We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5th trip and probably won't be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Elliott House Inn
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“5th trip and probably won't be back”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We have been coming to the Elliott House for over 20 years off and on. We hadn't been for about 8 years and decided to go for a night for a quick getaway. It is a GREAT location, but for the money it is disappointing. Although the bed is very comfortable, you can barely turn around in the bathroom. Seriously, there is NOWHERE to put any toiletries at all. I actually had to put them on the couch right outside the bathroom and use the mirror out there also! They have "tried" to do renovations and tried to update the bathrooms, but to no avail. It is also very musty smelling. We will not be staying there again, unfortunately, which is sad because of our history at the Inn. Also, the staff was not very friendly at all, and breakfast was the bare minimum. We are trying the Meeting Street Inn in a few weeks because we have friends that have RAVED about it...we'll see!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
I’m sorry to read about your disappointing stay with us. While we can’t control the size of the rooms, I would like future potential patrons to understand that you are staying in a historic inn that dates back to the 1800’s. With that being said, smaller rooms and no closet space is expected here. I’m very sorry to read that the staff were not friendly to you. This is not a common issue that I’ve had to deal with, but please know that I will personally address this with every member of our staff. Our attempt at renovations turned out quite nicely! Renovated bathrooms, new wood flooring, new mattresses, new a/c units were all introduced to the property before we reopened 2 years ago. I would hope that the author of this review would give us another try while visiting Charleston. I understand that we may not be a good fit for everyone, but I would hope that after visiting EHI for over 20 years, you would reconsider your opinion of staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    211
    115
    50
    21
See reviews for
61
554
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here half a dozen times over the years and have always been satisfied. Location is great and staff is always professional. Parking is right across the street and you can pull your car right onto EHI to load and unload your car. This stay was a little different in that we have a few negatives to note. While looking under bed and furniture for a lost earring I saw a colony of dust bunnies. Also the room smelled dank and musty, not sure if AC or not, but it did give us pause.....I also suggest they install full length mirrors on back of bathroom door. We would also have loved a ceiling fan over our bed. We stayed in room 16 and it was quiet except for live band at wedding next door. Try rooms 19 and 20 which have small patios in rear. Inn has hot tub for those who like that sort of thing.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank listerqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I’m pleased to read that you have frequent our property so much! I am so sorry that the smell in the room was unpleasant and you had dust under you bed. As you can see from previous comments left from guests, the quality of cleaning has not been a common issue, so I am deeply sorry that this happened to you. Please make sure that you continue to stay with us, we would love to have you back and experience some of your favorite rooms you’ve suggested with your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
139 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I stayed there several years ago, and again this year. Our expectations were met. For the price, you are not going to get a better B&B deal in Charleston.

The breakfast is basic and so is the wine and cheese. You do get to pick you breakfast in advance but it is a simple breakfast. Actually, having a bagel and some fruit, coffee and juice is just fine for us. I can only take so many days of really big B&B meals. You also get cold drinks in the afternoon.

The Elliott is in a great spot downtown. Someone is at the front desk 24x7 if you need anything. The rooms have been upgraded over the past few years. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphK328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for spending the time to write about your recent stay at the Elliott House Inn. The Elliott House Inn does not serve a typical large breakfast, but just a few items that will get you up and get you going, so you can make the most of your time downtown. We do a wine and cheese reception every evening and provide alternatives to alcohol, as well. As mentioned, we do have someone staffed twenty four hours a day to help answer any questions that you may have. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Overall, a disappointing stay. There were some good things and bad things. My wife and I were hoping for a little bit more than what we got, but it was not the staff's fault.

Pros:
- Great downtown location, near many good restaurants and the Market
- Staff were friendly and very helpful
- Service was great
- Rooms were for a lack of a better word, cute and clean
- Nice little breakfast delivered to your room at a selected time
- Wine and cheese happy hour
- Big bathroom

Cons:
- The noise from the street and other rooms was terrible. It seemed that there were trucks (e.g., trash, delivery, moving) operating on the street early every morning. When a neighboring room was taking a shower then you knew it by the noisy pipes. Overall, very thin walls.
- No parking. We paid $20 a day to park our car in the public lot across from the hotel. It cost us just about as much to park the car as it did to rent it.
- The AC spewed out this smelly, damp, musty and seemed like mildewing air. It was hot while we were there so we toggled back and forth between being hot and risking who knows what to our health. Yes yes, I know it was SC (hot, humid), but there was something wrong with that air the AC was throwing out.
- Water pressure very low (small thing, except when trying to fill cup with water).
- Happy hour was really a happy hour. It only lasted an hour (5-6 PM) and if they ran out of cheese and wine during that hour, then no one refilled it. It was a nice touch, but if it lasted to 7 PM and if they put out a little more food than two types of cheese cubes with crackers, it would have been better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper level and away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler-VA_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
We appreciate your candid review of your recent stay with us. I’m saddened to see that the property didn’t meet your expectations. While I’m pleased to read that the staff, service and location was top notch; I see that we may have fallen short on some of the expectations you had. I’m very sorry. Please note that I have addressed your concerns with our staff and owners and would welcome you returning again, next time moving you to a room in the back of the property. Thank you for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Park your car or better yet, don't bother bringing one, from this hotel, you will never need it! The bed was comfortable, the room spacious and fully updated. Apparently this hotel went through a complete remodel in 2011 and has come out looking and feeling wonderful. The staff is friendly and they provide a number of special touches which include wine and cheese at 5;00 every day and breakfast in your room or in the courtyard.
We took breakfast in the courtyard all three days and thoroughly enjoyed it. Each night you get to select what you will have for breakfast the next morning, what time and where you would like to have it, so you can change it up each day depending on your mood.
Anywhere you want to go in Charleston is an easy walk from this hotel on a quiet street sandwiched between two of Charleston's finest restaurants (Husk and 82 Queen). In fact, you can have room service delivered from 82 Queen. Husk was a special treat, we enjoyed brunch on Sunday after church.
At the end of a busy day of tourism, stop by the front office and have a little Brandy before you head to bed. A perfect treat to end your day at a lovely home away from home.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBWOrlando_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us. As you mentioned, we do not have any parking at the hotel, but there is a lot across the street that is just twenty dollars a day, and who needs a car while you are in Charleston. The Inn is surrounded by fantastic restaurants and shopping hot spots. The lobby is warm and inviting as you try to plan out your trip for all things Charleston. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share with others about your recent stay. We look forward to hearing from you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharpsburg, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Our stay was memorable thanks to the staff, the accommodations, and location. Situated in the heart of the historic district, the Elliot House is ideally located for all those wishing to explore all that this charming city has to offer. Enjoy breakfast in bed or the charming courtyard. Slept like a log and loved the spacious shower. Neal is a font of Charleston's place in U.S. history. I can hardly wait to book my next trip.

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard view. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at The Elliott House Inn. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Furthermore, I truly appreciate that you took the time to comment about how well you were treated by the staff. The location can’t be beat, because Charleston has so many wonderful locations to explore. Neal at the Front Desk is a wealth of knowledge about what there is to see and do, and he also provides tours when he is available. Once again, thank you so much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay. Hopefully, your travels will bring you back our way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fox lake, il
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Friendly people, immaculate room, delicious breakfast brought to our room-we will be back!! Loved the courtyard & Jacuzzi. Wine tasting in the evening. It was located within walking distance to a lot of the things we wanted to see. We found the Elliott House Inn on Tripadvisor and the reviews were what made us choose it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We appreciate you staying with us! The wine, Jacuzzi and well-appointed courtyard can’t be beat. I’m especially happy to read that our Trip Advisor page is what brought you to our property! Our staff takes great pride in our property and I’m pleased to read we met your expectations. Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 60 in Charleston
1,502 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
2,679 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 60 in Charleston
887 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 60 in Charleston
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elliott House Inn

Property: The Elliott House Inn
Address: 78 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 26 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel
Elliott House Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing