We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location to stay in Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kings Courtyard Inn
Ranked #32 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Excellent location, excellent service and very attractive decor. The breakfast and evening wine & cheese are a nice touch.
Parking was convenient after we figured out where it was.
The high bed was a little hard to get in and out, but now I can say I have slept in one.
The value from Travelzoo was a great deal. Parking was extra, but we didn't use the car and walked everywhere.
Try out The Swamp Fox inn for dinner.Very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed there last week. I thought that it was a very charming hotel with beautiful high ceilings. It reminded me of a place that I stayed at in Uruguay many years ago. It's conveniently located in the heart of Charleston. The woman that works the front desk is very nice. They have a free continental breakfast. On the first morning our waitress was not that nice. She acted as if she didn't want to be bothered. On the second morning the waitress was completely the opposite which kind of canceled out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We selected this Inn from a Travel Zoo deal for three nights. The entrance is barely marked and reception hidden through two rooms tucked out of the way and view. Parking was through a small unmarked alley, but was secure and close to the rear entrance, $12/day charged to the room allowed easy in /out use. The Inn is perfectly located for many of the attractions and restaurants in the Charleston area. The Inn has two open interior courtyards with many of the rooms overlooking these spaces. Very nice during the day but at night they are lighted to excess, enough that the room curtains can not block the light. Small bedroom with no door on sink portion of bath, positioned directly in front of entrance door. Cleaning and maintenance not sufficient for a quality Inn. Continental breakfast was offered (pastry and coffee) but we went out for a full breakfast.

Room Tip: There are better hotels within a block of the King's Courtyard, choose one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you took advantage of our Travelzoo offer and enjoyed Charleston from our central location. Unfortunately, we do not receive guest email addresses from Travelzoo. This means we are unable to send our pre-arrival letter detailing where to park, how to easily access our hotel lobby and other amenities offered. I appreciate your feedback as we always look for ways to improve our guest experience. I sincerely apologize that you were displeased with the state of your room. We just hired a new Executive Housekeeper to do an overhaul on our housekeeping procedures. We also have a major bath renovation and other renovation projects scheduled this winter. Revamping guest bathrooms is our top priority. We look forward to sharing these changes with our guests and hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Learned about this on Travel Zoo and felt we received a good value. There was a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we checked in as we told them it was our anniversary. The room was clean and comfortable. But, the bed was so high I had to use a stool to get in. Also, a dust ruffle around the bottom of the mattress would have been nice instead of looking at a bare mattress. The light came in at night from the drape and we had to place the ironing board against the window to blot it out. The staff was very polite and helpful and the location was ideal. No regrets.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdmarSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel on dec. 4.2013. I was expecting a grand hotel but I got a old hotel in lots of for repairs. There is no front desk , as I was walking around looking to check in a employee was nice enough to show me where. Parking is awful especialy at night. no signs anywhere. Rooms were not clean, blinds haven't been dusted in months. Big crack in the lavatory needed replaced. No grab bar in showers. There was nothing to hang on to for balance. Suppose to be state law.
The next morning there where suppose to be a continental breakfast but guess what, couldn't find it. The lady at the desk says its in the room next to the front desk. That takes us to a very drab room but still no breakfast. Finally got a cup of coffee in the so called lobby. One cup then empty.
I got this package deal from Travel Zoo. want do that again!!!!!!!! needless to say I was dissatisfied with this place.. It was ok for a 79.00 room but a 250.00 plus. no way

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nutman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for reviewing your trip. I appreciate your feedback and am very sorry that you were displeased with your stay. Unfortunately, we do not receive guest email addresses from Travelzoo. This means we are unable to send our pre-arrival letter detailing where to park, how to easily access our hotel lobby and other amenities offered. I apologize that your room was not in top condition. We have just hired a new Executive Housekeeper to improve upon the areas you addressed. We follow all state and federal laws very closely and are not required by law to have a grab bar. We have a large bathroom renovation project and other major renovations scheduled for this winter and look forward to unveiling the changes. I wish you had asked the staff about breakfast, as our guests’ options are to have breakfast delivered to their room, or sit in the breakfast room or courtyard and be served by our waitstaff.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Great location on Kings Street but the cleaning staff needs to be trained much better. There was visible mold in the toilet that brushing would have removed. Dirt under the bed had to have been there for quite some time because it was thick. The wallpaper on the wall above the sink was peeling. One good thing was the great heating/AC system that was switchable as needed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarcassonneGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed our location and found our heat and air system to be effective for Charleston’s unpredictable fall weather. I appreciate your note about these housekeeping items. The issues you noted are not our standard. I sincerely apologize that your room was not in top condition. We just hired a new Executive Housekeeper who will focus on the issues you brought to our attention. The inn will undergo a large renovation this winter and a total renovation of our guest bathrooms is our first priority. We do hope that you will visit again to experience these changes firsthand.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Have stayed at Kings Courtyard Inn 3 times before. The location is great. But the Inn appears to be neglected. In need of major renovation. Floors are wooden and in desperate need of mopping, not just dusting. Smells musty, which means not much cleaning materials used. Will not be staying there again with all the other options in Charleston

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mitty4920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your loyalty to the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am glad that our hotel has provided a comfortable home base for your visits to Charleston. As a repeat guest, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We sincerely apologize that housekeeping was not up to your standards nor the standards we set for ourselves. We just hired a new Executive Housekeeper who will focus on the issues you brought to our attention. We look forward to giving the inn an update with a large renovation project scheduled for January 2014. We appreciate your repeat business and do hope that you will stay with us again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
655 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
700 reviews
The Elliott House Inn
#26 of 61 in Charleston
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
973 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,833 reviews
Indigo Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Address: 198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £153 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing