We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elliott House Inn
Ranked #29 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Rodeo,Ca
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

On our first trip to Charleston we needed a room for two nights. The Elliott House Inn fit the bill. The Inn staff is friendly and very informative about where to visit while in town. The pool is small but the delivered continental breakfast is great. This breakfast is either delivered to your room or the relaxing courtyard. The rooms have all been remodeled with a very comfortable but high four poster bed, large flat screen TV and beautiful furnishings. The Inn has a lovely couryard that they also serve wine and cheese dailey around 5pm till 6pm. There are several good restaurants in the area 82 Queen St next door and Hust on the other side. Go right out of the Inn to the corner turn left for about 1 1/2 blocks tio Toast a wonderful restaurant with great food at great prices. I hope to return to Charleston and will definately stay at the Elloitt House Inn. Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk for a room further from the street, they are very accomidating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timdean3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Thank you for your complimentary words about The Elliott House Inn. Thank you, for pointing out how wonderful the staff was from arrival to departure. The Elliott House Inn location cannot be beat when it comes to historic tour destinations, to shopping, to casual and fine dinning restaurants. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we look forward to being your host again next time you are in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    219
    117
    51
    22
See reviews for
63
574
30
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I chose to stay here during my first trip to Charleston. The moment I pulled up, it was everything I expected and more. Beautiful exterior architecture, wonderful staff, terrific location for couples and families alike. Close to the water, carriage rides and all the best restaurants. Great price as well. Saved a ton on cabs by staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JP80206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Wow! Thank you for wonderful comments. I’m extremely honored that from the time you arrived to the time you left that you felt truly welcomed. We are overjoyed that you enjoyed the helpful staff, we are very fortunate to have them apart of our team. As always, we look forward to you staying here with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

If you want the BEST of historic Charleston, this is the place to be. It is a historic structure, where the rooms recently underwent major updating renovations. The hotel is centrally located one-half block from "the" intersection of the major streets and immediately adjacent to the best of the restaurants, tourist attractions, and shopping for which Charleston is famous. The narrow, two-lane, one-way street in front of the hotel has limited traffic and, consequently, traffic noise is not a problem. The small number of individually appointed rooms in this boutique hotel assures that you will have something "new" each time you visit. For those touring surrounding attractions with a car, this hotel has something that virtually all Charleston hotels lack -- lots of parking available in a multi-level garage, which is located directly across the street.

Room Tip: My favorite room is number 14. Be sure to ask for it. You will be glad that you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoGolfTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about The Elliott House Inn. I’m glad to see that you enjoyed the recent renovations that Elliott House Inn has gone under. Also, as you stated the location cannot be beat. As mentioned, the parking right across the street is ideal, because you can leave your car and walk wherever you want. The parking lot across the street is just a mere twenty dollars per day. Once again, thank you for your gracious words about Elliott House, and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okatie, SC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed at the Elliott House for three nights during restaurant week. They offered a special discounted rate that couldn't be beat by any other place in the city. Our room was on the second floor of the courtyard. While it was small, it was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. They serve a simple breakfast in the courtyard or delivered to your room. You can't beat the location of this inn and you can walk to everything in the city from here.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2dineoutOkatie_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thank you for choosing The Elliott House on your trip to Charleston. Restaurant week is a great time to enjoy all of Charleston’s best restaurants. We hope you will visit again on your next trip! We would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My wife and I are just finishing up a 5 day/4 night stay here at the Elliot House. It has been wonderful and we wouldn't hesitate to return to this inn for our next trip. The staff is very helpful and the inner courtyard is sooo beautiful and relaxing. Complimentary breakfast is brought to your room or in the courtyard daily. The beautifully landscaped hot tub has been used by my wife and I every day! You can't beat the location here as you are steps away from awesome restaurants like Husk, Poogans Porch and 82 Queen Street. Around the corner is King Street and non-stop specialty shopping for blocks on-end. Its a short scenic walk to Rainbow Row and the Battery area.

I can't imagine a better location in Charleston. Our room was so comfortable and quiet. The bed was especially comfortable.

You must plan a stay here soon.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room and tucked in a corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thank you for your kind words about The Elliott House Inn. We are incredibly lucky; our location in the historic district is just steps away from all of Charleston’s best historical sights, restaurants, and shopping. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the courtyard and the relaxing Jacuzzi. We would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently during a much needed long weekend getaway, and was overall very pleased. We got a great rate through a Groupon type deal which made it even better. As other reviewers have noted, there really isnt a good place to load/unload your vehicle. I didn't find this too bad because the parking deck ($20 Fee) is literally directly across the street. We parked our car when we arrived and never touched it again until we left which is one of our favorite things about Charleston. The location was perfect and within an easy walking distance to everything the city has to offer. The few things that were a little too far away was an easy, and free, trolley ride away. The rooms were recently remodeled and were fantastic. The decor was a perfect blend of historic Charleston and modern convenience. We particularly enjoyed that we had windows on both sides of our room. As an upper level room near the front of the Inn, we had a direct view of the restaurant deck located beside us. I thought this would produce a high noise level at night but we never noticed it. It was acutally a little fun peeking out the window and seeing what the food looked like next door lol. Overall, the Elliott House Inn was just what we wanted for our accomodations in Charleston, a quaint historic inn in a perfect location. We will be back!

Room Tip: Upper level rooms avoid the bug problems other travelers have noted. Upper level rooms near the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations. Our location does make it easy to see everything that Charleston has to offer. The free trolley does make getting to those few places that are just a bit too far easily accessible, especially in that hot. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotia, New York
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Our room was beautiful; four poster bed, armoire, nice linens, big bathroom, and clean to perfection. The bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast delivered to your room. They also provide a wine and cheese hour in the early evening. The location is great as well. If you want to eat at Husk, a fantastic restaurant, it's right next door. And to park the car overnight in the garage across the street, only twenty dollars!
If possible, ask for a room away from the street. We were in room 27, right on the street, and it was noisy in the morning. Also, oddly enough, the towels were a bit scratchy.
We would stay at the Elliot House again the next time we visit Charleston.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about the Elliott House Inn. Room 27 like all the rooms at The Elliott House Inn, it is unique with its own individual characteristics. As you mentioned, we are located centrally between two wonderful restaurants, Husk and 82 Queen. The breakfast is a wonderful amenity, because it will not fill you up, but it will give you the energy you need to explore the “Holy City.” I’m glad that you espoused the idea of returning back to The Elliott House Inn, because we always enjoy seeing familiar faces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 62 in Charleston
1,574 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 62 in Charleston
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#35 of 62 in Charleston
586 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 62 in Charleston
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elliott House Inn

Property: The Elliott House Inn
Address: 78 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 26 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel
Elliott House Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing