We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little inn in the center of Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Elliott House Inn
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Anderson
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little inn in the center of Charleston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

This little inn is in a perfect location, right off King and Meeting Streets, near the market, and right beside 3 excellent restaurants. The price was relatively good, for downtown Charleston. The breakfast is a simple but nice enough continental, and there are several breakfast restaurants within walking distance. The room was comfortable, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We have stayed here several times, and I'm sure we will again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
It was such a pleasure getting to chat with you while you were staying at the Inn! Thank you so much for continuing to stay with us when you come down to visit Charleston. All of the staff is eager to see new and returning guests. I look forward to seeing y’all again the next time you are in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    211
    115
    50
    21
See reviews for
62
554
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
morristown,tn
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

The location was perfect, very near quite a few great restaurants and a museum. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and had nice bedding that smelled nice. The shower had a hand-held sprayer (a rare luxury) as well as an overhead spigot. The TV was good. There were plenty of bed pillows as well as a surfeit of decorative pillows which we shoved out of our way ASAP. There was even a free-standing wine cooler in the room! There was a private little patio as well. (Be careful not to get locked out of the room while out on the patio. We did.) The courtyard is nice and we enjoyed the good wine and cheese in the evenings. The hot tub is very nice. It isn't the fiberglass kind; it was like a little swimming pool. The minimal breakfast is just enough to get you going, and the coffee is good, plentiful and stays hot in the little silver pot. I appreciated the half & half. Nothing cheap about this place. The desk man was very helpful and knew his Charleston history. Oh, and you can park across the street in a parking garage. Very convenient.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor facing the courtyard and did like our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannyrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you so much for your gracious words about your stay with us at The Elliott House Inn. As you mentioned, the location cannot be beat. The breakfast though minimal, does provide you with the carbohydrates you need to get up and explore. The staff is always willing to lend a helping hand whenever there is a question, or if they can provide a suggestion. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at The Elliott House Inn, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

If you want music to be blasting in your room until 11 pm, look no further. You just found the right place. Not worth the money. Noise of garbage tracks are also very noticeable. The music nearby was so loud we could not even watch tv. The room itself was ok. It was clean and the bed was big although not to comfortable

Room Tip: All the rooms are very noisy(trucks,music,etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
While I’m saddened to read that this particular guest did not like the noise from our neighbors, I am pleased to see that you did not have any problems with the hotels itself! We are a hidden gem tucked away on Queen Street. I want every future and potential guest to understand that we are located in the heart of the historic district in downtown Charleston. You are going to get the noises from nearby wedding venues, restaurants, delivery trucks, etc. It’s a harsh reality, but uncontrollable by the staff at the inn. For folks that are lighter than normal sleepers or sensitive to noises, I would suggest you choose a property outside of the downtown district. I think you’ll find it more quiet for a good night’s sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here a few months ago on our honeymoon, and the location and atmosphere could not have been more perfect. This B&B was beautiful and charming. We especially loved the courtyard, the afternoon wine events, and the AMAZING breakfast (delivered to your room). I cannot wait to return here and I don't ever plan to stay anywhere else while in Charleston.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crace1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Congratulations on your recent wedding! I’m so glad that we were able to host your honeymoon getaway and even more pleased to read how much you enjoyed the stay! Hopefully as you celebrate future anniversaries you will come back to stay with us. Best wishes on a happy future with your new husband.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
205 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I would have upgraded the Inn to good if I had not stepped on a Palmetto bug in the bathroom in the middle of the night. The sound of the bug being squashed under my food at about 2AM was enough to wake me up for the rest of the night. Too bad as the bed is extremely comfortable and the room is large and nicely appointed (even if somewhat old). The wine and cheese offered at five in the evening is of minimal quality and kind of just left out for the the guest to fend for themselves. I would drop that perk if it was my place. However, the bottle of good quality Champagne in the room at check in is a very nice touch. Given the location and the staff and a breakfast tray delivered to your room with a paper I would recommend it to the next traveler. (Bring some bug spray for the bathroom and you won't be surprised during the night).

Room Tip: Bring bug spray for the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inkblot_doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
I’m sorry you encountered a palmetto bug in your room while you stayed with us. During changes in weather like we are experiencing, Palmetto Bugs seek warmer temperatures and attempt to enter the rooms more. With us having exterior corridors it can be tough to control. Please know that we are on a monthly pest prevention plan and try to make every attempt to keep them from entering our guest rooms. I appreciate your feedback on the wine and cheese reception. I don’t think it’s something that our other fellow guests want to go away, so I think we’ll keep that going for the time being. Please give us another try while visiting Charleston in the future. I think we’re one of the best lodging options the city has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed for two nights in a queen room, and overall had a very good experience. The room was small, as expected, but beautifully furnished with one of the most comfortable beds of our entire two-week trip to the States. The bathroom was modern, clean and compact. The room was directly off the courtyard (room 15) as we had requested, which was very convenient and quiet. No view at all from the small window, but this was a minor issue.

The location is excellent - a short walk to all of the main attractions in Charleston and also convenient for the free bus which takes you further afield. There are lots of up-market restaurants nearby - be aware that this is a very upscale, expensive part of town.

There are some lovely touches here - the oversized hot tub was a joy to relax in at the end of a long day spent walking round the city. The courtyard itself is a little oasis of calm, and we really enjoyed the cheese and wine in the evening. We loved being able to have the choice of eating breakfast in the courtyard or in the room (it is delivered to you on a tray) although the actual choices are very limited and a bit weird - cereal and a boiled egg, for example - no toast or bread to go with it.

This hotel is almost perfect - a fridge and coffee maker in the room would be helpful additions. One of the ladies serving breakfast was rather rude; the other was very polite. I would happily recommend this Inn to a friend, and in fact have already done so!

Room Tip: A ground floor room off the courtyard worked well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJaneUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for sharing about your experience at The Elliott House Inn. Charleston is a wonderful city, because there are so much variety here in the city. The Jacuzzi is a great place to relax while you rest up for your next adventure. I’m sorry that you encountered an unpleasant staff member, which is not typical as seen by other reviews, but even more excited that you had exceptional run ins with other members of our staff. The breakfast card allows you the option of having the breakfast either in your room or in our delightful courtyard. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience staying with us at The Elliott House Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
132 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We stopped in for one night while extending our beach holiday to visit downtown. The staff were very helpful and the room was clean and convenient to downtown. It was a little noisy in the morning when the trash collectors started working. As with most Charleston downtown places parking was in a public lot but fairly convenient to the B&B. Breakfast was continental-nothing special-in the courtyard.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gordon993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you so much for your comments about your recent stay. I am pleased to see that the staff was able to help you with any questions that you had about your time in the city. The best thing to do in Charleston is to explore, and the location is perfect for any destination you would like to tour. When booking a room at the Elliott House, we have divided the rooms by their location to the street, to help with people concerned about noise from the early morning traffic. We are surrounded by four fantastic restaurants that do early morning deliveries. The breakfast that we provide is nice and lite to fill you up just enough to give you the energy you need to explore the city. The parking lot is conveniently located right across the street at a rate of twenty dollars for a twenty four hour period. Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elliott House Inn

Property: The Elliott House Inn
Address: 78 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 26 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel
Elliott House Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing