We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kings Courtyard Inn
Ranked #35 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Rockwall, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We were looking for a good downtown location for a good price. The room was small, but ideal for spending time in the city. It had a period feel to it with the canopy bed. We lucked out and had a small balcony overlooking the hotel's courtyard, which was a treat in the evening. The free WiFi was faster here than most hotels I've stayed at, though logging in to the hotel network was kind of a pain.

It's so close to everything - very walkable - yet far enough away from the late-night action that it says quiet. Staff served a lovely afternoon reception with sherry, wine, cheese and crackers. Breakfast was nice too. It's offered complimentary in the room but we went down to the dining room. Service was a little slow, but only because it was one lady working the dining room all by herself.

We walked almost everywhere but had a rental car in case we wanted to get out of the city. The parking lot is right behind the hotel, and we never had trouble finding a spot. We will definitely stay here again the next time we're in Charleston.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newsymustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    185
    43
    27
    9
See reviews for
99
295
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I stayed here with my wife and two young children. Everything was perfect. Because of our young children we choose the parlor suite (azalea room) so when they went to sleep we could have our own space to hang out. The hotel offered in room breakfast which was great. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyctree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We have now stayed at the Kings Courtyard Inn (KCI) for a second time. Obviously, we liked our first stay and the second time around did not disappoint. The KCI is a 40 room historic inn right on King Street, the main shopping street with nice and some upscale stores. KCI is also just 1/2 block away from the slave market area with all of the local crafts and vendors. And, it is within waling distance of many great restaurants. So, location is excellent. The rooms are large and comfortable, though not modern. The inn is quiet at night, so no issues there. The afternoon wine & cheese offerings are plentiful and good (and complimentary). It makes for a good gathering place prior to going out to dinner. The complimentary continental breakfast was good (pastries, bagesl, cold cereal, fruit, yogurt) and you did not need to order the hot meal. But if you wanted it, the omelettes and french toast are wonderful. The staff is gracious and very helpful and accommodating. Check it out if you're going to Charleston!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyretireds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2010

I used to be a charter flight attendant, and I have never stayed at a place where I consistently received excellent customer service from all the staff I encountered. Loved my room, they put up with my 20 questions about the area and were very helpful and sincere in recommending different places to me. And patient. When I heard the same repetitive questions over and over asked to them, they answered as pleasantly as if they had never been asked that question before. Friendly. I just can't say enough about them!

Location was key as well ~ you are in the heart of King St. with all the lovely boutique shops. I actually got some great merchandise on sale at the Ralph Lauren store! And just a few blocks to the open air market. I am a walker, so I took my am walk down to the battery and had such a wonderful experience. Almost every person I ran into was friendly and had manners. Great city!

Look for Molly, Margaret, Berren and Jessica. They will take great care of you and show you the finest example in Southern Hospitality! Enjoy! ;)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We have stayed at the Kings Courtyard Inn every time we visit Charleston. Once you arrive you can park and walk everywhere. The hotel has great historic charm and the service is wonderful. Staff are always very helpful, knowledgeable and hospitable. We love that a continental breakfast is included. Highly recommend giving this one a try!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyndyandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Located in the heart of historic Charleston, this beautifully restored gem is the perfect home base to see the sites. It's a short stroll to shopping, dinning and the other attractions of the queen city of the south. In the morning a pot of hot coffee and the complimentary bfest of Danish, scones, fruit, yogurt or bagels and cream cheese can be enjoyed in one of the quaint courtyards or in the antique laden dinning room. For a modest charge a hot bfest is available. Complimentary dry and cream sherry is a nice touch for an early evening sip. The staff is knowledgeable and provided for our every need. Don't miss this true jewel...Jim

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhodesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We stay in hotels at least 30 nights a year all over the southeast and our recent stay at the Kings Courtyard in Charleston was excellent in every way. The location was perfect since you could walk out the front door and have some of the cities finest resturaunts and stores in walking distance. The room we stayed in was spacious and very comfortable and a free continental breakfast was a nice touch. This historic inn was the nicest I have stayed in and the staff was very friendly and professional..

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubba90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,703 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Elliott House Inn
#32 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Courtyard Inn

Property: Kings Courtyard Inn
Address: 198 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#33 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1853, Kings Courtyard Inn is one of downtown Charleston, South Carolina's most historic inns. Architect Francis D. Lee designed the three-story antebellum structure in the Greek revival style with unusual Egyptian detail. The building is one of King Street's largest and oldest structures, and has had many uses during its 150 year existence. The building has housed high quality shops, private residences and at one time, the upper floors served as hotel rooms for plantation owners, shipping interests and merchant guests. Kings Courtyard Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Inn maintains the residential atmosphere of lower King Street, and extreme care has been taken to ensure the necessary architectural and historic accuracy for which Charleston is famous. Each of the rooms has an individual distinction. All rooms feature oversized beds- some have canopied beds and fireplaces. Many rooms boast excellent views of the inn's interior courtyards. All hotel guests receive complimentary sherry on arrival and a morning newspaper delivered to the room. They also receive a continental breakfast served each morning in their room, the courtyards, or in the breakfast room. Kings Courtyard Inn is within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic homes, gardens, churches and only a block away from the City Market. Here, one may explore interesting shops or enjoy a delicious meal at one of the city's many delightful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Charleston
Courtyard Hotel Kings
Courtyard Charleston
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing