We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand southern comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Courtyard Inn
Ranked #35 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
South Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Grand southern comfort”
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Fabulous Inn with a feel of old world charm & comfort. Spacious rooms with comfortable bedding. The nightly wine & cheese hour is a nice touch!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitkatSouthJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    190
    45
    27
    9
See reviews for
102
301
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We were visiting Charleston for the 4th July weekend to watch the rugby international. The hotel is in a fantastic location in downtown Charleston. The staff are extreamly helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a building dating from the mid 19th century so you can't expect all mod cons but our bedroom was clean and comfortable. The complementry breakfast was good, sitting in the courtyard with the fountain next to you.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_Lingard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

Room not especially clean, or comfortable: (1) gob of gum stuck to floor going into the bathroom, (2) no easy chair in room--only two straightback chairs, (3) dinky little 21 in TV, which you can't see from the bed anyway--room laid out wrong, (5) curtains won't close all the way, (6) dime store oriental rug needs to be cleaned, or better, replaced, (7) no in-room coffee pot, (8) it took 20 minutes to get scrambled eggs in the restaurant and I was the only customer there--enough?

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDTRUITT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

If you are looking for an authenic place to stay in Charleston that also boasts one of the best locations ever, then the Kings Courtyard Inn is the place. My husband and I loved it! The staff was great, especially Brian, and the service was wonderful. I'd book this hotel again in a heartbeat. I will say this to travelers, if you are used to staying at cookie cutter hotels that are newly built or remodeled, then this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GertrudeRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We had a two room suite and totally loved it!!!!! Very clean, private, QUIET, and PERFECT location for staying in the historic district! Just park your car in their great parking lot and forget it as you can WALK everywhere!!! The staff at this hotel is incredible especially James and Elizabeth. You just can't beat this place-the price is so reasonable. I thought the small size of the televisions in our room would be a problem as my husband is a tv fanatic but he didn't even mind that. They just took out their hot-tub and make a little terrace which looks very nice. I would definitely book this hotel again! Can't say enough good about it!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkRunFly09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We wanted to stay in the historic district in Charleston. This is a charming inn with parking available right in the center. You can walk anywhere! They offer a complimentary breakfast as well as wine and cheese every day. Everyone was lovely to deal with - we would definitely return again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teach24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Island, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

I love staying in historic buildings. I find them much more interesting than new places. My husband and I stayed here for three days while getting acquanted with Charleston and celebrating a milestone anniversary.
This is a great little hotel for staying for a short trip. It's clean, has superb staff and help, and the beds are pretty comfy. It could use a bit of up dating, the wall mount hair dryers are no good if you have long thick hair like moi, as they take forever and a few days to dry your hair. The TVs are pretty tiny, and the beds could use some fitted sheets for the mattress instead of flat sheets.
But - for the price, great service and being in the great location, I can't complain too much!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel4meAugustaGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#18 of 62 in Charleston
633 reviews
The Elliott House Inn
#29 of 62 in Charleston
827 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 62 in Charleston
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 62 in Charleston
939 reviews
Indigo Inn
#19 of 62 in Charleston
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Property: Kings Courtyard Inn
Address: 198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing