We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Elliott House Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Harbourview Inn(Charleston)
US$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Andrew Pinckney Inn(Charleston)
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (899)
Filter reviews
899 results
Traveller rating
469
227
122
55
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
469
227
122
55
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesequeen streethot tubgreat locationparking garage across the streethusk restaurantpoogan's porchcontinental breakfastevening receptionhistoric districtbreakfast deliveredbeautiful courtyardeach morningwithin walking distanceenjoyed our staywalking tourdowntown charleston
Filter
Updating list...
743 - 748 of 899 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at the Elliott House. Can't say enough good stuff about the staff... everyone we encountered was exceptional. The Inn is everything we hoped it would be... quaint, cozy, perfectly located. Although we didn't have the opportunity to partake of the wine & cheese reception, it was nice to know it was available. We had read the reviews re: noise from the adjoining restaurants and early morning deliveries... we experienced none of that. Of course, our room was at the back of the property overlooking the courtyard. We also read of the musty smelling rooms... It's Charleston! It's humid! ;-) Room delivery on the continental breakfast is a nice touch! Yes, it's a very basic offering, but it is sufficient. You want more than that? Walk a couple blocks over to Toast. My only recommendation for the Inn would be to power wash the stairwells a little more often. They were looking a little rough. Want the rest of my wish list? Adding a full length mirror to the rooms would be helpful, and an in-room mini fridge would be awesome!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street... at the back of the courtyard!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank periphery10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

We appreciate you choosing Elliott House Inn for your recent trip to Charleston! How nice to read that you enjoyed the property and staff. Our team works really hard to provide clean rooms with great service and I’m pleased to see that we were able to meet your expectations. Please come back to visit, you are welcome anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Elliot House Inn was perfect! We had a charming room on the historic courtyard, well appointment and comfortable. Our in-room breakfasts were tasty, and when I discovered a mistake that I had made in my reservations, the staff bent over backwards to help me correct the problem. It is in a perfect location, near the waterfront, the historic homes "South of Broad", and great restaurants!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinKaren355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay in Charleston. The breakfast in bed option is a great way to enjoy your nice comfortable bed without having to lift a finger. The breakfast is a great way to start your day, because it does not fill you up but gives you the energy you need to get up and explore Charleston. I’m so pleased to see that the staff was able to help you enjoy your stay. The staff at the Elliott House Inn is always willing to answer questions about the city, so that you may see the best that Charleston has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The Elliott House Inn is a wonderful, quaint & quiet hotel. My husband & I loved the central location in Charleston. They are right next door to excellent restaurants and a block away from the restaurant where I had the best breakfast in my life! We were able to park our car in the parking garage across the street and never had to use it until we left. We were able to walk everywhere in Historic Charleston!

They have a lovely courtyard with palmetto trees and beautiful plantings. We enjoyed a glass of wine in the courtyard in the afternoon while waiting for a table at one of the nearby restaurants.

The room we stayed in was on the second floor off the courtyard and was very nice and had a very homey feel, and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept on! My husband has back troubles, and this is the first mattress we have slept on that we could agree on!

The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We wished we could have stayed in Charleston (and at the Elliott House Inn) longer, but if we go back to Charleston, we will definitely be back!

The only drawback was that I wished we had a small fridge to chill our wine and keep snacks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireHayesDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words about The Elliott House Inn. I’m so glad that the staff was able help you on your special occasion. The Elliott House is perfect for any type of event, because you are able to relax in our magnificent courtyard. The mattresses are very comfortable and are specially made for the inn, right here in Charleston. Also as you mentioned, the location is perfect for everything from shopping to history. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Very lovely inn right in the heart of historical Charleston! It has that small, intimate feel to it-- really pretty courtyard in the center. The room we had was very nice-- beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The hotel serves a small wine/cheese hour in the evening and also a nice continental breakfast to either your room or in the courtyard. Great location - right next to three good restaurants, and a close walk to all the highlights in historical Charleston. Also, convenient parking directly across the street. Definitely would go back and highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truemichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words about our beautiful inn! With us being located just steps away from some of the best dining in east and a city rich in history, it doesn’t get much better! Come back soon, we’d love to have you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The Elliot House Inn has some good, some not so good and a some less than not so good characteristics.

First the good: Location. It is right next to everything and next door to 3 unbelievably fantastic restaurants. People. The staff were fantastic and always friendly and helpful. The Beds. Wonderful memory foam mattresses.

Second, the not so good. The rooms. Unless you book a suite your room will be small and without character. The rooms are square small boxes with a bathroom tacked into one corner and an unusable balcony facing a parking lot. It is furnished with what looks like reproduction antiques but even then the rooms are unappealing.

Third, the less than not so good. Breakfast. The continental breakfast is your choice of a small day old soggy muffin from Safeway, Honey nut cheerios, a hard boiled egg from a jar or a frozen wheat bagel (now toasted). I am not joking. You are given the choice of sitting on the floor of your room to eat it, or sit in the courtyard while the businesses next door deafen you with the noise of power washers, leaf blowers and delivery trucks. Most of the people when we were there left their breakfast trays untouched and went out to a restaurant for breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a suite and go out for breakfast.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

I appreciate your candid review of our property. While I’m pleased to see that the staff and location met your expectations, I’m saddened to see the rooms and breakfast did not. We are constantly looking for ways to improve the overall guest experience and really appreciate the constructive criticism. While we may not be able to control the size of the rooms, we can certainly look at improvements with the breakfast, which is what we are currently doing. I encourage the author of this review to give us another try. I think you’ll like some of the changes coming down the pike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews