We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should Have Tried Better”
Review of Lodge Alley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodge Alley Inn
Ranked #40 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2006

We visited this spot as a result of the Sampler Program for their timeshare. You would have thought they would have tried to impress us so we would consider turning our sampler into a membership. When we were unloading, we were asked if we could walk. Fortunately, we can walk but that seemed strange. Our room was in the back of the building which required us to take an elevator, walk a long way, and remember a step. We had a one bedroom suite with a living room, dining room and kitchen. Again we had to walk. The bathroom was next to our bedroom which required you to go up a spiral staircase. Other could sleep downstairs but had to use the same bathroom. Needless to say we did not become members.

5  Thank fdpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2006

We are Bluegreen members and love the Lodge Alley Inn. Our suite was clean and extremely comfortable. It opened to a wonderful courtyard that has a fountain. Extremely relaxing and quiet first thing in the morning!! Great spot to just curl up with a book.
The Lodge Alley Inn has the best location in Charleston. We walked everywhere. Only used the car once during a 4 day stay.
All of the Bluegreen employees did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. Everyone was helpful and polite at all times.
WE find this to be the case at all Bluegreen properties. Everyone we have dealt with couldn't be nicer. Our room was serviced daily with fresh towels. Keep in mind that this is not a hotel, it is a timeshare property; therefore you may not get the level of housekeeping service to which you are accustomed. I am fine with this because I would rather not be bothered with alot of strangers coming in and out of my unit.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank JSPOOHVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Lodge Alley Inn for our one year anniversery. We had a great time. Forget what the bad reviews say about this hotle. Yes, it is a resort owned by a timeshare company. What people have to realize is that Bluegreen is not the only timeshare company there trying to sell you something, and that any resort you go to will most likely also try to sell you their product; THAT'S THERE JOB!!! If you just say you're not interested they will leave you alone. What you also have to realize about the Lodge, is that YOU'RE IN DOWNTOWN CHARLESTON. What else more do you want? Forget about the bad reviews.
This resort is awesome. You are within walking distance to all the shops/restaurants, a ten minute drive to Sullivan's Island/Isle of the Palms (where there is a beach), Patriots Point (where the aircraft carrier USS Yorktown is), and a five minute drive to the aquarium and Fort Sumter Tours. Right across the street there is a subway for the budget traveler, and next to the resort there is a five star restaurant called the High Cotton where you can expect to spend $100 or more on a meal for the luxourious traveler. At the local bars/restaurants, there are always drink specials, just ask what they are.
This resort only has valet parking available for $10 a day, but between that and meter parking, or finding your own parking, it is worth it, because you can get your car as often as you want for the $10 a day. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The staff was very nice and polite. All the rooms are very well furnished and roomy. There is also a concierge there who can make reservastions anywhere you want and tell you how to get around the city.
All in all, this was by far one of the best vacations I have ever taken. Charleston has so much to offer a traveler, and being at the Lodge Alley Inn was icing on the cake. You cannot beat the service, you cannot beat the location, and you certainly cannot beat the experience. I would definitly recommend this resort to anyone.

11  Thank dgrissmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2006

My husband and I are frequent visitors to Charleston. And we have stayed in numerous hotels from the cheapest (and most disgusting) to the more expensive and beautiful. We make it a point to always stay somewhere new so that we can see whats out there (it makes it part of the adventure!).

Only once have we decided to return to a particular hotel because we liked it so much...and that place was the Lodge Alley Inn. We stayed at the Lodge Alley Inn twice in the past 3 months and we absolutely loved it! Both times we stayed in a suite (the smallest unit offered) and was suprised by how large it was! The furnishings were beautiful and the bed comfortable!

The first visit our room overlooked the alley and you could hear music and laughter from the bar across the street, but it was not as loud as other reviewers have complained about! We never once had trouble sleeping. The second visit, we had a courtyard room with a small balcony looking over the fountain...wonderful!

I was surprised to read that the staff was rude. We found the staff to be more than courteous! They were friendly and helpful. And, when there was a mix up at checkout the second visit, they credited my parking fees just because it took a few minutes to clear up the error!

The location is perfect! You are close to everything! The only time we took our car was for a day trip to the beach!

The Bluegreen people are around, but never gave us any problems after asking us initially if we were interested in a tour. And they are very friendly...not pushy.

We loved it so much, that I have reservations again in two weeks to take my mom who has never been to Charleston. I can't wait to show her around!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lorbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2006

Stayed here Aug 11-13, We had never been to Charleston and booked through Priceline. I had read the reviews and was a little skeptical - so I went into knowing what to expect. The best thing about this hotel is the location. If you want to be right in the middle of the action in Charleston and never have to drive this is the place to go. The rooms were average - This is not your normal hotel with daily maid service. The beds needed new mattresses and we did get a room on the alley way so the noise from the bars down the street was noticable. This did not effect us to much - we were able to sleep - after the long days events in Charleston we were tired enough to sleep through anything. The blue green people did not bother us at the hotel after the initial invitation to get free tickets or dinner. If you want free things take them up on the invite. We did not. The blue green people are all over the area though - Outside of out hotel they were more noticable - they were polite and they did not really pressure anyone into the tours. For the money we paid for the room (priceline) to be downtown - I would stay here again. It was cheaper than all of the published rates. The location was awesome - We walked everywhere - never needed a car - even to Fort sumter tours it was a 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank malamutego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2006

Smelled mildew upon arriving. We were there for three nights but could only stay two due to the mildew odor. Found mold growing around the air vent in the laundry room which had no washer or dryer. Asked the staff twice to clean mildew around the vent and bring an air unit but was ignored. Location is great for touring the area. Do not check in if you have sensitivities to mold or bring your own air purifier.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank TravelgalSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2006

This place is where to stay when you're in Charleston! Here's a few tips though: First, don't pay full price for the rooms. I booked on priceline and paid $77 a night! Second, be prepared to pay $10 a day for parking. I was unaware that we had to pay for parking and the only parking they have available is VIP. Also, the $10 does not inculde the tips. Third, to avoid trying to be sold into a timeshare, just don't report to the "social hour" or recieve a "vacation package". We didn't and weren't bothered after that. The rooms are huge and we were not bothered by the music from the bar we read about in the reviews. We stayed in room 212 and loved it! The location is also great! The Noisey Oyster has $2.99 apps. and $.99 beers during happy hour 4-8pm. Enjoyed Drayton Hall and Fort Sumter. Have fun!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank lemmy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,159 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#19 of 62 in Charleston
1,690 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Alley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Alley Inn

Address: 195 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2126
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £121 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge Alley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lodge Alley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Alley Hotel Charleston
Hotel Alley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing