We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 60th Birthday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Elliott House Inn
Ranked #28 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great 60th Birthday!”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We started this tradition a few years back by coming to Charleston to kick off my birthday celebration. As always, it's perfect staying at the Elliott House Inn. Our favorite is that it is located right in the heart of historical Charleston. Once we arrive, we park the car and never touch it for our entire stay. Not only is the staff fabulous, rooms are really nice and everything is so convenient. No matter...long walks, short walks....fantastic bars, restaurants and tons of history are all right there. We especially love breakfast in bed each morning....thanks for yet another wonderful birthday!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Happy Belated Birthday, Friend! You put a big smile on my face when I read your review. To know that we were your launching pad for your birthday kick-off celebration is pleasing to read. I’m especially excited that the staff, location and room expectations were met. Don’t wait another year, come back in the springtime and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    219
    117
    51
    22
See reviews for
64
579
30
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We we arrive we thought that there was a problem with our assigned room and the staff was more than happy to to show us alternatives. The room are rather small but functional. The location is excellent for walking in the city. The weather was a bit chill for us to enjoy the very nice couryard and its hot tub. One of the desk persons, Neil, gave us an excellent two hour walking tour of the city. Parking in the city garage is $20 a day but the open lot down Queen Street we found to be a little less (with in and out priviledges).

Room Tip: You might check out your room in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
We appreciate you staying with us! I apologize for the unfortunate colder than normal weather you experienced while you were visiting. Hopefully Neal was able to make up for the shortfall, by providing his fantastic walking tour! While parking can be a bit cumbersome, I’m happy to read that you found an alternative nearby that was a bit less expensive. Please make sure to come back and visit us again in the near future. We’d love to have you back again (during warmer temperatures)!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We were among the many whose trips were interrupted by the unusual ice and snow that hit Charleston. We cut short our visit thanks to the kindness of the staff who waived the usual cancellation policies. Although we were just there for one night it was a very nice experience. We got in late and enjoyed our room at the end of the courtyard lit by candlelight. We then went over to the restaurant just steps away and had she-crab chowder and a glass of wine. Just what weary travelers needed! Having breakfast delivered to our room was an added delight and there was coffee in the courtyard from six a.m. for early risers.
The parking garage right across the street made it very convenient to carry our luggage to the room. Wish we could have done more exploring but we'll be back.

Room Tip: After reading the other reviews I requested an 'unfussy' room. I think I said uncluttered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intlfOOdie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
We appreciate your review of your recent stay with us. The winter storm of the south had a pretty big impact on Charleston. I’m pleased to read that you were able to salvage at least one good night in our town! I’m even more happy to read that you enjoyed your short time with us. Make sure you come back and visit us again in the near future – when you can stay longer and enjoy the all the sights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our visit at the Elliott House Inn. We missed the evening reception, but enjoyed entering the courtyard lit by candle light. Our room was very nice and very clean.The bed and linens were perfect to me and the bathroom had a huge updated shower. Our Breakfast was delivered to our room exactly at the time we requested The coffee was hot and plentiful and the muffins were warm and fresh. Also flat screen TV with plenty of stations ! The hot tub also looked fun but we forgot our swim suits. :(

Room Tip: The Location is right in town, so there's activity nearby all day and night. if you plan on slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionagene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. I’m excited to see that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. The location cannot be beat for any and all activities one may want to enjoy while visiting Charleston. I’m sorry that you missed the wine and cheese reception, but enjoyed the candlelight walk back to your room through the courtyard. The next time you stay with us, you will have to make sure you bring some swimsuits to enjoy our heated Jacuzzi. Thank you for taking the time to express to others about your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

As I arrived in Charleston 1/27, my client called to tell me that no one would be at work the next day due to imminent snow/ice storm. It was 7P when I arrived at hotel to check in. If I were to stay, I would then be stuck there 2-3 days. The nice young man at the desk told me I could go ahead and return home( with no obligation to the hotel) if I wanted to. Wow! That's what I did. How utterly thoughtful/considerate of their guest. I'll be back there as soon as I can!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBIN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment about your recent experience at Elliott House Inn. The winter conditions we were experience while the guest was staying, are not normal here in Charleston. We clearly care about the guest enjoying their time here at The Elliott House Inn, but we care more about the safety of our guest and the customer service they receive during circumstances that are out of everyone’s control. I’m thrilled to see that you are planning to stay with us again the next time your travels take you back to Charleston. Once again, thank you for taking the time to express your gratitude to our staff, it means a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevensville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Exceptionally clean room, good location for walking or taking the free trolley. King bed was a little soft for me, but hubs had no problem sleeping. Little bit of noise from unit above and the elevator nearby. Bathoom was great w/2 shower heads. Continental breakfast was delivered a little early but bagel and muffins were fresh and warm, coffee was hot, a good start for the day. Wine and cheese provided btw 5-6pm and coffee and tea throughout the day. Would definitely stay here again. Front desk staff were extremely helpful w/ restaurant recommendations and sights to see.

Room Tip: stay away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at the Inn. It is always wonderful to hear about how well the staff was able to help during your visit. The wine and cheese reception is a great way to get know the other guest at the Inn. We do not have coffee makers in the rooms, but we do have coffee out as early as 6 AM and we keep coffee out through most of the day and evening time. We look forward to seeing you come the next time you are in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My wife and I have visited Charleston three times and until our last trip have opted to stay at your run of the mill hotels. Glad we decided to venture out of our routine and give this place a try. Upon arriving, you couldn't ask for a more courteous receptionist and jaw dropping beautiful property. The hotel itself is right in the heart of both nightlife and great restaurants. The wine and cheese tasting coupled with a marvelous courtyard really allow you to forget your troubles and focus on relaxing. Parking is expensive but it is everywhere, plan to pay $20 nightly (but it is right across the street and very accessible). The service was impeccable and is available 24 hours a day. Included in our stay was a continental breakfast that is brought to your room at the time of your choosing. Great stay and you will not be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: If I stayed again I would choose a room in the courtyard. We stayed on a weekend and in a room next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofEHI, Manager at The Elliott House Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
I’m glad to see that you decided to change up your normal routine and give us a try, I’m truly thrilled that we did not disappoint! We have someone staffed here twenty four hours a day, and we believe that every member of the team is wonderful when it comes to helping first time guest or repeat guest. The location is perfect and the property is very well-kept, so that every guest can truly enjoy the Charleston experience. As mentioned we do not have parking at the Inn, but right across the street is a covered parking deck that is twenty dollars for a twenty four hour period. Thank you so much for your kind words about your stay with us at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
1,588 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#31 of 61 in Charleston
592 reviews
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
642 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elliott House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elliott House Inn

Property: The Elliott House Inn
Address: 78 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elliott House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to perfection and centrally located in the heart of Charleston's fascinating historic district, The Elliott House Inn's 26 rooms decorated in Eighteenth Century reproductions, offer historic period charm and contemporary comforts all within walking distance to the famous market area, art galleries, boutique and antique shopping and world renowned dining. The Elliott House Inn surrounds you with the ambiance of a time gone by while providing the comforts and amenities of the present. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Elliott House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliott House Hotel Charleston
Elliott Hotel Charleston
The Elliott Hotel
Elliott House Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing