We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class in the middle of Charleston”
Review of Lodge Alley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lodge Alley Inn
Ranked #38 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2010

This is a great place to stay with southern charm and character. The bed was a poster bed that you needed a step to get into. Smack in the center of Charleston you could walk anywhere you wanted. Close to the market and other shopping...

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank mitlee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2010

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Lodge Alley Inn (January 3 thru 6). First of all, I should say that my husband and I are Bluegreen owners and this was our first trip to the Lodge Alley Inn. Our reservations were made online. We reserved a one bedroom unit, but were not aware that this location has several different styles of one bedroom units. Our unit was the one bedroom with the loft. Much to my dismay, the unit's bedroom and ONLY bathroom were up a spiral staircase in the loft. During a tour of the property during our owner's update, we found out that not all the units are like this. So...if you want a unit where everything is on one level, I would advise calling Bluegreen to make your reservation so you will know ahead of time what kind of unit you will be staying in. Other than being disappointed with the type of unit we were staying in, I have absolutely no complaints! The location of this resort is unbeatable; it is in the heart of Charleston! We were only one block south of Market St and all the shops and restaurants. We drove our car only one time during our stay, and otherwise it was parked in the parking garage. (Parking Garage: $6/day for Bluegreen owners and $12/day for non-owners and the valets will fetch your car @ your request--just give them a call and in approximately 10 minutes, it will be waiting for you out front.) Dining in the area is incredible; the seafood was so fresh. Try Hyman's on Market St for seafood and Sticky Fingers on Market St for ribs; both are reasonably priced. Approximately 4 blocks from the Lodge Alley Inn, you will find a Harris Teeters grocery store which is very handy for any of your grocery needs. Try a Graveyard ghost tour with Bull Dog tours and also grab a carriage ride. The tours are very informative and give you lots of historical information. Both are approximately $20 per person.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angi1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

On our way to our daughters for Thanksgiving we decided to travel to Charlestown and Savannah. We decided to use our time share to stay at the Lodge Alley Inn. We were greeted warmly upon registration and were very pleased with the studio room. The staff attended to our every need with a pleasant attitude. Guest Services assisted us the sites we wanted to see during our short stay here.

The hotel is located in the middle of the historic district and within walking distance of most historical sites. We definitely will stay here when we return to Charlestown.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eureka24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

We recently stayed in Charleston at the Lodge Alley Inn. I am a Bluegreen owner but this was my first visit to this resort. All of the staff that we encountered were great, all very pleasant and accomodating. I hope to go back again soon. The weather was not the best this trip, but the suggestions for activities made by the staff were great. Breakfast at Joseph's is a wonderful idea. We had the Magnolia for lunch, another great choice. The rooms were what we expected, we would have loved being in a room with the exposed brick, but that wasn't available....but it was great. I would recommend to anyone...

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

My father in law who has been an owner for 11 years gave us a weekend for our 1st anniversary. We are local so knew the location, the near by amenities and were excited to stay downtown. But we did read reviews about being harassed with the sales pitch. But we had a fast and friendly check in but when we walked to the elevator we were stopped by the sales rep whose desk is just in front of the elevator and she tried to get us to come back and see her. We were not too happy to being stopped as we were on our way to our room so we just said we were local and didn't need the packet and that we were there for our anniversary. She was very friendly and just handed us our coupons and we were no bothered again.

Our room was beautifully furnished and decorated. The room was a studio that overlooked East Bay street so we did get the street noise but we are young so it did not bother us but if you want to go to bed early ask for a courtyard facing room. The only 2 thing I wish the room had was a small dining table and chairs. There was a small kitchette with a microwave, toaster, and frig but no table to eat at. The room was so big that is seemed scarcely furnished and the tvs are small. Also the blinds did not work well and did not balck out the room like most resorts or hotels so we were up with the sunrise.

But LAI has the charm and beauty of a true Southern Inn is the heart of the most beautiful city. I would recommend the hotel/resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

The rooms were very nice. The service was unparalleled-WOW! The location was convenient. Most of the things we wanted to do and see were downtown, which made it nice. My only "complaint" of sorts was that we were told we had a courtyard room. To me, this meant we were FACING the courtyard. Actually our room was facing the other side of the building, which was next to the street. We got to hear the buses go by, the garbage trucks, and the early morning street cleaning truck make their presence known, as they drove by. Our view was of the convenience store across the street.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank mite4him
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at Lodge Alley Inn. The first time was in April 2009 (for 1 night) before we left for a Cruise. That one night had us hooked! The location is PERFECT! We let Valet take our car and walked every where . We had a 1 bedroom Studio which was wonderful! Nicely decorated and peaceful. Of course there is never going to be a bed like at home, but was as comfortable as to be expected. Nice large bathroom with large jetted tub. Living room area was spacious with a gas burning fire place. The Studio only had a microwave, coffee pot and small refrigerator but was fine for our 3 night stay. If we stayed longer we would have needed a full kitchen (next time we will know). We are not Bluegreen Owners, but our Family is, so that is how we stayed here. We recommend this resort to anyone who would like a little larger room than a standard hotel room.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#32 of 61 in Charleston
600 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,077 reviews
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
973 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Alley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Alley Inn

Address: 195 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2126
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £171 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge Alley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lodge Alley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Alley Hotel Charleston
Hotel Alley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing