast on the porch each morning was scrumptious and relaxing with wine and snacks in the afternoon after a busy day was wonderful! We stayed in an upstairs room with access to the 2nd level porch which was a great place to sit in the morning with a cup or coffee or enjoy wine and conversation in the afternoon before heading out to dinner. It's a bit of a walk to the historic district but not too bad and parking is easy to find if walking is not your thing. We would absolutely stay at the Ashley Inn again!

Room Tip: The 2nd level rooms with access to the porch are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DONALD L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Ashley Inn was a nice place to stay while we wandered around the beautiful city. It was not too far from the peninsula, so you could walk around pretty freely. We rented a car, and there was parking, but be forewarned that it's quite tight. I wouldn't recommend anything larger than a sedan. The rooms were very clean and tidy.

We stayed in room 5 which boasted the shared terrace. We were excited to spend some time out there - but unfortunately the inn was almost fully booked and other (louder) guests made themselves quite comfortable out there. We did bring this up with the staff, but it's difficult to ask people to share "shared" space. The second floor was pretty quiet, but for the hospital and fire trucks throughout the night. If you don't sleep well in a more city setting, I might not recommend.

The breakfast food was pretty good, but not what I would call gourmet but still nice. The fruit and yogurt option was nice and light though.

The beds were spring mattresses, they were fine to sleep on.

In all, this was a pleasant stay and it was a great price for the pricey area. We just wish we had a little quieter stay, but in all it was still very nice for location, cleanliness, and value.

Room Tip: Stay in room 5 if you would like an room with the shared terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMyrick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Here's the gracious living one hopes for in a great Southern town like Charleston. The 19th C Inn captures the feeling with this lovely restored home in an area away from the tourist-packed center. We took the Inn's bicycles out for a tour of the residential streets and down to the Battery on Charleston's waterfront. Two wonderful meals were enjoyed just a block or so away at the Hominy Grill and the Lana. Take time out on the "piazza," the locals' word for the porch that wraps around many of the old houses on the first and second levels. Very pleasant place for meeting other visitors. Owner was on hand to make sure everyone had what they wanted. A sister inn is around the corner, the Cannonboro. If the House and Garden Tours are running, be sure to sign up. This was a highlight of our visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the Ashley Inn the last weekend of March. It was a very nice stay. The reason we decided on the Ashley was mainly based on price, full breakfast, free parking, and TA reviews. We were in room 5, which is on the west side of the residence. It was fairly quiet, except for the air ambulance as another reviewer noted, and it was very busy the first night we were there which was a Saturday.

We rented a car to drive to the beaches and plantations, but when we wanted to do something in the Historic District, we just walked, usually cutting through the College of Charleston campus.

The breakfast were good, with the southern eggs benedict probably being one of the best breakfast dishes I have ever had. The french toast was very good as well, only miss was the scrambled eggs and ham, but the grit cake was a first for my wife and I and we both enjoyed it. My wife, not being a sweets person, did not care for the crepes, and wish there was a third option of maybe just a basic egg and bacon breakfast for those who don't care for the main entree nor are fans of yogurt, which is available as an option.

Twice the owner, Barry, came by during breakfasts and shared some interesting historical stories about the inn and surrounding neigborhood.

The afternoon wine was also a hit for us, though we only did it twice.

If we go to Charleston again, I would not hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillinfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
Indigo Inn
#16 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Inn

Property: Ashley Inn
Address: 201 Ashley Ave, Charleston, SC 29403-5810
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful historic inn (C. 1832) Located in the residential historic area of the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Ashley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing