We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location - Good Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lodge Alley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lodge Alley Inn
Ranked #40 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
444 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Great Location - Good Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

In early January we stayed at the Lodge. The location can't be beat as you can walk to just about everything. The staff are helpful and courteous. Parking is non-existent. You drive up and they valet park your car for $14/day + tip. If you leave anything in your car you would want later...too bad. But, they are very prompt in getting your car when asked and are very nice.

The building is older and I like that. We had a room with two queens and a sofa bed. It was a long room with windows facing East Bay. The wooden floors are beautiful and squeak nicely, the little area for coffee was nice with a small refrigerator, the furniture is getting warn and not very comfortable and the lighting was really pitiful. Why do they put such low wattage bulbs in hotels? Another minus was the tiny flat screen mounted on the wall near the two beds. You had to sit on the beds to watch anything and it wasn't convenient at all. We had a gas fireplace which was appreciated this time of year.

The area outside - the courtyard - would be great in the warmer months and I would return to this property again, given the chance. Building old and furnishings too but there is enough here to make it all work out nicely, even if not perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bseashore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hello bseashore,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Lodge Alley Inn. We are delighted you enjoyed the location and accommodations. We appreciate your compliments regarding the staff as we aim to share happiness with all of our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    130
    47
    27
    25
See reviews for
91
185
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Snow Camp, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Honest review from BG owner, first time visit to Lodge Alley Inn, Charleston, SC.

Great location. Valet parking. Staff was very professional, friendly & helpful during our stay (December 21, 2013). Sofa & chair was worn & should be replaced but was ok to use for short time we were there. Older buildings, needs a few updates but still a good choice to stay at. Matress was missing from our sofa bed but was resolved immediately, just an oversite or communication problem between staff, I'm sure. Our 1 bdrm/1 bath rooms overlooked the courtyard, which was very nice area. Brick walls were lovely but do not offer much in the way of soundproofing. No problem for us because we were site seeing during most of our visit & was quiet at bedtime. Loved that we could walk to so many places to eat & shop. I would highly recommend this place but I think not for families with younger kids. We do plan to go back again.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom studio has plently of room for couples, avoid studio with loft if you don't like spira...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hello Sheila H,

As a Bluegreen owner, we greatly appreciate your taking the time to share your review. We are happy you enjoyed the location and that you found the staff professional, friendly, and helpful. We appreciate your high recommendation, along with the feedback you have provided. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Had a studio with a microwave and refrigerator, but was not needed due to all the great restaurants within walking distance.
Never needed the car once we were there.
Staff was helpful and friendly.
Coffee,tea, and cookies were available everyday.
The Lodge Alley Inn is not your typical timeshare resort but was top shelf and perfect for the area.
Will stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, try to get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whynotmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hello whynotmiami,

Thank you for staying at The Lodge Alley Inn and sharing your review. We are glad our location was a convenience and that our staff was friendly and helpful. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Very nice location and great staff. Bought a sampler to blue green earlier this year from a friend. I am not about that kind of vacation package garbage that they sell. In truth the resort was great. Our room was like an apartment with a living room and full kitchen with a great view of the street below. Charleston SC is one of my favorite places in all of the USA and the Lodge Alley Inn did it justice. The only downside was when I got up in the morning to get coffee and actually heard a group of cheesy sales staff complain about the low quality guests and their credit ratings. This went on loudly and with no regard for who might of overheard them. It was classless and vulgar and I felt as if I was staying at a used car lot. The Lodge alley Inn has potential but will not recommend until they clean up their act.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Tommy_T64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hello Tommy_T64,

We are happy you found The Lodge Alley Inn to be a great resort. However, we regret to learn about your concerns with Bluegreen Vacations. We strive to present our product in the most pleasant manner possible. We welcome you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to discuss further. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is my second time staying here and I think the location is perfect. It is a couple of blocks from the market and a block from the water. Great restaurants are all around and since Charleston is a walking city you are not far from anything.

If I were to return I would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are only double or king beds so if you need two beds it is a problem. The first time we staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hello bobbih,

Thank you for returning to Lodge Alley Inn and sharing your experience. We are delighted you found the resort to be in a perfect location. We hope to welcome you back for a third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
147 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

This is the 5th year in a row we have brought our turkey and come to the Lodge Alley Inn for most of Thanksgiving week. The place is old, but beautiful. It is perfectly located in historic downtown Charleston. The Charleston City Market is a block away and restaurants and shopping abound. You don't ever have to move your car.

Caution to those unfamiliar with this property. Many of the 1 bedrooms have the bedroom and bath up a narrow, winding staircase in a loft. If you are a Bluegreen owner, this property does not have the kitchen amenities that other Bluegreen resorts offer. It is better than it was 5 years ago, but there is still room for improvement. They can usually round up what you need. Just ask.

We will be back next year.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mapdsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hello mapdsp,

We are thrilled you spent Thanksgiving week with us for the fifth year at Lodge Alley Inn. Your feedback as a Bluegreen owner is appreciate as it will help guests and owners alike. We look forward to welcoming you and your turkey back in November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The best part of our trip is we could walk everywhere. That was great!

Upgrading of points. Julia Roberts was slick with her presentation but still pushy all the same. I can't stand this! When you say no, customers mean no. Then you are told you need to buy as this is the time and you need to get your priorities straight. Well, yes our priorities are straight. We have 3 kids who will be going to college and we intend to put that first! Almost ruined our day but we walked on and found Charleston to be very quaint and full of southern hospitality.

The unit itself was OK. There was a repair to the unit with some drywall spackling. You'd think they would finish sanding and painting over it rather than leave this big white mess on the wall before guests were to use the room? Very little utensils to use in the small area of the living room. We were in a 1 bedroom upstairs overlooking the courtyard.

I smelled gas from the fireplace. Called to have it serviced but nothing was really resolved. The guy asked if we wanted to have it shut off totally. I said yes, but I could still smell gas. I don't think the main was shut off as he said. I didn't mention it on our check out as I forgot but I should assume the repair guy would report this to his manager.

We were told by Julie they are redoing all the units. If so, they need to consider putting a small sink in the units by the micro/fridge area. It wouldn't take much and prevents having to haul your items to the bathroom to wash them. Since there is so few dishes you do have to wash a lot. I was afraid I'd break a glass!

The couch smelled musty. Not sure if this can be prevented in the south but figured it should be mentioned if they can improve on this. Different fabrics on the remodels to prevent mustiness?
I'd be excited to see things remodeled and come back to see those improvements. I'm unclear as to why there has not been renovations to the units as this is one of the original properties acquired by BG. To hear the Fountains is getting another makeover just ticked me off. It's a brand new property and it doesn't need dark cabinets because the white are out of date after less than 10 years! Lodge Alley has many things that are needing attention like painting and carpeting.
I wish BG would also stop saving the best rooms for models and let guests use them. We all know what a room looks like and we all know we will never stay in the fancy units they show us. Put those units to use!!

I didn't get a few answers from the front desk. They seemed not too interested on the few days we were there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank callmetravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluegreenCares, Manager at Lodge Alley Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hello callmetravelbug,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Lodge Alley Inn. Your opinion as a Bluegreen owner is important to us. We are happy you enjoyed the location. However, we regret to learn where your experience did not meet expectations. We welcome you to contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you would like to discuss further. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
The Elliott House Inn
#33 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#35 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Alley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Alley Inn

Property: Lodge Alley Inn
Address: 195 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2126
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge Alley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lodge Alley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Alley Hotel Charleston
Hotel Alley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing