We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barksdale House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barksdale House Inn
Ranked #11 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

I saw the other reviews of this place complaining about the age of the inn, the service, etc, so I wasn't sure what to expect. However, what I found was you get what you pay for at this particular inn. In other words, the Barksdale House Inn is a great place to stay if you want a clean, inexpensive, great location in downtown Charleston. If you want all of the extra ammenities that other high priced inns offer, then you need to be willing to pay for those ammenities and not expect the Barksdale House Inn to provide things you aren't willing to pay for.You don't pay for all of the benefits that some people complained about not having on trip advisor, so don't expect them. However, the Barksdale House Inn is clean, is a great location, and the people who run it are friendly and welcoming. They allowed us to park in their lot before official check in time, brought our puppy a bowl of water while we decided what to do and made us feel completely at home and welcome. The Barksdale House Inn is a wonderful place to stay at, and as long as you aren't expecting high priced ammenities, then I recommend staying here.

On another note, it is an especially great place to bring your four legged friend because it is only $10 a night and they are kind and welcoming to your pet and they don't make you feel like you are inconveniencing them at all by bringing your pet.

Room Tip: We were in room 5 and it was large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolasmama11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    191
    75
    28
    15
See reviews for
56
300
28
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lille, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This was my first trip to Charleston and I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The Barksdale is located between King Street and Meeting Street in the Ansonborough district, a 10 minute walk from the market. The area is quiet (July, so no students around) and secluded (very little street or foot traffic on George Street) and parking is free and on site (a MAJOR plus in Charleston). I wills say that the Barksdale is located just next to a more contemporary apartment building which more than likely houses students. The rooms on the left side of the Inn face the balconies of this building, and noise during the school year might affect some light sleepers. That being said, no other B&B or hotel, in my opinion, offers this exceptional location at this price.

The Inn itself is pre-Victorian, but doesn't lack anything contemporary. The bed (room 8) was a bit on the small side (I am 6'3") but comfortable. The air-conditioning worked, which in July is a must-have. The bathroom was clean and functional. WiFi is free, maybe a bit slow, but it's not as if I am conducting business from a B&B, just checking out maps on my iPhone. I have zero complaints about the building, the staff or the services provided.

Anyone on this site who complains about the state of the premises, what is offered for breakfast or the overall quality of this establishment has far too high of a standard for hotels or bed and breakfasts, especially considering the cost of staying here vs. the cost of staying in a contemporary hotel in Charleston. Personally I could not, nor would not, have asked for more from my stay here. I would come back anytime and recommend this to any friend or family member if I have the chance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This was a cute and quaint B&B in the heart of it all. We walked everywhere which was perfect. We stayed in Room #1. It was super spacious and had everything we needed. The only thing to be aware of is that this is on the first floor near the front door and lobby area where breakfast is served, so it can be a little noisy in the morning. The breakfast on the weekends is great! Eggs, bacon, muffins, grits coffee and juice and fresh fruit. Great way to start the day and save a little money by not having to go out to eat. I would definatley come back and reccomend!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, SC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

The best part of my stay was the location...within walking distance of the College of Charleston and other wonderful features of downtown Charleston. The parking is free too! The back garden and porch area is a peaceful hideaway. The rooms were clean. The building is older and in need of some cosmetic work, however the modern necessities of A/C, wireless, and plenty of hot water were all provided (the work that was needed was not a big deal to us). I will definitely stay here again - I have already recommended the Barksdale to other college parents while we were there!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

This was our first B&B experience and we were very impressed!! We loved the history of the house and friendliness of the staff. Location was perfect, close to shopping, restaurants but still felt quiet and cozy. Easy walk to Battery Park, Rainbow Row, and the Market. Free parking was an added bonus - we will definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bkp2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Loved this place, so old and homey. The breakfasts were wonderful and the verandah on the garden with the fountain was a lovely place to eat and start the day. We were on the third floor and our room was large and comfortable. The air conditioning was just right and not at all noisy. The only problem we encountered was that stairs were the only way to reach the room. That was sort of a problem when you're older or have any sort of health issues. I wouldn't just run down to get a cup of coffee in the morning because I'd have to take my inhaler to get back upstairs. Also my husband carried all our bags up and really hurt his back doing it. We were later told that the front desk person could have done it. She said she could help us, but did not. This put a real damper on our stay there because my husband could barely walk around and is still limping. When we left, the help did carry our bags down for us. So just remember third floor means climbing stairs several times a day and don't be shy to get one of the girls at the front desk to carry your bags up for you.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were beautifully decorated and large. I think I would base my room choice next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We were a little nervous after reading some more recent reviews after booking our Room #12; I emailed about the previous review of the room and were told the cleanliness issues had been taken care of, and they had been. I did notice the dirty grout and cracked tiles on the floor, they didn't bother me too much, being from New York City and seeing a lot of old bathrooms . . . given the price.

Our room in the carriage house was more spacious than I expected (yay!), with huge closets. The bed was comfortable and we felt the air conditioning was at a good level (didn't notice excessive noise per another review) and we had the option of a ceiling fan in the room as well. The wi-fi also worked fine in our room for the majority of the time and we used it quite a bit. TV was good too. Free parking was a major perk. We almost didn't leave the lot the whole time there.

We enjoyed the continental breakfast (we weren't expecting much) on the cozy porch/with the fountain outside. The baked item each day was tastey and fruit was good. We happened to be back for the afternoon treat from 4-5 each day - cheese/crackers/fruit one day and cookies another with sweet tea and sherry. Not outstanding, but still a treat for the budget traveler.

So, overall, no real complaints; we were happy with our choice to stay at Barksdale Inn. I would recommend the less expensive rooms here for sure. Although I haven't seen the other rooms, if I were intending to pay more, I'd probably choose another B&B in the area, anticipating some more southern hospitality and higher quality amenities/upkeep.

P.S. Barksdale Inn should offer tissues in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walta5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,686 reviews
Indigo Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barksdale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barksdale House Inn

Property: Barksdale House Inn
Address: 27 George St, Charleston, SC 29401-1433
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Barksdale House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barksdale House Inn, built in 1778, is your home away from home while exploring the city of Charleston. Located within the historic district of downtown Charleston, we are within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, tourist attractions and Market Street. This Inn offers 14 rooms with en suite bathrooms, complimentary breakfast, newspaper, wireless access and complimentary parking to get you ready for your day exploring our beautiful city of magnificent homes, gardens, and parks along with Charleston's unique southern hospitality and history.All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Barksdale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barksdale House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing