We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service, comfort and location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kings Courtyard Inn
Ranked #35 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Service, comfort and location, location, location”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The facility is comfortable and provides excellent service. Being in the middle of everything was great. We did not use our car the once during our stay and were able to walk to all we wanted to see. You would be hard pressed to to find a friendlier staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    185
    43
    27
    9
See reviews for
99
295
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed here for the Labor Day Weekend. We were booked in a 2 bedroom place. It was 3 Adults and one child.

Check-In

Smooth and uneventful. The staff was friendly.

Rooms

Definitely 'historic'. but adequate since we spent most of our time out enjoying the city. They were clean and had a TV in each room with a desk and chair or other chairs for seating. You are able to hear some of the noise from the courtyard if your rooms has windows facing it. But this was never a problem for us.

Location

Perfect for walking everywhere we wanted in Downtown Charleston. Even with a 2 year old in tow.

Parking

There is a charge for parking, but we knew this as it is stated on the website. It is a public lot that hotel guest have special privileges for. You have unlimited in and out each day.

Food

Typical continental breakfast. We had coffee, oj, bagels, fruit (banana or apple) and yogurt each day. This was included with the stay. There was an option to purchase made to order breakfast at an additional cost but we did not do that. There is free dry and sweet sherry served in the lobby 24-7. And each evening there is a reception with complementary wine and appetizers (cheese and crackers). When it isn't too terribly hot out, there are patios to sit on while having breakfast or your afternoon wine, or really anytime. There is also a small indoor place with a/c for seating, but no true restaurant on site.

Overall a great location with a decent price which was much less than we would have paid for 2 separate rooms there or anywhere else.

Room Tip: If traveling with children, I highly recommend the 2 room place. They can have their own space, tv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meekstrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Thank you for selecting our Inn for your family weekend trip. We are proud of the value that we offer with breakfast, wine and hors d'oeuvres, free wireless and other amenities; all included in the room rate. We look forward to your return visit. Richard Widman Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
217 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

My wife and I came on a weekend trip to Charleston to check out the city in anticipation of a possible move to the area when she completes her professional training. We arrived at night and had a hard time locating the parking area without verbal instructions from the front desk. Parking is billed separately, we learned. The individual parking stalls were microscopic, so one SUV can throw off the whole row. Find an end stall if you don't want your door dinged.

The room itself was nice, except for the bath which was a little below average, needing some tile and cosmetic repairs. The room itself faced King Street, which is very noisy on nice weekend nights, so if you have white noise generator, bring it with you for a better chance at uninterrupted sleep. But the room and furnishings and bed were very nice and very comfortable.

Breakfast was included in the price of our stay, but we never actually partook. Our first day, we came to a crowded courtyard with only one open table. The chairs from that table had been plundered by other guests, so we stood for a few minutes waiting for a server or other employee to ask for some extra chairs. Eventually, we flagged someone down, and eventually someone pushed chairs to the table. And then we sat, ignored, for quite a while. We eventually got up and decided to grab coffee and a bite elsewhere. On the way out, I asked the front desk if the wait staff were short handed that day, and she said no, just that all the guests "decided they wanted to have breakfast at the same time." Yes, that is a big drag.

On the plus side, the location was fantastic - right in the heart of downtown, and only a quick walk to great restaurants and shopping. My wife and I walked down to the Battery, over to the Market and down to East Bay for cocktails at the Gin Joint (Awesome!).

Overall, we really enjoyed are brief stay in Charleston and hope to be back. We'll probably try someplace other than the King's Courtyard.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Morpheus1041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments so that we may improve. I note that you scored us mostly with 4's out of 5 except for service. I apologize that we were not able to provide a table and prompt service for breakfast in our courtyard. We are limited in seating which is why we offer breakfast in the room at no additional charge. We do provide directions and a GPS address in our confirmations to the city lot behind the Inn as we realize Charleston can be difficult to find your way on the narrow and one way streets. Thank you for your positive comments and we will strive to be more consistent on service.
Richar Widman Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
218 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I was so excited to stay right in downtown Charleston but was not well-pleased with the inn. Our room was not only small but needed painting and new wallpaper. The TV was in a cabinet that was not viewable from the bed, only from two Queen Anne chairs. The parking was fine once we found it. The "concierge" was not well versed in local attractions. The best part of the inn is location but there are many other lodging choices. We loved Charleston but will pick a different place to stay on our next visit.

Room Tip: Our room over looked King Street and was directly across from a building with empty upper stories an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Thank you for your suggestions on improvements as we take them very seriously. As a historically restored Inn, we have many different room configurations. You were in one of smaller and less expensive rooms. We have many rooms where the TV is viewable from the bed for those that prefer to watch TV from bed. We have rooms on the rear for the building and overlooking courtyards. I must apologize that you did not receive more suggestions about Charleston as that is an area that we take great pride in personalizing our guests' visit while in Charleston. I am confident that you would find what you are expecting should you choose to stay with us again.
Richard Widman Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Not sure what all the glwoing reviews were about. Yes, the place is a nice historic building in an execellent location. But, I had a few problems on my stay. First of all, the parking and entrance are unmarked and difficult to find if you approach from the King Street side (which is the address they quote). I'm not the only one I met staying there who spent some time circling around late in the evening looking for where you were suppsoed to go. Then, the cold water tap in my room did not work. they were able to fix it the next day, but it's clearly not a proper fix and will likely break again soon. It did also seem like they already knew about the problem as well. Lastly, they do provide a complimentary breakfast, but both mornings I was there, I was unable to take advatnage of this as there were extended waits (the first time that's ever happened to me anywhere for a hotel breakfast). In fairness, you can order breakfast to be sent to your room the night before. But then you'd have to pre-determine what time you want in. All in all, I'd say this is quite average and not worth what they charge. I would not stay there the next time I go to Charleston.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rugger23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
We appreciate your comments so that we can continue to monitor and improve our facility. We are located right in the heart of the historic district. The city parking lot in which we lease space is located to the rear of the inn so we provide all of our guests the GPS coordinates in every confirmation letter so that they can go directly to the parking and enter our lobby from there. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast as well as a menu of cooked items at an additional charge which is served in our breakfast room. I apologize that there was a wait for a table which can occur sometimes during our busy seasons. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
Richard Widman Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHAMPIGNY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

It is a wonderful historic place with patios and the music of the water. Kings Courtyard Inn looks like typicals spanich hotels. My room was tiny but great with a baldaquin bed.
The location is at the center of everythink to see in Charleston. An advice : two days are enough to visit complety this town.
An award for the management who is very precious and attentive to do of your stay a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdevige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you for your nice compliments on the service that our Innkeeper and staff provided. This historic building provides many different room types of various sizes and bed types. We are pleased that you enjoyed one of our smaller rooms with a canopy bed and fireplace. We look forward to serving you again. Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Great location, staff was very friendly and helpful, fun wine and cheese in the afternoon, comfortable room and the biggest plus was the housekeeper. The pillows weren't soft enough for me, so I left a note for the housekeeper and she got feather pillows for us that very morning! Parking was really handy too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RinkeyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you for choosing Kings Courtyard Inn. Besides our convenient location and parking, the staff takes great pride in delivering very personal and sincere service. We look forward to your return visit. Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,703 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Elliott House Inn
#32 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Property: Kings Courtyard Inn
Address: 198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing