We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kings Courtyard Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Planters Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
John Rutledge House Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Indigo Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (631)
Filter reviews
631 results
Traveller rating
345
206
43
28
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
206
43
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking streetcontinental breakfastwine and cheesegreat locationfree sherryevening sherryfour poster bedconvenient parkinggas fireplacehistoric hoteltwo room suitewithin walking distanceother guestsyogurthistoric charlestonmodern amenitieshappy hour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 631 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is my third stay at the Kings Courtyard Inn - enjoyed it once again! Our room was huge with high ceilings and plenty of space - loved the idea of the gas fireplace, but definitely a bit warm on our stay to use it! Would love to come back in cooler weather to give it a try. We always enjoy the complimentary wine hour and breakfast. The location on King Street is just perfect and provides easy access to numerous shops, restaurants/bars, and attractions. My only small complaint for this stay was that the concierge checking in guests was assisting another guest on the phone while we stood in the lobby waiting for a good ten minutes without even acknowledging that we were there. I completely understand that you are helping someone else, but a simple, "I'll be with you in just a moment" goes a long way. Other than that, we will absolutely be staying here again and look forward to it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler129212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights here-it was comfortable & convenient for town.
The beds were sumptuous -there's a great en suite with a small efficient fridge under the sink.
Unfortunately no kettle which after 10 hours travelling I really needed & have suggested to the staff. If you like good sturdy English tea take tea bags & ask for hot water & milk!
Breakfast is continental only - if u want cooked its at a cafe along the street but you have to pay so its not really worth it - we enjoyed the granola,pastries,peeled hardboiled(only) egg, fruit, porridge etc then had coffee later in town.

Room Tip: Roadside was fine - all quiet around 11pm even for a light sleeper. We had 215 a huge 2 double bedded room with massive windows. There is a hidden door to the en suite - it's a sliding one which needs to be shut or the light floods thro the slatted blind & wakes you ! Ask if you can't find it !
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twinkle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Traveled - two couples to Charleston April 2014. Enjoyed the location and the amenities at Kings Courtyard. The staff was very helpful when we asked for opinions on places to visit. We enjoyed the wine and cheese in the evenings before dinner. Continental breakfast was also decent. Hot oatmeal and fruit was available. You could also get a hard boiled egg, helpful when you want to start the day with some protein. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with fireplace and canopy bed. We got it and our room was slightly larger than the couple we were traveling with. Too hot for fireplace, but added to the ambiance.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zandikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review of the Kings Courtyard Inn. I am glad that we were able to give you helpful recommendations to enhance your time in Charleston. We pride ourselves on offering guests a historic hotel experience with modern amenities. The complimentary wine and cheese hour is an amenity that we love offering to guests. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the reception on the way to dinner. We do hope you will visit the Kings Courtyard Inn again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The staff took such good care of us, we were upgraded to a suite at no extra charge.
The hotel is located close to all the main sites & is so quaint& has that great southern charm.
We loved the happy hour& tea in the afternoon, thanks again Kings Courtyard

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Empie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 nights after driving down from Toronto. The hotel staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. The hotel had an inner and outer courtyard and the fountains and gardens were lovely. Each night there is wine & cheese and nibblies and we met some nice people from other parts of the USA. The room was very well set up and was clean and updated. There is a mini fridge in the room as well, which is great. You had the choice of eating breakfast in the courtyard with the other guests, or they would deliver the breakfast. After being on the road, it was nice to be able to have a leisurely breakfast delivered. You can choose whatever you want from the card on the door, and they will deliver to your room at the time you specify. With a quick phone call in advance. How nice is that! The hotel is close to the nice restaurants, shopping, the market and the harbour. We had no problems with noise. The parking lot out back was great and easy to use. The price was very reasonable for what we got. We'd stay here for sure again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rpethes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Kings Courtyard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your recent stay. I am happy to read your remarks about your experience. I am glad that you enjoyed the charm and wonder of our city from the perspective of the Kings Courtyard Inn. Your kind words about the staff and amenities are greatly appreciated. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews