We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Courtyard Inn
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2012

LOVED this hotel! My friend and I had a double room, it was spacious, clean, nicely furnished, and had a working fireplace.(!) A really charming room. Our friends had a king room, it was just as nice as ours. We enjoyed the wine and cheese hour, and the complimentary breakfast. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Not just polite, but actually very friendly. The location is perfect. I'm only sorry the weather was bad, we would have spent time in the lovely courtyard. I would definitely recommend Kings Courtyard, and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review about your stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am thrilled to read that our accommodations suited both you and your traveling companion so well. I'm sorry to hear that the weather was not in your favor, but am glad that you had a wonderful trip nonetheless. Thank you for your kind note about our staff. They are a wonderful team that I am very proud of. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2012

Our family spent Thanksgiving in Charleston this year and stayed at the Kings Courtyard. It suited our needs perfectly. The rooms were a nice size, especially for an historic hotel, and beautifully appointed with reproduction furniture in keeping with Charleston's ambiance. The location could not be beat, right in the middle of the historic district. I had been concerned about noise, but the hotel is recessed between Kings and Meeting Street and was blissfully quiet. We enjoyed the complimentary wine and cheese and the evening sherry, as well as the free continental breakfast. Hot items are available, at an extra but fair charge. The concierge staff was extremely helpful, making multiple calls to secure us a spot on a walking tour. It was a bit chilly for us to enjoy the courtyards, but we did appreciate their ambiance and sound of the fountains whenever we passed through. We will definitely be back the next time we are in Charleston.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms on the courtyard don't get a lot of sunlight. Do not be afraid to take a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCNummi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Thank you for such an outstanding review. I am thrilled that your family enjoyed such a memorable Thanksgiving here at the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am glad that our accommodations suited the group so well. It sounds like you were able to take full advantage of our complimentary extras and enjoyed our central location. We hope to see you all back in Charleston soon. Thank you for the recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the cozy charm this property exhibited. I went with friends for a "girls weekend" and we shared a 2 bedroom suite that was perfect for our needs. The complementary breakfast was a nice touch and the outdoor courtyards were great for the afternoon wine and light appetizer reception. It is centrally located and the staff was very helpful and pleasant. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank work2travelNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Thank you for your recommendation of the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am glad that our hotel served as an excellent destination for your girls' weekend trip. Our guests find that suites provide a comfortable and convenient space for group travel. We appreciate your wonderful review and certainly look forward to hosting you again. We hope that a girls weekend here at the Inn will become a new tradition in years to come.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Over Thanksgiving, my husband, dog and I drove to Florida to visit family. It was our first trip with the dog and our first experience with "dog friendly" hotels. Our experience ran the gamut from welcoming to tolerant. The Kings Courtyard Inn is tolerant.
The hotel's location is great -- right in the center of the action. There is a parking lot adjacent to the hotel.
When I called to make the reservation and to check that they did indeed welcome dogs, I spoke with a woman named Lisa -- she was lovely and based on my conversation with her, we were excited for our stay.
I would say that's where our positive experience ended. Some of it based on our timing and some of it based on staff and the room.
Upon checking in, I felt less than welcomed, I felt like an imposition. The gentleman at the front desk allowed another woman to jump in front of me with a question while I waited to check in. He seemed annoyed by both me and our dog. When I spoke with Lisa she indicated there would be a list of dog friendly restaurants waiting for us -- there wasn't. After some pressing, the gentleman came up with a couple of suggestions one was Bubba Gumps.
Our room was 402 -- it was off the courtyard, worn and dark -- the windows faced an alley. I understand that it's what you get when you travel with a dog. The head board was loose, the in-room fridge dirty and unstable -- like the one I had in college. I wanted to open the window, but neither had a screen. When your window is street level and opens to an alley, you want SOME protection.
They offer a little social hour from 5:00 - 6:00 p.m. -- we missed it, they were serving their last guests as we walked in about 6:15 p.m and even though the wine and the glasses were out -- it was too late.
There is no restaurant or room service -- we got carry out at Toast a little restaurant around the corner. They were very nice and the food was good -- we ate in our room.
We left early the next morning. There was coffee in the lobby, which was nice, but the guy at the front desk barely noticed us at check out.
It was too expensive for the experience. Maybe other rooms are nicer, maybe other guests feel more welcome, but if you're traveling with a pet -- I would not consider this an option. Based on our experience, I would not return, even without a pet.

Room Tip: The rooms off the courtyard are dark and the windows open to an alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaj2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am glad that you enjoyed our downtown location. We take each TripAdvisor comment very seriously, so I am sorry to read about your negative experiences. I can assure you that we treat all guests with the same care and respect- whether they are traveling with or without a pet. Although we do not have a restaurant on site, we do have a breakfast room and also offer room service during morning hours. I’m sorry that you were not aware of this complimentary service. We appreciate your feedback and have spoken to the gentleman mentioned in your comment. We constantly strive to improve our guest experience and value your review.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

My wife and I hadn't been to Charleston in over 20 years, and were looking forward to a romantic getaway. We chose the 'Kings Courtyard Inn' in the historic part of town, and are very glad we did. My wife just loved the Suite that we had reserved. And the service was outstanding. There were two people (on staff) that made our stay that much more astonishing - James (night manager) and Takia (at breakfast). Thank you for helping to make our stay so enjoyable!

Room Tip: Our Suite was well worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you for choosing to spend such a special weekend at the Kings Courtyard Inn. I hope Charleston was just as wonderful as you remembered. I am glad that you both enjoyed your suite and am thrilled that James and Takia delivered excellent service. We have a wonderful team at the Kings Courtyard Inn. I hope you are able to visit us again, sooner rather than later. Thank you for the recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The Kings Courtyard is not the plushest, most luxuriant hotel in Charleston. It is very comfortable, well located, quiet, and charming. And it has staff who will go the extra mile to be helpful and make your stay more pleasant. It is the staff that really sets this hotel apart. My visit occurred during the week of Hurricane Sandy, and I needed all of the help I could muster to get my disrupted travel plans ironed out. The staff at Kings Courtyard was extraordinary in providing that assistance in a professional and immediate manner. That alone is worth a stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agleiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

I am sorry to hear that your travel plans were disrupted due to Hurricane Sandy but am so proud that our staff was helpful and accommodating in the midst of the storm. As owner, I too agree that our staff makes the inn stand out among the rest. I will be sure to share your testimonial with our team. I hope you arrived home safely and look forward to hosting future visits to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Appears worn out. To expensive for the quality. Breakfast was fair. Sherry in the evening was good. Staff fair service.

Appears worn out. To expensive for the quality. Breakfast was fair. Sherry in the evening was good. Staff fair service.

Appears worn out. To expensive for the quality. Breakfast was fair. Sherry in the evening was good. Staff fair service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scharmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Thank you for your feedback on the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am glad you enjoyed our Southern hospitality, staff and complimentary amenities. I am sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. We believe that our room rates are in line with our location and the quality of service our staff delivers. We appreciate your review.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
665 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
713 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
991 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Address: 198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £134 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing