We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
John Rutledge House Inn
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The Rutledge House was an amazing combination of great location, curtious staff, and a wonderful historical legacy. The Inn puts you right in the middle of the city, along the glorious Broad Street, and across from another historic inn. You can walk from there to most anything your Charleston trip demands: shopping on King St., dining along Meeting, Carriage rides just a short leg away, etc. The staff clearly wants you to make the most of the city and will help you navigate as well as set up any reservations or tickets that you may require.

You could nearly spend your entire stay within the grounds if you wanted to. Tea and appetizers in the evening, port and brandy at bedtime, and breakfast are all served as part of your stay. The food is delicious and plentiful. I would recommend eating at least one meal in the courtyard!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLW1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

We are so grateful for your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to commend our wonderful staff. They are a fantastic group who deliver exceptional service and true Southern hospitality. We look forward to hosting you again and thank you for the glowing recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

What a beautiful house with amazing charm! The staff was attentive & helpful & answered questions & give great suggestions. Our package included a house visit, carriage ride tour, & a tour of Fort Sumter. We stayed in Room 11 & the canopy king bed was extremely comfortable! We enjoyed the attractive antique furnishings, turn down service, & breakfast in our room. The signing room provided historical background to the area. Celebrating our 30th !anniversary here was perfect!

Room Tip: Room 11 has a large separate shower as well as a tub with jets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The John Rutledge House Inn is a very nice property, but it lacks that "Wow" factor. Check-in was pleasant, but it could have been a bit more welcoming and gracious. Our room (No. 9) was large, but it seemed too sparsely furnished for its size---there was too much wasted space in the room. The bathroom was fine, but nothing exceptional. The beds were very comfortable. I also noticed that one of the "antique" accessories in the room (a decorative plate on the mantle) was marked "Made in Hong Kong." Afternoon tea was very good, especially the hors d'oeuvres and the lovely cranberry bread. Breakfast the next morning was good, but not exceptional---everything seemed to be wrapped in plastic wrap. I was quite underwhelmed with the John Rutledge House Inn, considering the price I paid for the room ($300.00,plus the $12.00 fee for overnight parking). The inn seemed to lack "passion" and "spark"---it seemed to be tired. On a positive note, kudos to the two bellmen---you were great!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WDTBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

We appreciate your review. Thank you for the kind notes about our staff, large, comfortable rooms and complimentary amenities like afternoon tea and breakfast. We strive to deliver each guest with an exceptional experience, so I am sorry to read that you left feeling disappointed. In keeping with the historic nature of the inn, we have both period antiques and antique reproductions on display in each guest room. Your comments are appreciated as we constantly look for ways to improve the inn.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

There are a number of excellent BBs in Charleston, and we had a difficult time deciding at which one to stay on a recent weekend there. We finally chose the John Rutledge house due to it's strong reputation and convenient location. We absolutely feel we mad the right choice.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the Cathy (the proprieter) and her outstanding staff. They were all really great and made us feel completely happy and welcome.
We decided to splurge and stayed in a Grand Suite, which was just amazing. Our suite was just off the lobby and included two huge rooms, two fireplaces, and stretched from the front of the building to the back. We were initially concerned that the location adjacent to the desk would be a problem, but we never noticed any noise.
Tea, port, sherry, and delicious snacks are served in the second-floor ballroom every afternoon, and we really enjoyed it.

The only reason I am giving 4 rather than 5 stars is because I felt the breakfasts could have been better. The variety and quantity of food was less than I would have preferred, and the omelets were a bit on the dry side. Breakfasts weren't bad by any means, just not up to what I have had at other BBs. But, on the plus side, they will serve breakfast in your room, which was really great.

The location is perfect as we found it easy to walk anywhere. Actually, Charleston is much smaller than I anticipated and is very walkable and safe. It's full of fascinating history, and the architecture of the homes is unbelievable. We were amazed at the variety of architectural styles in such a small area. We found ourselves just walking and looking, both during the day and night. I think I would rate Charleston as the most beautiful American city.

I highly recommend this cozy, friendly inn!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My wife and I just spent our second weekend at the John Rutledge house. Our first visit was 15 years ago. Both times our experience was outstanding. This time our room was in the Cooper Carriage House. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very nice, especially the memory foam mattress. We had a fabulous breakfast delivered to our room both mornings. If we had not been out so late on Saturday night at a wedding, we would have taken our breakfast in the courtyard on Sunday. Once we arrived, we parked our car and didn't have to move it again until we left. Everything we were interested in was within walking distance. My wife's favorite part of the trip, other than our lodging, was shopping on King Street, and I loved the restaurants. Before we left on Sunday we walked down East Bay Street by Rainbow Row to the Battery. Every time I visit Charleston, I love it more. My sister and her husband are planning a visit to Charleston and the Rutledge House this summer, based on my recommendation. My wife and I will visit again. It is great for couples and for families.

Room Tip: Carriage House rooms have more privacy. Upstairs rooms in the Main House have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_L20_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you for the glowing review. We are thrilled that your stay was every bit as exceptional as it was fifteen years ago. So many guests agree that our location is perfect for shopping and sight seeing. I am glad that you were able to leave your car in the lot and enjoy Charleston by foot. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to having you back.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The best B&B we've ever stayed in, and we're so glad we chose to stay here for our honeymoon. We stayed in one of the mini-suites on the top floor, and enjoyed our huge and comfy bed, whirlpool tub, and the best shower ever. Poster bed had the most comfy mattress and pillows of any hotel/b&b (we actually just ordered 2 of the pillows we slept on!). The room and bathroom were spotless. Breakfasts are amazing--we will miss the sherried fruit and biscuits and shrimp and grits. The staff was absolutely amazing (thank you thank you thank!)--they made reservations, gave directions, advice, etc. What a wonderful group of people! Afternoon drinks on the balcony were very special, and we enjoyed our time with Cathy the innkeeper. Parking was easy and accessible, and we found the location to be perfectly in the middle of everything we wanted to do in Charleston. Thank you to everyone at the Rutledge for making our honeymoon extra special and relaxing. We can't wait to see you again, soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back of the house (not directly on Broad Street) in the main house, though carriage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DasGrubers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

What a wonderful review. Thank you for sharing such special memories. I am thrilled that you enjoyed a romantic, relaxing honeymoon here at the John Rutledge House Inn. Your kind notes about our staff are greatly appreciated, I will be sure to pass them on. We hope to host many more special occasions and celebrations in years to come! Congratulations.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Great room in the carriage house. Worked out quite well since we travel w a dog. They even provide a nice welcome package for your pooch! The building and courtyard very nice, and the staff were great. The afternoon tea was nice and the morning breakfast offers quite a variety. The grits were some of the best we have ever had! You get a discount at Circa 1886 which we availed ourselves of. Certainly a very good restaurant, but the walk there seems to take you through the dodgy end of Wentworth. No big deal during daylight, but as we were walking back around 9:30 thought might be best to drive next time. (unfortunate, since it defeats the purpose of walking to dinner).

Would have given 5 stars, but the accommodations are pricey, and not sure there's 5 star value for the $.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarnstableSwitters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at John Rutledge House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

I am so pleased that you and your dog had an enjoyable stay at the inn. Thank you for the great review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed Circa 1886 as well. We believe that the restaurant is in safe walking distance, but can understand your concern about walking around after dark. For future visits, our staff can arrange for a pedicab to escort you home. We hope to host you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,936 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#2 of 61 in Charleston
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,096 reviews
Zero George Street
#3 of 61 in Charleston
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Rutledge House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Rutledge House Inn

Address: 116 Broad St, Charleston, SC 29401-2437
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#16 Family Hotel in Charleston
#32 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £187 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — John Rutledge House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Most Historic Inn. John Rutledge, one of the fifty-five signers of the U.S. Constitution, built his home in 1763. Now exquisitely restored, it is one of only fifteen homes belonging to those signers to survive - and the only one to now accommodate overnight hotel guests. History records that George Washington called here in 1791. An entry in his diary shows a breakfast with Mrs. Rutledge. A loving rejuvenation has restored the beautiful details of the home's 18th and 19th century architecture: the elaborately carved Italian marble fireplaces, the original plaster moldings, the inlaid floors and the graceful ironwork. The John Rutledge House Inn offers nineteen guest rooms within a complex of three buildings. One may choose between the elegance of rooms and spacious suites in the original grand residence or the charm and seclusion of rooms in the inn's two carriage houses. Antiques and historically accurate reproductions give each room its own warmth and distinction. John Rutledge House Inn is proud to be a founding hotel in Historic Hotels of America, as well as Select Registry - Distinguished Inns of America and Classic Inns of the South. Guests may leave cars parked on-site for their entire stay because the best of this beautiful port city is just beyond the doors of the John Rutledge House Inn. The city's finest restaurants, theaters, shops, and the Old City Market are all in short walking distance. The gorgeous residential area "South of Broad" begins directly opposite the Inn. A stay in this elegant antebellum bed and breakfast offers the opportunity to experience history as well as the warm hospitality for which the South is justly famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your John Rutledge House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Rutledge House Hotel Charleston
John Rutledge Hotel
John Rutledge Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing