We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pet friendly inn in a Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kings Courtyard Inn
Ranked #36 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very pet friendly inn in a Great location”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed In The carriage house where all four rooms are pet friendly. Love the idea of isolating dogs so as to be next to understanding guests. Room was fine with comfy beds. Staff was great. Location is perfect for shopping and dining. Best antiques store is right across the street and loved Dazzles jewelry which is almost next door. Walked to East Bay for dinner in less than 10 minutes. Parking is also very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vwaldrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    185
    43
    27
    9
See reviews for
99
295
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was my second visit to Charleston - last time I stayed close to the river on the east side and felt it was a little out of the way. This location is perfect and convenient to everything. The rooms are nice - not particularly large or fancy but clean and comfortable. The breakfast was fine. Parking is right behind the hotel in a public lot (there is an entrance to the hotel from the lot) and the staff was very friendly. If you are not looking for super fancy I would definitely recommend!!

Room Tip: Our room looked over King St so there was a little noise on Saturday night but i loved people watchi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

What a nice friendly place in a great location. Everything you need for a quiet stay in downtown. Close to everything. Rooms are nice and clean, not overly large but you shouldn't be sitting in your room in this town! They were finishing the remodeling while we were there but worked hard o make you ignore the little inconvenience. Good parking right behind the Inn. Nice breakfast and wine hour. Can't beat it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CobblerRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This historic Inn has a wonderful location in downtown Charleston. There is no need to have a car because you can walk to the museums, historic sites, restaurants and shops. We stayed there in late January 2014 when the temperatures were record low. There heating system worked really well and I never felt cold the way I did in some of the restaurants and museums. We had our dog with us so our room was one of the 4 rooms they have for dogs. A continental breakfast is included in the rate and was well received.

Room Tip: We had our yellow lab with us so we did not have the opportunity to have one of the 'historic ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for your review of the Kings Courtyard Inn. The location of our historic inn is a wonderful benefit that our guests truly enjoy. We are so happy that you enjoyed our pet-friendly accommodations. The uncharacteristically cold weather in Charleston this winter was tough for many, and we are happy that our inn provided adequate warmth. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

King's Courtyard Inn is located on King Street in Charleston, SC near the Old Slave Market, Meeting Street shopping, King Street shopping, and many restaurants on Queen Street. To get to prime restaurants like Cypress, Magnolias, Fig, Husk, etc, the walk is less than 10 minutes. Additionally, the College of Charleston (and a convenient CVS Pharmacy) is also less than a 10 minute walk from the Inn. Upon arriving late, the inn staff had all our paperwork and keys ready, which was much appreciated given the delayed flight. The rooms were classically Charleston (4-poster beds, original wooden floors, free-standing wooden wardrobe, etc) and decently sized for being in the heart of the city. This is no modern hotel for sure, so if you are looking for granite countertops, florescent lights, and modern decor, King's Courtyard Inn is probably not the perfect location. The bed, a queen size in our case, was comfortable. While the heating rattled a slight bit at first, the room was exceptionally quiet at night. I was concerned about the noise levels, given other reviews that noted the thin walls, but the neighbors must have been either quiet as well or the room unfilled, because I did not hear any noise outside the room, nor was I woken up at night by noises (that said, we were in an interior courtyard room). The bathrooms were decent (again, no granite countertops or modern set-ups) and relatively spacious, though the water pressure for the shower and sink were paltry. A small refrigerator beneath the sink allowed us to store left-overs from dinner as well. In the evening, we accidentally stumbled back to the Inn during the wine and cheese hour, which was quite a pleasant surprise. The Innkeeper served a few varietals of white and red wine, in addition to selected cheeses, crackers, and pickles in the main courtyard. We were able to grab a glass of wine and sit for a few minutes before heading off to dinner. In the mornings, breakfast was either delivered directly to our room or was held in the main courtyard. The selection was continental but satisfactory and extended up until 10:30 am. Parking for the Inn was $12 overnight and in a gated lot directly behind the hotel (remember to get a parking voucher from the front desk attendants). Overall, King's Courtyard Inn was a classic Charleston Inn with excellent staff and customer service. If you are looking for a top-notch, 5-Star hotel, this is probably not the perfect place, but if you are looking for a quaint, original Charleston Inn, King's Courtyard Inn is a wonderful choice in a superb location.

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard-facing room to have a quieter night's rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate all of your feedback and are thrilled that you enjoyed the unique charm of our historic inn. The complimentary wine and cheese hour is a great amenity. We love offering this service to guests and are happy that you were able to enjoy the reception on your way to dinner. We do hope you will visit the Kings Courtyard Inn again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed for two nights end of May. The hotel really sums up Charleston - a historic and beautiful place. It was very hot while we there and the courtyard was nice to cool down in the evening and enjoy the wine and cheese nights.

The rooms are very beautiful with massive beds which you need a step to help get into. The location is perfect and right in the town, everything in walking distance.

There is no parking so you need to pay for the car park just behind the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I loved this hotel. It had the charm and elegance of an old bed and breakfast combined with the comforts of a hotel. I could have lived in our room for ages. We got the deluxe king. The bed was so tall I had to climb steps to get on it. Loved the high ceilings and tasteful antiques. Great atmosphere.

This was our first trip to Charleston and we only had two days, but we managed to walk all around the city, do a ghost walk, see the old marketplace, stuff ourselves with a southern breakfast at the Hominy Grill, and have a fantastic late night fireside dinner at the Italian restaurant across the street, Il Cortile de Re. We had breakfast brought to our room, we met lovely people at the wine and cheese tasting, I played my ukulele and we sang songs. Big parking lot in the rear of the building. Very friendly staff. The prices are extremely reasonable coming from someone who lives in Los Angeles. I would definitely return. My husband says I have a gift for picking great hotels. :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Kings Courtyard Inn. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel’s many unique touches like antique décor and Charleston Rice Beds. We pride ourselves on offering guests a historic hotel experience with modern amenities. We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Elliott House Inn
#32 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Property: Kings Courtyard Inn
Address: 198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing