We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Elliott House Inn
Ranked #29 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Powell, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My home away from home”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I go to Charleston often and have stayed several places but always come back to E-House! Location just can't be beat and courtyard and hot tub are big sellers! And the staff is the best. I have upcoming trip and sure hope E House has rate within my per diem as Charleston isn't Charleston with out E House! I am sure I have been at E House 20+ times and was so sad during the down time for renovation. 2x since reopen!, Welcome back EHI!!!

Room Tip: All are PERFECT. No going wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanfhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Nothing is more exciting than hearing and seeing from returning guests. As mentioned, the “E House” went under extensive renovations from 2009-2011. The inn has: new bathrooms, new floors, new furniture and bedding, new bicycles, and complimentary wireless. Thank you for coming back to the “E House” and we can't wait to have you back again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    219
    117
    51
    22
See reviews for
63
573
30
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We just stayed one night but completely enjoyed our stay and wished it could have been longer. Friendly staff, immaculate room, great bed...and right in the heart of the action. The front desk person (Mike?) was tremendous! With his advice for a one day exploration of a city so rich in history, our day couldn't have been better...now that's southern hospitality!

Room Tip: ask for a room that doesn't back onto the back door of the neighbouring restaurant...a fair amou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewandererCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your recent stay at the inn. The Elliott House Inn is in a perfect location to every place you would like to visit downtown. Even though we do not have a person name Mike on the staff, Neal is who I am assuming you are talking about, is a great person to talk to about a variety of different activities that one can take advantage of, also he does great history tours for our guest if you ask. Thank you, for taking your time to share your wonderful experience about your stay at the inn. We look forward to hearing from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

When the temps reach the upper 70s in SC it's a great time to get away to Charleston, SC. With the added bonus of restaurant week pair with a great B&B located on Queen Street, in downtown Charleston. So I called a great friend, grabbed my nikon d700 and packed the convertible. Several reason to pick Charleston, great food, history, on the ocean, and easy walk to every where downtown. The Elliott house is a great location for shopping on King street, walking to the battery, nightlife on Market Street and East Bay. And let's not forget drinks at the Vendue Inn rooftop!

Room Tip: Room service is offered via 82 Queen St. Which is located next door. No parking on site it parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment about your recent visit in Charleston. The weather in Charleston can be seventy degrees one day and 40 degrees the next, but no matter what the temperature we hope that you always find excellent customer service at our inn. The restaurants can be a tad noisy, but by requesting a room facing the courtyard much of that noise is not an issue. As you mentioned, we get room service provided to us by 82 Queen which is a magnificent restaurant located next door to the inn. Also, as mentioned we do not have any on site parking, but the lot across the street is twenty dollars for a twenty four hour period. Once again, thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

With a weekend getaway in Charleston during restaraunt week and with temps in the 70s, you couldn't want a better inn or location to be situated at. The staff at the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful with food recommendations that arent too touristy. The room was spacious yet intimate at he same time. While you do border some of the busier (and most delicious) restaraunts in the city, the noise tapers off by the time you get back in from exploring and starts up by the time you're ready to go in the morning. Definitely coming back!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Wow! Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the inn. The staff is a great source of information from tours to restaurants, or just pointing out spots that are off the beaten path. We do look forward to your next visit at The Elliott House Inn, and thank you for spending the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed for two nights, the staff is very friendly and welcoming, the location is ideal for shopping and eating and exploring downtown. There are a couple fantastic restaurants right on the same street! Our room was very quaint, nicely decorated, clean and the beds very comfortable. Our only complaint and its not one that the hotel can very well fix is the unexpected wake up call at 5am for garbage pickup - I would definitely ask for a room far from the street if you like to sleep in. Breakfast was good, very light continental - if your looking for something heartier definitely go out to eat. We missed the wine and cheese receptions since we were busy exploring but enjoyed the hot tub later in the evening. There is no parking at the hotel and if we didn't need a rental car for the rest of the trip we wouldn't have opted to have one since parking in the garage is $20 a day. Overall the EHI was a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the street as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athena15AlbanyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about your stay at The Elliott House Inn. First off, we do always enjoy hearing how well you were treated by our staff. The location of the property is ideal, because you are right in the middle of everything. As the reviewer mentioned we do not have any parking at the inn, but the lot across the street is twenty dollars for a twenty-four hour period. Especially during this time of the year, the outdoor heated Jacuzzi is delightful and numerous of our guests do take advantage of that particular amenity. Lastly, we are surrounded by some of the best restaurants in the United States and with the great location, come some early morning deliveries and pickups. The Elliott House has taken steps to mute out some of the noise, for example, thicker window installments. Also, when you book a reservation you are able to select between courtyard rooms and traditional rooms. The traditional rooms are facing the street, and the courtyard rooms are facing more in the direction of the courtyard. Once again, thank you for choosing us while you stayed in Charleston and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

A great location close to all you could want to see in the city. Great breakfasts served in your room or in the courtyard (too cold for us in December!). A very 'gracious' feel to the place. Neil, one of the front office staff took us on a 2 hour guided walking tour after his afternoon shift - he knows all you need to know about Charleston - great value too!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happylarry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Happy New Year to You! I am glad to hear your new year got off to a good start here at The Elliott House Inn. We are very lucky to have Neal as a part of our team, his tours are a very special treat for our guests and he caters them to meet the demands of who he’s taking on a tour, no other company can do that in Charleston! We hope to see you back again soon at The Elliott House Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.C.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We booked at the last minute at a very reasonable rate for Charleston and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was very helpful and concerned with our comfort. We enjoyed a soak in the jacuzzi pool and the complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoons. We've stayed in Charleston many times and this is one of the best combinations of location, comfort and service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank triptakerSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Thanks for choosing the Elliott House Inn. The wintertime is definitely a very economical time to come and enjoy everything Charleston has to offer. It is always great to hear that our staff was able to accommodate all of your needs, and that our accommodations met your expectations. We do hope you come back to stay with us on your next visit, please keep us in mind!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 62 in Charleston
1,573 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 62 in Charleston
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#35 of 62 in Charleston
586 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 62 in Charleston
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elliott House Inn

Property: The Elliott House Inn
Address: 78 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 26 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel
Elliott House Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing