We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
John Rutledge House Inn
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2009

The staff was helpful and knowledgible about Charleston attractions and dining. The bed was so comfortable that I slept great inspite of a bad back. We rarely heard other quests. Having breakfast in the room was fabulous.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank completely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

642 - 648 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2009

To call The John Rutledge House Inn a "B&B" is to diminish this historical home. Look up John Rutledge on google to get his history, then realize that President George Washington stopped by for tea which Mrs. Rutledge in 1791 (actually in our room!).

The Inn is in great physical shape and the friendly staff will take care of your every need. This Inn has won every major award for excellence.

OK, it is a little more expensive than other B&B's, but, for those of you who can not get into the Lincoln Bedroom at the White House, this is might be the next best thing.

Dr. and Mrs. Robert L. Pazen, Ventura, CA

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myroyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

We stayed at the Inn for seven heavenly days, it seemed so far removed from the hectic pace in Washington, DC and Paris, France - 1 American and 2 French Ladies. Once we got out of the cab, we walked to almost everything as the Inn is centrally located in the historic district. If you don't wish to walk, call the Green Cab, or ride in a pedi-cab or better yet, try the horse and buggies. Our entire visit was orchestrated by the Inn from sightseeing to restaurant recommendations, and it was absolutely the best vacation any of us had ever had. Here's a few tidbits that we were told about:

Innkeeper, Kathy Leslie and her staff, Kate, Josh, everyone, including the house staff, are very generous with their time and in providing directions and suggestions. The rooms are large, comfortable and tastefully decorated in accordance with Charleston tradition. Every evening there is a tea, with great refreshments including tea sandwiches, port and sherry - true Southern hospitality and its finest. And the breakfast, which you can have in your room, on the patio or in the grand ballroom, is divine.

Get lost in the Battery and see the Aiken Rhett or the other fabulous mansions, be sure to visit the plantations. We visited Magnolia and saw the beautiful flora as well as the "in residence" attractions, blue heron, egrets and yes, quite a few alligators.

Dining in Charleston may fluctuate if you are a true critic. Our vote, go to Hall's Chop House for great lamb, steak and seafood and meet the Hall family who are there to take care of you each and every evening. For Mediterranean flare, go to Fig where you can eat everything from Pig's Trotters to a wonderful Grouper with Spring Vegetables, and the desserts are THE BEST in Charleston.

The John Rutledge Inn is a true oasis!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madonaldson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

I loved the Inn. The rooms are clean. The beds are comfortable and the Southern
charm and hospitality was five stars. Wonderful, fresh breakfast. I will return.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btrip29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

The John Rutledge House on Broad Street in beautiful Charleston was a delight to behold. Entering up one side of the double entry staircase to the magnificient front door, I knew at once that this lovely B & B was setting the tone for what was a wonderful vacation in Charleston. The staff and service were impecable. The room was beautiful.. We stayed in the Edward Rutledge room on the thrid floor which was large enough to be called a suite. It was beautifully appointed and the beds were extremely comfortable. My only dissappointment was the food. Breakfast offerings were unusual (I am sure they were trying to capture the Southern Charleston cuisine) but missed the mark and the hors d'oeuvre were not anything to write home about and certainly not a reflection of the quality showed throughout the rest of the B & B. It is so centrally located, only a couple of blocks from the Four-Corners area and a leisurely stroll to the battery and home tours. The overall experience was grand and only enhanced our stay in Charleston. Southern hospitality is alive and well at the John Rutledge House.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darlinbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

Large rooms, period furniture--captures the historic atmosphere of Charleston; good location for walking the older parts of the city; excellent conierge staff; breakfasts were very good; costly, but worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jryder531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

Being a local, we don't often do the tourist thing, but when we do, it is always at The John Rutledge House Inn. Staying at the inn gives a sense of history and serenity as you move about this magnificent home of one of our country's founding fathers and signers of the Declaration of Independence, John Rutledge. The ambiance of drawing room is a treat and we always invite our friends "over" for a cocktail before walking the few blocks to a nearby restaurant to dine. Out on the balcony overlooking Broad Street, you can almost hear the horse's hooves fall on the once dirt thoroughfare. The John Rutledge House is like our house, the one that has been in the family for generations.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomaspeters12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,933 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,857 reviews
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#2 of 61 in Charleston
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,096 reviews
Zero George Street
#3 of 61 in Charleston
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Rutledge House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Rutledge House Inn

Address: 116 Broad St, Charleston, SC 29401-2437
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#16 Family Hotel in Charleston
#32 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £187 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — John Rutledge House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Most Historic Inn. John Rutledge, one of the fifty-five signers of the U.S. Constitution, built his home in 1763. Now exquisitely restored, it is one of only fifteen homes belonging to those signers to survive - and the only one to now accommodate overnight hotel guests. History records that George Washington called here in 1791. An entry in his diary shows a breakfast with Mrs. Rutledge. A loving rejuvenation has restored the beautiful details of the home's 18th and 19th century architecture: the elaborately carved Italian marble fireplaces, the original plaster moldings, the inlaid floors and the graceful ironwork. The John Rutledge House Inn offers nineteen guest rooms within a complex of three buildings. One may choose between the elegance of rooms and spacious suites in the original grand residence or the charm and seclusion of rooms in the inn's two carriage houses. Antiques and historically accurate reproductions give each room its own warmth and distinction. John Rutledge House Inn is proud to be a founding hotel in Historic Hotels of America, as well as Select Registry - Distinguished Inns of America and Classic Inns of the South. Guests may leave cars parked on-site for their entire stay because the best of this beautiful port city is just beyond the doors of the John Rutledge House Inn. The city's finest restaurants, theaters, shops, and the Old City Market are all in short walking distance. The gorgeous residential area "South of Broad" begins directly opposite the Inn. A stay in this elegant antebellum bed and breakfast offers the opportunity to experience history as well as the warm hospitality for which the South is justly famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your John Rutledge House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Rutledge House Hotel Charleston
John Rutledge Hotel
John Rutledge Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing