We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kings Courtyard Inn
Ranked #35 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsgrove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location...”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We selected this Inn from a Travel Zoo deal for three nights. The entrance is barely marked and reception hidden through two rooms tucked out of the way and view. Parking was through a small unmarked alley, but was secure and close to the rear entrance, $12/day charged to the room allowed easy in /out use. The Inn is perfectly located for many of the attractions and restaurants in the Charleston area. The Inn has two open interior courtyards with many of the rooms overlooking these spaces. Very nice during the day but at night they are lighted to excess, enough that the room curtains can not block the light. Small bedroom with no door on sink portion of bath, positioned directly in front of entrance door. Cleaning and maintenance not sufficient for a quality Inn. Continental breakfast was offered (pastry and coffee) but we went out for a full breakfast.

Room Tip: There are better hotels within a block of the King's Courtyard, choose one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you took advantage of our Travelzoo offer and enjoyed Charleston from our central location. Unfortunately, we do not receive guest email addresses from Travelzoo. This means we are unable to send our pre-arrival letter detailing where to park, how to easily access our hotel lobby and other amenities offered. I appreciate your feedback as we always look for ways to improve our guest experience. I sincerely apologize that you were displeased with the state of your room. We just hired a new Executive Housekeeper to do an overhaul on our housekeeping procedures. We also have a major bath renovation and other renovation projects scheduled this winter. Revamping guest bathrooms is our top priority. We look forward to sharing these changes with our guests and hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    185
    43
    27
    9
See reviews for
99
295
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
194 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Learned about this on Travel Zoo and felt we received a good value. There was a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we checked in as we told them it was our anniversary. The room was clean and comfortable. But, the bed was so high I had to use a stool to get in. Also, a dust ruffle around the bottom of the mattress would have been nice instead of looking at a bare mattress. The light came in at night from the drape and we had to place the ironing board against the window to blot it out. The staff was very polite and helpful and the location was ideal. No regrets.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdmarSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel on dec. 4.2013. I was expecting a grand hotel but I got a old hotel in lots of for repairs. There is no front desk , as I was walking around looking to check in a employee was nice enough to show me where. Parking is awful especialy at night. no signs anywhere. Rooms were not clean, blinds haven't been dusted in months. Big crack in the lavatory needed replaced. No grab bar in showers. There was nothing to hang on to for balance. Suppose to be state law.
The next morning there where suppose to be a continental breakfast but guess what, couldn't find it. The lady at the desk says its in the room next to the front desk. That takes us to a very drab room but still no breakfast. Finally got a cup of coffee in the so called lobby. One cup then empty.
I got this package deal from Travel Zoo. want do that again!!!!!!!! needless to say I was dissatisfied with this place.. It was ok for a 79.00 room but a 250.00 plus. no way

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nutman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for reviewing your trip. I appreciate your feedback and am very sorry that you were displeased with your stay. Unfortunately, we do not receive guest email addresses from Travelzoo. This means we are unable to send our pre-arrival letter detailing where to park, how to easily access our hotel lobby and other amenities offered. I apologize that your room was not in top condition. We have just hired a new Executive Housekeeper to improve upon the areas you addressed. We follow all state and federal laws very closely and are not required by law to have a grab bar. We have a large bathroom renovation project and other major renovations scheduled for this winter and look forward to unveiling the changes. I wish you had asked the staff about breakfast, as our guests’ options are to have breakfast delivered to their room, or sit in the breakfast room or courtyard and be served by our waitstaff.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carcassonne, France
Level Contributor
179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Great location on Kings Street but the cleaning staff needs to be trained much better. There was visible mold in the toilet that brushing would have removed. Dirt under the bed had to have been there for quite some time because it was thick. The wallpaper on the wall above the sink was peeling. One good thing was the great heating/AC system that was switchable as needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarcassonneGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed our location and found our heat and air system to be effective for Charleston’s unpredictable fall weather. I appreciate your note about these housekeeping items. The issues you noted are not our standard. I sincerely apologize that your room was not in top condition. We just hired a new Executive Housekeeper who will focus on the issues you brought to our attention. The inn will undergo a large renovation this winter and a total renovation of our guest bathrooms is our first priority. We do hope that you will visit again to experience these changes firsthand.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at Kings Courtyard Inn 3 times before. The location is great. But the Inn appears to be neglected. In need of major renovation. Floors are wooden and in desperate need of mopping, not just dusting. Smells musty, which means not much cleaning materials used. Will not be staying there again with all the other options in Charleston

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mitty4920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am glad that our hotel has provided a comfortable home base for your visits to Charleston. As a repeat guest, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We sincerely apologize that housekeeping was not up to your standards nor the standards we set for ourselves. We just hired a new Executive Housekeeper who will focus on the issues you brought to our attention. We look forward to giving the inn an update with a large renovation project scheduled for January 2014. We appreciate your repeat business and do hope that you will stay with us again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

What a great place to stay! Location was perfect and I love the fact that the hotel resides in an old building. After a long day of walking all over the city it was perfect coming back to the complimentary wine and cheese before heading out to dinner. It was a great way to meet other people staying on the property as well as those who provided the great service! Would definitely stay there again, especially if I find another great discounted deal!

Room Tip: I believe that the interior rooms facing the courtyard would be quieter (no garbage trucks or genera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meeshwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
258 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

B&B's in "historic" areas have a typical format: ample antiques, beautiful architecture and a home cooked breakfast. Kings Courtyard was a little different than others in the same general location. This B&B is more hotel than homey, but what it lacked in Baroque music it gained in the size and quality of the guest room. The room was large and very quiet. No squeaky floors, strangely sweet odors or uncomfortable lack of heat. The ground floor room's windows were tightly shuttered for safety and privacy. Two chairs were provided and for the first time ever, two luggage stands. I noted a natural gas odor (or propane gas odor-if that has an odor) when I entered the hotel. The following day, when I went to the breakfast area, the smell of gas was so heavy I asked the server if I could move to the open air courtyard with my meal. There was also a bit of mustiness about the guest room, but it wasn't really disturbing. After all, the courtyard which is inside the hotel is actually a small square area open to the sky in the middle of a bank of rooms, so when it rains outside it is also raining inside. The breakfast feature was nothing to jump for joy about and the afternoon wine and cheese left a bit to be desired too. So, all in all Kings Courtyard had 1. a comfortable bed 2. A spacious room 3. An excellent location. It did not have a lot of beautiful antiques, a home cooked breakfast, or a great afternoon wine and cheese sampler. The negatives just mentioned made it all pretty average as a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCovertCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your thorough review. I am glad that you enjoyed our location, unique, historic property and comfortable, clean accommodations. Thank you for your feedback about our breakfast and wine and cheese reception. I am sorry that you were disappointed in these complimentary amenities. I am also sorry to read about the gas odor in the hotel. This was an issue with the city sewer system which has been corrected. I do hope that you will visit with us again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Elliott House Inn
#33 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Property: Kings Courtyard Inn
Address: 198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing